We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, stunning, stunning...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight on 8th February as we were collecting a new horse the next morning from nearby. Izzy and Andy could not have been better hosts and their home is simply beautiful. We were treated to a superb dinner and Izzy didn't bat an eyelid when I asked if we could invite 3 more to join us for dinner just after booking the room. The Old Rectory is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The beds are ridiculously comfortable, the decor enviably stylish but homely and the owners truly warmly welcoming. Oh and Izzy, Stanley travelled brilliantly home! X

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for a great review and I'm so glad you traveled back safely with your new horse - exciting! It was very good to meet you and I'm glad the impromptu dinner party went so well. It is usually the case that people have a good time and enjoy meeting new folk. Do come and see us again if you are ever up buying horses again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 321 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is a truth universally acknowledged that this reviewer enjoys researching the perfect destination for a short break and then writing about it. This time I am, for the first time ever, lost for words. Everything is perfect. Read all the reviews for The Old Rectory, look at the scorings, and hope there is a free slot for your dates.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arrosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you indeed for your lovely review - what more can I say, but that we are very much looking forward to another visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My parents booked all three rooms in this stunning Guest house to celebrate their 30th Wedding anniversary. It was my parents in the massive green room, my girlfriend and I in the blue room and my sister and her husband in the yellow room. All three rooms were well furnished and gave a real sense of luxury. The rooms had everything you could wish for including great homemade cookies. We had tea in the sitting room in front of a real log fire and enjoyed a delicious homemade apple cake. After some relaxation in the rooms we came down for dinner. First we had tasty appetisers and sparkling wine in the sitting room before moving through to the dining room for a fantastic three course home made dinner. After an incredibly restful nights sleep we enjoyed a cooked breakfast with an excellent degree of choice, all the food was really good quality.

It wasn't only the quality of the accommodation and food that made the weekend so memorable, the owners worked really hard to make us feel welcome and looked after. I would highly recommend the Old Rectory for family celebration or indeed any other occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We really love it when a group uses the Old Rectory for a celebration, family or friends get together or similar. The house really lends itself for exclusive use and I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at The Old Rectory. It was wonderful. The afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were delicious. The beds were so comfortable we wanted to take them home. A fantastic B&B, the attention to detail was second to none. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a sneaky peek at all 3 rooms, we would have been happy with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrowfordbullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Gosh - there's not much can say to such kind word except thank you very much and I only hope we can keep on making our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a couple of nights at the Old Rectory. I can only endorse everything previous reviewers have said. We had the large green room and our every need was catered for. The room was very large with a sofa and very comfortable bed. It was the little extras that made a difference such as discovering furry hot water bottles had been placed in the bed, slippers and bathrobes were provided and there were delicious teas waiting for us upon our return each day! It was a great base to explore the area which is beautiful and within easy driving distance of Ludlow and Ironbridge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for such a generous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the Old Rectory Wheathill last week as we were travelling through Shropshire and wanted to be based somewhere quiet and idyllic, but not too far from the main centres of attraction. Although the Old Rectory Wheathill is on an unmarked track off a B-road, the location iself is only a 15 minute drive to Ludlow and less than an hour to Shrewsbury. Other attractions in the area include Ironbridge Gorge, Church Stretton and Much Wenlock, all of which are easily reached by car. Just follow the instructions provided by Izzy and Andy on their website and you will not go wrong.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed with afternoon tea and cake by the fireplace (yes, an authentic, working fireplace) in the drawing room and were shown to our room. We had booked the Blue Room for the duration of our stay and were most plaased with our choice. The room was very well-appointed, and the bed was really comfortable and cosy, with fluffy pillows and a soft duvet to boot. The attached toilet and bath was also very clean and spacious.

The Old Rectory Wheathill is very well-stocked with good books, and I had a good time lazing around in front of the fireplace and in the room catching up on my reading when we weren't out and about town. Izzy was also very obliging and happy to help us out by booking us in for a dinner at la Becasse (a Michelin-starred restaurant in Ludlow) on one of the evenings.

Breakfasts at the Old Rectory Wheathill were also a treat, with us having the entire dining room to ourselves (with an open fire, again). We had asked for scrambled eggs with smoked haddock and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on one morning, and variations on the English breakfast for the second, and Izzy was most happy to meet our requests each time. The croissants served were fresly baked, and the apple juice and orange juice served each morning were also homemade and really tasty.

We also enjoyed getting to know Bella and Tomack (the terrier and the labrador respectively) during our stay at the Old Rectory Wheathill, and giving them belly rubs! Kitten (the cat) is rather aloof and did not bother with us for most of the time, unfortunately. On the whole, we had a great and relaxing time at the Old Rectory Wheathill and thoroughly recommend it to anyone travelling through Shropshire.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esquire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review and I'm so glad your enjoyed your stay. With the weather so bad many of our guests have taken the opportunity to snuggle down by the fire with a good book - nothing better! Do come back again if you're ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we were looking to buy a house and move to Ludlow as we've always loved the area. My daughter found this place on Trip Advisor and sent me the details. We really needed a good night's sleep and arrived early to be greeted by Issy with the most gorgeous carrot cake we'd ever tasted in our lives..my husband never eats cake, but had two massive slices as did I. Moving on to everything else, it was a dream come true, all that is written is true and to be honest there is only one place we have stayed in all our adult lives that is anything like this and that was in Cambodia and was exceptional too. Money does not buy this sort of comfort, the style, homeliness and care that comes as standard with these two lovely people and their most exceptional home. I had the greatest sleep in the very comfortable yellow room and even with the window open for air could not hear any noise at all. The breakfast Issie gave us was the best breakfast I have ever eaten, all home grown and she surprised us with home baked plums, which tasted supreme! This place is a knock out..we will be back at least once and our friends are all going to have to stay there..I would be amazed if our discerning friends would have anything but praise for this wonderful place. They do everyone proud. Thanks for an amazing night of rest and joy in your incredible home.

Room Tip: the yellow room is slightly cheaper because it does not have an ensuite but has it's own bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gullandemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your extremely comprehensive review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the snow. I'm glad you appreciated the hot water bottles - something of a necessity I feel in these chilly months. The dogs too enjoyed their walk with you. Spring is in the air at last - so we are looking forward to people being able to enjoy the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
937 reviews
0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
232 reviews
0 mi away
Angel House Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Whitfield House
Whitfield House
#5 of 48 in Ludlow
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Price Range: $159 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing