We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horse and Mountain Bike Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheathill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Wheathill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horse and Mountain Bike Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We finally managed to return with horse and bike for a well earned mid week break, both human and equine accommodation was first class, the riding out along local bridleways was superb and we managed to get three great loops in during our stay.

We opted to have dinner on each night of our stay and there is nothing not to like about this option, local produce beautifully prepared means there is no need to venture out, bring your own wine and its a win win in every way.

Excellent hospitality, very welcoming and nothing too much trouble, time to plan a return trip then!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandFran_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thanks for another great review. It was very good to see you back at The Old Rectory once again - this time with the horse! We're so glad you had a good time - the riding country roundabout is some of the beat there is and we try to make The Old Rectory as comfortable as possible after all your exertions during the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Old Rectory is a beautifully-appointed Georgian house set in attractive grounds with mature trees and orchards, complete with picture-book chickens and horses. The house is elegant and traditionally styled. Izzie clearly has an eye for decor. Reassuringly, the impression is that no corners have been cut - from the silver napkin-rings to the bathroom fittings. Breakfast showed a similar attention to detail with locally-sourced delicious produce (and home-grown eggs and tomatoes). The hosts are happy to chat and helpful but not intrusive. The Old Rectory matched my best 'B and B' experience in a French chateau Chambre d'Hote.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thankyou for your fantastic review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed staying in The Blue Room. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Old Rectory is a traditional house with a modern twist. The Green Room is very plush with a very comfortable large bed and the room itself is very spacious and is kept immaculately clean. The bathroom is very modern and clean with a large generous shower, with lots of lovely toiletries. We arrived to home made cake and tea in the cosy drawing room heated by a large open fire. Izzy and Andy are superb hosts, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Izzy cooked us a very enjoyable meal for our anniversary at a very reasoanble price. There was a large choice for breakfast, everything was fresh (some foods from the garden) and very tasty. The local pub, the Three Horse Shoes at the top of the lane is ideal for an alternative meal (try the homemade lamb and mint pie).

We really enjoyed our short break at The Old Rectory and thank Izzy and Andy for making our stay a pleasure. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone - it was more like home from home than a bed and breakfast. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, we were in the Green Room and the Blue Room is of equal standard so no choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at The Old Rectory. We do hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for two nights mid-August. We wished it could have been longer. Izzy and Andy are great hosts and the house and grounds are superb. The bed is comfy and the bathroom modern and bright.

Dinner in with the other guests on our first night turned out to be a really great evening. As we didn't know where we would be the second day we planned to dine out and finished up at the Three Horseshoes pub at the top of the lane from the Old Rectory where we had another excellent meal!

Breakfasts by Izzy were great (save some bacon rind for the dogs)!

There are several reviews suggesting you take the Green Room. We stayed in the Blue Room as green was already taken on our planned nights and it was excellent, so if Green is booked on your planned visit, don't be deterred. Take the Blue Room.

Thanks Izzy and Andy for a most enjoyable visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thankyou so much for a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay including dinner with the other guests. We often have quite a party going! Thanks also for giving The blue Room a mention - it is cheaper than The Green Room, but it's still large and bright. We do hope you'll come and see us again on your next visit to Shropshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We visited The Old Rectory for four nights with our horse and had a relaxing and very enjoyable holiday. Izzy and Andy were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The room was perfect, the bed huge, the bedding sumptious. We ate in twice with other guests and had wonderful, home cooked food with vegetables and fruit from the garden. Wheathill is quiet and relaxing. I rode out and saw barn owls (yes, in the middle of the day!) and saw a muntjac deer; I went up Brown Clee and had a fabulous ride with equally fabulous views. When I got lost ( which I did frequently) the locals invariably helped me. The horse was as well catered for as we were!
This is a really special bed and breakfast in a league of its own and I would recommend it to anyone. Izzy and Andy enjoy what they do and it shows!

Room Tip: We had the Green room and it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justoneluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thankyou for your fabulous review! It's a bit overwhelming when people are so complimentary, but we are glad that we are hitting the right buttons. We very much enjoyed meeting you and ofcourse Luke (your very handsome anglo arab horse). We very much hope that you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had a fantastic stay courtesy of Izzy and Andy and their menagerie (two very friendly dogs and an aloof cat). The rooms are a good size, well appointed and immaculately clean, without a sniff of B&B chintz. The beds were possibly the most comfortable we've ever slept in, and with only the owls breaking the complete silence of this wonderfully remote part of Shropshire we awoke very rested.

Breakfast is a mix of buffet style continental with cooked options and is prepared fresh, the salmon and scrambled egg are particularly good. Delicious and filling, we didn't need to eat until our evening meal at one of the restaurants in nearby Ludlow.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thankyou so much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, including dinner with the other guests. We often have quite a party going! Thanks also for giving the Blue Room a mention - it is cheaper, but it's still large and bright. We do hope that we see you again if you're ever over in Blighty again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed one night on 5.8.2011
One could not wish for more......
The warmest of welcomes with a delicious cream tea with home made scones and delicious home made blackcurrant jam enjoyed in the beautiful garden.
A beautiful light and spacious 'Green Room' with lovely touches - fresh roses, a little flask of chilled fresh milk on the tea tray , home made biscuits in the tea caddy, fresh plums in a little fruit bowl and a very comfortable bed with lovely cotton sheets.
A delicious breakfast with very free range eggs from the The Old Rectory
and very cheerful, helpful and courteous hosts.
Thanks to Izzy and Andy and everyone

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank weston12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jezzshropshire, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thankyou for your very kind review. we were delighted to meet you and only sorry that it was for only one night. We do hope to see you again if you can snatch another moment for yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheathill
0.0 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#2 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Old Rectory, Wheathill, Ludlow WV16 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Wheathill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wheathill
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Country House Bed and Breakfast. The Old Rectory is a classic Georgian residence nestling between the Clee Hills about 7 miles from Shropshire. Luxury bedrooms and bathrooms, delicious breakfasts,afternoon tea and candle lit dinners are on offer. We have 7 acres of gardens for you to enjoy with outstanding views in all directions. Well behaved dogs can stay and sleep in the boot room. Horses also welcome, but not compulsory. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing