We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, and great value too”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Everything at The Old Rectory is done very well - decor, hospitality, bedding, bathroom, friendly hosts, and a breakfast of the highest quality cooked with great skill. Great attention to details - such as freshly-squeezed juice, high-quality condiments and preserves (even Marmite 'XO'!), and good coffee.
Lots of very welcome touches, such as mulled wine and mince pies in the living room, bottled water and sherry in the bedroom (plus tea/coffee of course).
You can't fail but be impressed and delighted.

Room Tip: Yellow room is very nice and lower priced as it is smaller - though the bed is soft which may not su...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinteastwood01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for lovely review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in December. It had to be mulled wine and mince pokes so near Christmas didn't it. Do came and see us at another time of year too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 310 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

On the basis of reviews on trip adviser I booked this place for our 30th wedding anniversary road trip in July 2013. We stayed 2 nights in the green room and were made most welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel only has a few rooms - 4 I think, could be wrong - but they are beautifully decorated in Georgian style and are well furnished. There is a welcome pack in the room, including some sherry, if I recall.
In the morning we had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the garden, accompanied by the owners' two dogs and several chickens which I loved. It was so relaxing we wanted to stay sitting there all day. The breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit aplenty, wide range of cereals, croissants etc. I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and my wife had haddock, both cooked superbly. I give this place 11 out of 10, fantastic, better than excellent!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your rather overwhelming and generous review. I'm always glad to receive feedback-good or bad as it helps us to make sure we're on the right track. We're very pleased you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations and please do come again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We wanted to visit Ludlow for the Christmas Medaeval Fayre so we stayed last week for three nights in the Yellow Room.Everything said previously in other reviews is absolutely correct.Couldn't fault Izzy's home from home in any way. The room was immaculate and innumerable extras were provided -dressing gowns,slippers,three types of bottled water,chocs,sherry,home-made cookies & tea,coffee etc. A fridge on the landing with a flask of fresh milk for each room.
Our stay was more like visiting relatives in their beautifully appointed Georgian home.We went out to eat each evening (try the Boyne Arms nearby- excellent food) and came back to a bed warmed with furry hot water bottles ! A lovely thoughtful touch.
Breakfasts were huge with so much choice (even home made apple juice ) and served in the dining room- outside on the terrace the hens & ducks wandered around while Izzy's two dogs peered round the dining room door at us (they know they're not allowed in there).
We would love to visit in the Summer to appreciate the gardens and surroundings and think we would treat ourselves to the huge Green room which looked amazing.
Thank you Izzy and Andy for everything.
Rhona and Bill

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the Green Room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cumbrian216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Ludlow. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave such a very kind review. We loved having you and please do come and see us again when the weather is a bit better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in The Yellow Room for just the one night. A gem is an understatement, quite probably the best B& B we have ever stayed in. Everything was so impressive from the arrival, hosting, facilities, accommodation until the super breakfast the following morning.

A must for a return in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dartilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review us and we do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for four nights in July,(the week we had the heatwave), I have only just registered for trip advisor or would have posted review at the time we stayed. What to say about this wonderful place to stay? it was magical, it was the best bed and breakfast or indeed hotel we have stayed in, the house was beautiful in a glorious location. Izzy, Andy and their team are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them, the breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choice, food cooked to perfection and everything presented as befitting a 5 star establishment, if it were possible we would give the Old Rectory 6 star gold, we felt so at home and whilst we had the smallest room (yellow) it was my favourite, the bathroom was fabulous too, overlooking the garden and very spacious, the whole experience was an absolute delight, we can't wait to come back again, thank you Izzy and Andy for an unforgettable few days in your gorgeous home, Michele and Graeme

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michele265719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Michelle and Graeme,

What a very generous review. Thank you for taking the time to send it. The heatwave last year seems a distant memory now after this terribly wet winter, but lets hope the weather picks up soon and guests can get out to enjoy the garden soon. I look forward to tea on the terrace once more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Gorgeous rooms in georgian house set in the beautiful Ludlow Hills in Shropshire, I stayed in Yellow Room overlooking the stable yard, comfy bed, feather pillows & duvet, scrummy breakfasts and lovely accommodating hosts - Izzie & Andy. I took my cocker spaniel and horse who also had a lovely time. Fantastic bridleways , Izzie came along too with Tarmac the labrador and Bertie her well behaved horse and showed us the routes around this lovely part of Shropshire. Stables first class with hay and bedding provided. Purpose built brick loose box for Roxy with a well fenced paddock to herself with quality grazing. We'll be back ! Good pub in nearby Ludlow " The Unicorn" highly recommended evening meals as 3 Horseshoes doesnt allow doggies - Their loss! we spent our money at the Unicorn.

Room Tip: Website shows photos of rooms (3 very distinctly different) i'd booked the smaller as travellin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristianne431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have wanted to write a proper review to describe this wonderful guest home.....and feel at a loss to describe a most perfect 2 nights...Izzy and Andy were such wonderful hosts, along with their charming son and 2 doggies....we felt that we were treated to a real "home" experience....dogs licking, horses rolling, food abundant and delicious, fabulous bed, tranquil views, and all the help we could possibly want for our trip planning. Izzy even spent time on the phone to help me locate an old friend. ....Most of all, these are genuine people who put their hearts into everything they do and we LOVED and APPRECIATED it.....for our first visit ever to England, I most certainly can't stop dreaming about this special B and B. Thank you so much....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
0.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 49 in Ludlow
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing