We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Caltiere

House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Front of house Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
House and Pool
Front of house
Side view
House to pool
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room ( extending table )
Side garden / boules pitch
Rear garden (part)
Night swimming
Bikes
Table tennis in barn
Bread / pizza oven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
john b
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great holiday ”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely two week holiday at la caltiere.
Firstly we arrived late at night but the directions to the farm were really good we found it easily.
On waking on the first morning we found everything to be exactly as we had hoped. The house was very clean & tidy with loads of open space outside & fully enclosed. The views from the house were beautiful.
The pool is also fully enclosed & cleaned regularly by Terry (many thanks)
This was perfect as we have three young children & felt happy to let them play safely !
Fresh towels & bedding were supplied for the second week by Maureen (many thanks) which was a really nice and unexpected addition.
There were also lots of personal touches to the farm house and it was clear that the owners consider guest comforts. The owners provided 2 outside tables in different locations within the garden , they correctly suggested that the tables provide the best views and shade from the sun at different times of day. We greatly appreciated this.
We have had a really lovely holiday and would highly recommend this house to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool.
Liked least: Dusty, dirty, and rubbish furniture
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thanks for your comments. As soon as you alerted us , a new cooker was installed unfortunately on the day that you left. Maureen and Terry work very hard to keep this old property clean and tidy and we will review the furniture which is " in keeping" with the house. The pool area will be revamped for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SSennitt
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful bolt-hole, off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just spent a week at this wonderful rural escape and it was exactly as described and just as the other (previous) reviewers have claimed. From the original inquiry through booking, being looked after during our stay and afterwards, the service was perfect and I felt immediately at ease. We booked late across two rental periods but communication with the owners was quick, easy and fuss free and particularly good value just off-peak. We even lost a watch which was found and returned to us in Belgium immediately – thank you Terry and Maureen!

This place has great heart and is very much a holiday home in the most positive sense – cosy on the wet days, cool on the hot ones (and we had both), a kitchen you can really cook in and lots of private outside space backing onto farmland and national park. We had great evenings BBQing with the teenagers and playing petanque without feeling we were disturbing anyone. The farm is old and authentic with steep stairs and querky corners but clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms good practical touches including very good wifi, fully fenced garden, bikes ready to go and a ground floor bedroom for those less inclined to appreciate the stairs. The area is so rural and peaceful that we frequently found ourselves only aware of bird song and the scent of flowers with barely a sign of ‘civilisation’. Great country for cycling, running and hiking with decent food stops in the local villages and a pool to flop into on return. You need a car for anything more than baguettes, but there are some good days out within a hour’s drive - Chenonceaux and Angles-sur-Anglins were our highlights. It was too short and really hard to leave especially as the sun was finally beginning to blaze.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tranquility”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from La Caltiere and would like to state that this was the perfect holiday for us.La Caltiere is situated in a peaceful rural location,you could count the numbers of cars passing in a day on one hand.It is conveniently situated close to some charming villages and we were even brave enough to venture as far as the city of Poitiers, which we found not only picturesque but historically interesting.
The cottage was very clean,there was more than enough plates,glasses,cutlery etc ( and the dish washer was very efficient ),the beds were comfortable,the T.V. large with "freeview" and the BBQ.was used every day..
La Caltiere gave us the peace and quiet we needed.It has a "big sky" and to be able to look out onto the countryside without being able to see one building was a lovely change.We were also lucky enough to have some clear night skies and were able to see the "milky way" plus shooting stars.
It was reassuring to have a local number to phone if we had any problems but this was not needed.
The farmhouse is full of charm, and it was interesting to see that the owners had taken notice of a previous reviewers comment and had bought new pots and pans !
There are a number of nice restaurants to choose from in the vicinity and we were very surprised to find a Michelin Star restaurant twenty minutes drive away
We will be returning .......with more friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and,if lucky,a wonderful night sky
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys J
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderfully quiet and peaceful location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want peace and quiet and a place to unwind this is perfect.The farmhouse is very well maintained and equipped with the bonus of a swimming pool,very welcome when it gets hot.You do of course need a car if you want to do a bit of sight seeing but it is well worth it,the local villages are a delight and the places to eat are many and varied

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So peaceful and relaxed
Liked least: nothing to moan about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful private location - very relaxing and plenty to keep our children busy.”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit to La Caltiere. We went for a week last summer and enjoyed it so much, found it really relaxing but a week did not feel like long enough so we returned for two weeks this summer. The booking process is very smooth with the owners and they are very helpful.
Once again this year we loved the location - a huge garden space not overlooked at all where we played rounders and football. The pool is great - our youngest learnt to swim there last year and this time he, with his brothers, spent plenty of time in it as we did too. Sitting by the pool is very relaxing and feels idyllic. The table tennis table is also a big hit with us and between that, the petanc court and playing pool there was plenty to keep us all busy. We also used the bikes and cycled each day to the village to buy bread and pain au chocolat which was good exercise and great to be cycling past sunflower fields on extremely quiet roads. The house is very comfortable and we happily cooked and ate all our meals there and found being in the house very relaxing. I have included my recommendation as being suitable for families with young children (ours are 8, 11 and 12) but very very young children would maybe find the staircase a bit tricky but ours this year and last have no problem with it. It really is a very easy house to stay in, with plenty of space.
Once again at the end of this stay we didn't want to come home.
Maureen and Terry who look after the property there are so helpful and friendly in a very unobtrusive way. All in all a fab holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden by such a pretty property, with only the sound of table tennis being played, splashing in the pool and the birds.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2015
Dear Fiona , Thank you very much for your review - pleased that you had such a great time. Maureen and Terry who look after the farm for us are delightful and do so much to keep the place looking tip-top. Kind Regards Fiona and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shove365
Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
“Beautifully setting, great house but needs updating”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were a family of 4 that stayed in the house for ten days. the house and location is great and quite central in The Loire Valley region.
The house itself is great. It sure is a renovated 17th. Farmstead so we knew what we had booked - being seasoned travellers and adventures. However, with the rate quoted and charged we were quite disappointed on how old the items were in the house. For instance the cooking pots and frying pans seemed as old as the house, we couldn't use them. The mattresses were of poor quality and the beds creaked with each movement.
We advised prior to departure on the items that needed attention like the bathrooms and showers.
Overall, would be go back. Yes - but we'd have to be guaranteed that the house received much needed care and attention.
the housekeepers themselves, Terry & Maureen (not the owners) were extremely helpful and thoughful. The house would be in dire straits without their care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and private pool facility.
Liked least: kitchen, beds and showers
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
Dear Siobhan , Thank you for your kind review. Indeed the managers of the property are one of the most important aspect of the farm as they are so devoted to ensuring that all guests have the best possible experience. We have replaced all the saucepans and frying pans at your suggestion. The beds were perhaps too soft for you but other guests have found them to be very comfortable. We are so pleased to have heard from our housekeepers that you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing