We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in every respect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed with our Australian friends for 1 night. It is about 15 mins from ludlow and quite difficult to find. It is a beautifully restored Georgian rectory and furnished with lovely antique furniture. The owners are charming and have thought of everything. Sherry in the rooms, hot water bottles in the bed and a perfect breakfast. Cannot be faulted and we did not want to leave

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thankyou for you lovely review. I do appreciate people taking the time and trouble to write nice things!
I'm sorry you had a little trouble finding us. We do stress that it's best to follow the directions on our website because if you rely on sat- nav you will end up at a caravan park about a mile away from us. Anyway you know the way now if you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just come home from a night at The Old Rectory and wish we hadn't! We were only stopping for a night but will be back for longer next time. Izzy is a fantastic host giving you everything you need whilst not invading your space. The house is beautiful, food is fantastic and the animals are very cute. We had our 12 year old daughter with us and asked if we could move there! A big thank you for a wonderful night!

Room Tip: The Green Room is decadent and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I'm only sorry your stay was so short - but I'm glad you had a good time. Please do come again and for longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight on 8th February as we were collecting a new horse the next morning from nearby. Izzy and Andy could not have been better hosts and their home is simply beautiful. We were treated to a superb dinner and Izzy didn't bat an eyelid when I asked if we could invite 3 more to join us for dinner just after booking the room. The Old Rectory is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The beds are ridiculously comfortable, the decor enviably stylish but homely and the owners truly warmly welcoming. Oh and Izzy, Stanley travelled brilliantly home! X

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for a great review and I'm so glad you traveled back safely with your new horse - exciting! It was very good to meet you and I'm glad the impromptu dinner party went so well. It is usually the case that people have a good time and enjoy meeting new folk. Do come and see us again if you are ever up buying horses again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is a truth universally acknowledged that this reviewer enjoys researching the perfect destination for a short break and then writing about it. This time I am, for the first time ever, lost for words. Everything is perfect. Read all the reviews for The Old Rectory, look at the scorings, and hope there is a free slot for your dates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you indeed for your lovely review - what more can I say, but that we are very much looking forward to another visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My parents booked all three rooms in this stunning Guest house to celebrate their 30th Wedding anniversary. It was my parents in the massive green room, my girlfriend and I in the blue room and my sister and her husband in the yellow room. All three rooms were well furnished and gave a real sense of luxury. The rooms had everything you could wish for including great homemade cookies. We had tea in the sitting room in front of a real log fire and enjoyed a delicious homemade apple cake. After some relaxation in the rooms we came down for dinner. First we had tasty appetisers and sparkling wine in the sitting room before moving through to the dining room for a fantastic three course home made dinner. After an incredibly restful nights sleep we enjoyed a cooked breakfast with an excellent degree of choice, all the food was really good quality.

It wasn't only the quality of the accommodation and food that made the weekend so memorable, the owners worked really hard to make us feel welcome and looked after. I would highly recommend the Old Rectory for family celebration or indeed any other occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We really love it when a group uses the Old Rectory for a celebration, family or friends get together or similar. The house really lends itself for exclusive use and I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at The Old Rectory. It was wonderful. The afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were delicious. The beds were so comfortable we wanted to take them home. A fantastic B&B, the attention to detail was second to none. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a sneaky peek at all 3 rooms, we would have been happy with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrowfordbullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Gosh - there's not much can say to such kind word except thank you very much and I only hope we can keep on making our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a couple of nights at the Old Rectory. I can only endorse everything previous reviewers have said. We had the large green room and our every need was catered for. The room was very large with a sofa and very comfortable bed. It was the little extras that made a difference such as discovering furry hot water bottles had been placed in the bed, slippers and bathrobes were provided and there were delicious teas waiting for us upon our return each day! It was a great base to explore the area which is beautiful and within easy driving distance of Ludlow and Ironbridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for such a generous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing