We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hostel in a beautiful village, great base for a Triglav attempt”
Review of Rustic-House 13

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rustic-House 13
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is one of the cleanest and best hostels I've ever stayed in. It's a beautiful house in a very quiet, picturesque village which is about a 35 minute walk from Lake Bohinj. The dorm rooms are spacious, light and airy and the one we were in had a balcony with a fantastic view of the village and the mountains. The owner is super-friendly and informative about the local area and there's a really good, simple breakfast every morning of fresh bread, jam and cereals. We used the hostel for our first and last nights of a walk to the summit of Triglav and it's perfect for this as the routes into the mountains start from just down the road. The owner was very happy to look after some of our baggage while we were in the mountains, another bonus. In addition to the dorm rooms, the hostel has a private double room. The only way I think this place could be better is if they hired out bikes - the hostel is right on a cycle trail but it's too bad that you have to trek all the way to the lake to get your hands on a bike. Anyway, this is a real gem of a hostel in what I think is one of the most beautiful areas of Europe. And if you stay here on a summer Thursday the suckling pig at the Rupa restaurant (about a 20 minute walk away) is well worth making a reservation for!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank ScoundrelDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Rustic-House 13
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

Can't recommend this place enough. EXCELLENT value. Beautiful, clean, newly renovated rooms. A lovely self-service breakfast. Very friendly, kind and accommodating hosts. Although not located right by lake, the location is manageable. We had bikes and happily cycled to and from the lake each day (approx 10/15 mins). The village and surrounding countryside is beautiful too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_for_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights @ "Studor 13" and really liked that place. It's a new, handcrafted house with clean, bright rooms, balconies and really nice owners.

Bathroom, Kitchen and Common Room are shared, but they belong to the cleanest we've seen on our journeys. The owners (an slovenian-australian couple) live on the ground floor and they look after their hostel. They offer you a lot of hints, what to do in the surrounding area and prepare a simple, but good mountain breakfast with bread, butter, jam, cereals, milk.

One of the best thing is, that they try to save a calm travel atmosphere, so they won't let too many people sleep in the rooms-it's never crowded.

Try the handmade mint-sirup, really refreshing!

There is a horse-farm next to the hostel (icelandic horses), so you can even bring your own horses with you hire some for a ride. It's perfectly situated to go for some hiking and biking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IT4n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have been travelling to Slovenia for our very first (and definitely not the last) time. It's beautiful! And I'm not exagerating when saying that Studor 13 has been the best place we stayed at during our visit to that beautiful country. The best in all senses: Studor is an old and unique tiny little village in the area of picturesque and terrific Lake Bohinj. We had a car, so for us it was easy to get there. We were touched by the warm welcome when looking for accommodation on-the-spot. Tina and Andy, the owners, put a lot of love to detail into the house and made it a backpacker's dream of a home away from home. The house - amazing. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, cozy, and offer all you need for a rest after a day full of activities in the beautiful surroundings. Breakfast is included. The kitchen is very cute and cozy. We loved it, and hope to be back soon!

PD: Check out the hostel's web for more facts: http://www.studor13.si/hostel.php.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noparamosquietosBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreiwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Srednja vas v Bohinju
2.5 mi away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
300 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Stare
Hotel Stare
#4 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Ribno
Hotel Ribno
#1 of 1 in Ribno
230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
Hotel Gasperin Bohinj
#1 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic-House 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic-House 13

Address: Studor v Bohinju 13, Srednja vas v Bohinju 4267, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Srednja vas v Bohinju
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Srednja vas v Bohinju
Price Range: $72 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer boutique style accommodation for those looking for extra space and comfort in a quiet village inside the Triglav National Park. The original house is over 200 years-old but has been completely renovated first in 2008 and upgraded again in 2015. The place is less than 3km from busy Lake Bohinj and is a great place as a base to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rustic-House 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic-House 13 Slovenia/Srednja Vas v Bohinju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing