We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst weekend trip ever”
Review of Kashaga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haliburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kashaga Lodge
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Owner Ken invited us to ATV on the great Club trails, sold us weekend permits for cash that he pocketed because the ATV club had previously kicked him out. As soon as we had all purchased permits he informed us that all the trails in the area were closed for conservation. No light bulbs, no toilet paper, emergency stairs falling off building, a loose old dog entering the ground floor rooms urinating on the carpets. The owner in a permanent state of intoxication, entering our rooms at his will, swearing and asaulted one of our friends. TV's broken. Toilets not working, only some of the showers worked. Lots of excuses about how things were going to get done soon. STAY AWAY - RUN

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screwed_Over_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at the newly acquired "Special ATV Cottage" and had a blast!

My buddy Mike blogged about our stay here (with pictures/video): http://www.mikekirk.org/?p=676

And here are some highlight clips from my helmetcam/camera: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRSwOEtNecc

We can't wait to return to the area, what a blast!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xhumeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

TOTALLY not clean enuff for the general public. We nicknamed this the "BATES MOTEL"...ever seen the movie Psycho??....i'd rather book a room there and take my chances! NO hot water, no clean beds, no clean rooms, dog smell and hair everywhere, rusty bathrooms and generally just disgusting. Too bad because the property was nice and the location was good - just keep driving east a km, and stop at the Lakeview Motel - MUCH MUCH nicer!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graphics1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Where to begin. The rooms were dirty even full of dog hair, no hot water and one day when we were out the owner Ken took it upon himself to move all our stuff into another unit that was even filthier than the first. Apparently he had double booked. We didn't get all our stuff back either. We had to go on a treasure hunt to find the rest of it that other guests were already enjoying. Other guests there had mice run accross their face in the night and had racoons break into their cottage. Holes rotted in the walls and well I think you get the point, after a couple days of that we just ran away and found other accoms!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fisher123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is a classic example of a well put togther website with photos taken capturing only the right angles. The property was over grown, the cottage we had booked had a pile of garbage in the screened in porch! This was blamed on the cleaning lady who must have forgotten to take it out, and an animal got into it - we saw no signs of that. Just a pile of trash. We left this place as fast as we could and found other accomodations. We joked later that buying a tent or sleeping in our car would have been a more attractive option.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was the single worst experience in ice fishing I have ever had. One of the 3 toilets worked, of the huts we rented only 2 had heaters. Only one fish was caught between 11 people. I think the owner/operator Ken has no idea what the word "hospitality" actually means. No holes were drilled in the ice, his mild manners and uncalled for language were far less than appropiate. We watched him pump the septic into a creek, no joke!! Other cabins had barely any heat and no wood was available for the woodstove. I'm been left with an unwelcoming feeling of Kashaga Lodge and regret to say it will be my 1st and last visit. Haliburton is a big area and I feel there are far better places to stay and enjoy a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2sled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haliburton hotels
2.4 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Halimar Resort
Halimar Resort
#6 of 9 in Haliburton
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
GetAways at Haliburton Heights
2.6 mi away
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kashaga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kashaga Lodge

Address: Rr #2, Haliburton, Ontario KOM 1SO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Haliburton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kashaga Hotel Haliburton
Kashaga Lodge Haliburton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing