We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
AllyBPetchabun
Petchabun
4040
ideal stop over
Reviewed Jan 17, 2013
We stayed 2 separate nights once in a delux category room and once in superior category room, room numbers 504 and 404 respectively. The only effective difference was that delux category had tea and coffee, a kettle and a hairdryer, otherwise both rooms were the same size and layout, bed, etc. The shower was idea for me as a disabled traveler unstable on my feet, because the shower floor was a rough textured "designer" stone which was also a perfect non-slip floor. The hotel has no bar or restaurant and the breakfast is supplied by a sister hotel on a neighbouring block (forgot the name). Limited breakfast choice (basically Thai breakfasts or "american style" ham and eggs). On both stays we all chose the Thai breakfast of rice & prawn soup which was excellent. The refigerators in the rooms are of a medium domestic size much, much bigger than the usual hotel mini fridges just big enough to hold the usual over-priced mini bar and nothing else. Hotel facilities are not much more than a place to stop over for the night but it is clean, has off road parking and is in the center of town. An exceptonally good stop-over in central, rural Thailand.
Date of stay: January 2013
Nearby Hotels
Room and facilities
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.5 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ban SP Resort
Booking.com
    1.5 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    1.8 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
    Lol.travel
      1.4 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Lol.travel
      7.3 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Sakthong Resort
      Priceline
      • Booking.com
      • Agoda.com
      6.5 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Agoda.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      0.1 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
      Lol.travel
        4.3 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
        Agoda.com
        No booking fees
          7.9 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
          Agoda.com
          No booking fees
            8.6 miles from Swankaburi Boutique Hotel
            View more hotels in Sawankhalok
            Reviews (23)
            Filter reviews
            23 results
            Traveler rating
            7
            12
            4
            0
            0
            Traveler type
            Time of year
            LanguageAll languages
            More languages
            Traveler rating
            7
            12
            4
            0
            0
            See what travelers are saying:
            Selected filters
            Filter
            Updating list...
            10 - 15 of 23 reviews
            Reviewed December 17, 2012

            Stayed here last month purely by chance and very glad I did!. Helpful friendly staff and a very good comfortable room for less than £20 including breakfast. The room pictures already available are good and I cannot better them. Breakfast is outside on a balcony at the back of the hotel and the service and food is very acceptable. I wish I could have stayed longer. I will be happy if I get the chance to go back sometime.

            Date of stay: November 2012
            • Trip type: Traveled solo
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            Thank Fluterphil
            This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
            Reviewed April 9, 2012

            This small hotel, situated right on the main street of Sawankalok, looks like any other rural Thai hotel, from the outside. However, when you step inside you can see it offers something more. You walk into the spacious & cool reception area, to be greeted by friendly staff. It is all newly decorated and this extends to the rooms and corridors, which have charming decorative accents of Sawankalok pottery and Northern Thai art thouches (many Thai hotels have nicely decorated reception areas and old rooms and corridors). We took a standard room which had a large and very comfortable bed with high quality bed linen, plenty of good towels, attractive furniture including a wardrobe, a big fridge, TV, A/c, tea&coffee making, hairdryer and a large bathroom (decorated with the lovely local pottery) and with a big shower with excellent water pressure & hot water! The room was not large but large enough for 2. The hotel also includes a good lift. Although the hotel is on the main street it is a very quiet town so we heard no noise and had a good night's sleep. Also at the back of the property is a beautiful garden, which is big enough for a stroll around. The room rate includes breakfast, but it is only a basic set American or Asian breakfast. They have a lovely spot for breakfast which overlooks the garden. The only negative comment is that the hotel doesn't serve any food and the eating options in town are rather limited.
            Tip: ask for a map from reception and it points out the few restaurants in town, and the night market. You will need this as none have english signs (but surprisingly they can produce engligh menus). I can recommend Sommas restaurant opposite Tesco Lotus for tasty fresh Thai food (and an extensive menu). I do not recommend Koheng Restaurant near the river, as they just had a few Chinese dishes on their english menu and the food was awful and overpriced.
            We stayed here as we wanted to go to Ban Hat Sieo for the Monks ordination on elephants festival, and then to Si Satchanlai historical park and these places were only 20kms or so away. The hotel staff helped us to get a driver to take us to these places, at a very reasonable price. We were able to get here easily by bus from Bangkok but flying back was a good option as it is a full day journey. The airport would only be around 12kms away.
            The hotel also has some bicycles available so we were able to explore the town. It is a very traditional Thai town with lots of lovely old wooden houses and little traffic. There is even a good museum over the river, with a nice collection of Sukothai/Sankalok pottery and some beautiful antique buddahs.
            So if you have already seen Sukothai and wish to explore Si Sathchanlai (well worth a visit) this is a good place to base yourself. A nicer hotel in a small town would be very hard to find!

            Date of stay: April 2012
            • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
              • Value
              • Location
              • Sleep Quality
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            1  Thank Globerwalker
            This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
            Reviewed February 12, 2012

            Nice place, it's an old building that has been gutted and refurbished into a good quality new hotel.  friendly, helpful, happy staff on the front desk.  Clean and well appointed room, soft bed with quality linen, free wifi, a/c, HOT water and a fridge.  The only downside is that there's no restaurant. 
            The hotel is in a real Thai town, it's not very tourist orientated. unless you want to buy some agricultural hardware that is?  But it has a night Market and friendly locals.
            Would I stay here again?  Absolutely!
            Would I pass sukhothai to get here? Sorry no.  But if your in town or even visiting  si satchanalai historical park and looking for a good hotel around the 800 bhatt mark, it's a very good bet 

            Date of stay: February 2012
              • Value
              • Location
              • Rooms
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            1  Thank Jonnykernow
            This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
            Reviewed December 29, 2023
            Google Translation

            Room tip: 上層階が望ましい。
            Date of stay: December 2023
            • Trip type: Traveled solo
              • Value
              • Location
              • Service
            This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
            Reviewed May 20, 2019
            Google Translation

            Date of stay: April 2019
            • Trip type: Traveled solo
              • Value
              • Cleanliness
              • Service
            This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
            View more reviews