We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surprised”
Review of Silver Maple Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haliburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Maple Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very nice, clean comfortable was kept warm and toasty was very surprised actually considering it is beside a gas station and snowmobile time. Would recommend this motel to any one going to Haliburton who wants a clean comfortable, reasonable priced place to stay. There was a coffee maker with enough coffee to make one cup or two of coffee and a Fridge. Enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhllnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Working in the construction field we find ourselves many night in hotels throughout most of Ontario. This hotel was clean, friendly and well located for people on vacation. However since we were there for a week at a time we had to take too many things with us that many chain hotels supply. There was a coffee maker in the room, however coffee was only supplied once. There were no coffee cups, only a couple of small disposible cups. The bathroom had only two very small bars of soap, and no shampoo, and no hair dryer. There was no ice availabe either There is a restaurant on site and Diane's cooking great, but not open early enough for us to get to work. The owners are very friendly. so again I say, great place if you are out on a holiday and you pack everything anyway, but if you are there longterm for work, it was a bit inconvenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side as the restaurant, they are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowbaby369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

When visiting the lakes or cottage country in Ontario, Haliburton is a must-stay kind of town! It is a short distance to the Haliburton Forest Wolf Reserve which is incredible for Wolf-lovers to go and see. Very affordable there and also at the very nice Silver Maple Motel in Halburton itself. The units are plentiful, clean, quiet, well-serviced and the price is right! Probably the most affordable motel in all of Haliburton whcih can be pricey for accommodations otherwise. The folks who run the motel are very amenable. They also have 4 nice little cabins up the hill behind the motel, which are ideal for a fun, rustic stay for couples. Again, very afforable with some of them being newly renovated. The motel and cabins boast a gorgeous view of the lake and they even have their own little pier where you can sit and read a book or go swimming, launch a canoe etc. All in all, a fabulous town and the motel comes very highly recommended by me and my family.

Room Tip: No preference really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadiandriver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

At 93$ including tax this was a great find. Right opposite a lake and they even have chairs you can take down to a jetty to watch the most amazing sunset on the water (although of course this depends in the weather which was very kind to us). The room was basic but was clean and had all amenities, including a fridge. The 1st two weekends are the Haliburton Arts Festival which is an excellent opportunity to visit craftsmen in their own homes in beautiful settings.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our family from Scotland and England had occasion to be in Haliburton in August 2011. We booked 6 rooms and they were all good. The beds were comfy and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The whole family and friends, who had booked other romms could gather outside and have a chat and coffee etc. Special mention for the housestaff they are worth their weight in gold. The Lake Head Eatery adjacant to the motel was well worth the visit, good food cooked to order and the staff were all excellant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEMac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Ray is Charming and a great Host always a pleasure to be staying at the Silver Maple . Excellent Staff and great location easy access to all there is to be had in Haliburton Clean rooms and Excellent Value seya Soon . Sincerely The Bluepower Distributed Energy Cooperation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I LOVE THE MAPLE.....

Some of the reviews I have read about this quaint Motel are ridiculous. It's located beside a gas station...REALLY.... well right when's the last time a gas station blew up beside you?
How about the comment " MY HUSBAND COULDN'T WRAP THE TOWEL AROUND HIM" HEY PORKY LAY OFF THE DONUTS.

Here is the harsh reality of Ray and the SIlver Maple Motel, its old, its by the road, heaven forbid its next to the Shell, OH, AND THE TOWELS...WHATEVER.

This awesome little gem has everything you need. Incredible customer service (Kelly rocks), comfy beds, wicked view of Head Lake, its clean (That would be Colleen's doing), a firepit, a dock on the lake with a plane that you can rent and its quiet at night. Woops, I almost forgot about the best kept secret in the Haliburton Highlands, Head Lake Eatery.

No its not the Royal York, but its less than a hundred bucks. I have stayed in most of the other joints around and I prefer the Silver Maple Motel.

That's it, plan and simple.

You want to spend $200 plus dollars knock yourself out, the Pinestone is just down the road and more than happy to take it. If both places were the same price, I would still make my way to Ray's place.

This is my honest review of the Silver Maple Motel I have absolutely no affiliation with this motel, I just tell it like it is.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hurleyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haliburton hotels
3.1 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Halimar Resort
Halimar Resort
#6 of 9 in Haliburton
30 reviews
3.8 mi away
GetAways at Haliburton Heights
1 mi away
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Maple Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Maple Motel

Address: 48 Highland St, Hwy 121 | P.O. Box 848, Haliburton, Ontario K0M 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Haliburton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Haliburton
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Silver Maple Motel Haliburton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing