We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
80
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
80
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome extensive grounds loire valley well worth a visit last year short drive rural france bed and breakfast group of friends rooms are large steeped in history outdoor pool high standard extended family beautiful surroundings wonderful hosts perfect place to relax
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2019

My extended family and I stayed at Chateau Charly for two weeks in August 2019.
It was a delightful time.
The hosts are exceptional. We were treated to a warm welcome after arriving later than usual, after a long and tiring journey. All we needed for supper and the following day’s breakfast was provided free and with no fuss. That set the tone for the rest of the stay. The hosts couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful throughout our time there.
The Chateau easily absorbs a large number of people. High ceilings and wide hallways give a great sense of space.
The rooms are large and comfortable. The en suites are of a high standard and the grounds are magnificent.
We all had a magical time.
Our sincere thanks to Claire and Phil and Alex for all you did to make this post wedding get together a wonderful success.
The Murphy family.

Room tip: Rooms on the ground are a bit cooler but all the bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nealmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Chateau Charly is the perfect place to relax: large, beautifully furnished bedrooms, luxury bathrooms, extensive walled grounds, an orchard, seats tucked away under shady trees, well equipped large kitchen and a heated swimming pool with comfy beds & parasols. The house is far enough from the road to ensure that bird song is the loudest noise you will hear. We had a marvellous week with a large group of friends ( 15 for dinner one night ) and the chateau never felt crowded. The outdoor dining terrace was perfect of an evening and we sat late into the night laughing, drinking and playing giant jenga! This venue is perfect for a group of friends or family to spend quality time together in beautiful surroundings.
You do need a car to get out and about and Bourges is well worth a visit when you can tear yourself away from the pool !

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadoldtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We had a beautiful four poster suite with claw footed bath in this attractive country Chateau. We enjoyed a lazy week in glorious sunshine in August dipping in and out of the outdoor heated swimming pool. The chateau has extensive grounds in which to walk off dinner and is surrounded by peaceful countryside. Bourges was a great place to visit, both cathedral, palace and gardens were a must-see. We were with a large party of friends who took it in turns to cook and we ate outside on the terrace watching the sun go down.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WansteadWobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

Spent a fantastic week at Chateau Charly. Located in the tiny village of Charly the Chateau is just a short drive from lots of interesting locations in the Loire valley. The Chateau has everything you need for a relaxing week - beautiful bedrooms, lovely outdoor pool, barbeque and al fresco dining area and lovely dining room and lounge.

We chose to self-cater but there are options to hire in a chef to prepare meals for your group. There was also lots of information in the chateau guide about other tailored services that were available such as wine tours.

Claire and Phil made sure that everything was perfect for our stay and recommended places to visit.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Escape30217188959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

I have just returned from a fabulous reunion holiday of college friends, hosted at this beautiful Chateau Charly.
Situated in its own absolutely breathtaking grounds, of forest, fields and orchards, the land is vast enough for an early morning 5k circuit run, plus the wall to wall sunshine and a cooling swim in the beckoning outdoor pool of this gorgeous Chateau, is a definite must for everyone!
The inside of the Chateau is something to marvel, with every bedroom individually named and decorated to the highest quality. A wonderful self catering holiday for our party of 14, gave us chance to meet with the excellent hosts Philip and Claire.
Thank you both for making us all so welcome, we will certainly be returning in the not too distant future!

Louise Hough MBE

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews