We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite , quite wonderful”
Review of Larkbeare Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larkbeare Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Talaton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we stayed at Larkbeare Grange for one night with our 2 grown up children. It was a fantastic experience and one we would wish to recommend to others. Charlie and Julia were the perfect hosts, taking time to get to know us as a family ( our children start at Birmingham University this year!) but also share their lovely home.
Our rooms were luxurious to say the least and easiliy on a par with some of the luxury hotels we have stayed in .
The cream tea on our arrival was a perfect way to stop and enjoy the garden and breathtaling views. Julia kindly arranged a reservation for dinner at a local pub and ensured we had the right directions.
All in all a lovely stay which we would like to repeat

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 155 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Larkbeare Grange is a little corner of Heaven! All the tranquillity of a country farm house but the luxury of a five star hotel (Penhaligons toiletries, White Company towels ect). We stayed in the beautiful suite at the front of the house and as I sat at the desk over looking the fields I felt as if I were in a Jane Austen novel! Julia and Charlie were so warm and charming, they made our break very special (we are recently engaged and believe that not everybody's afternoon tea scones are heart shaped!!). I have no doubt we will be going back, I would recommend a stay here to anyone, particularly city dwellers! We feel fully revived and refreshed, I just wish we didn't have to leave! In short, a perfect place to lay your head for the night in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Larkbeare Grange for one night on the 'gourmet break'. This was given as a gift to my husband for his birthday and was simply perfect. We felt very welcome from the start. The cream tea on arrival was heavenly and our room was perfect. I wondered how we would manage breakfast after eating at The Jack in the Green the night before....but we did! I recommend the eggs Benedict. We would love to stay again. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinkyOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Larkbeare Grange is something very special.
A beautiful home in a fabulous location run by Charlie and Julia with a passion for detail.
Cream tea on arrival by the croquet lawn (don't know how to play - instructions are ready and waiting) with a choice of around ten different teas, a sumptuously decorated room with Egyptian cotton bed linen and a luxury bathroom with a generous size bath and plenty of hot water.

The bed was luxurious, though a little soft for our liking.

Charlie and Julia booked us into the Jack in the Green restaurant - do go there if you can.

A fantastic breakfast of local produce, home bread and jams though be careful with the menu and let them know if you are a veggie.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked Larkbeare Grange for the gourmet break but booked an extra night also. We were welcomed by Julia and after we had seen our room we sat down to a lovely cream tea. The meal at the "Jack in the Green" was excellent so much so that we decided to eat there the following night. Breakfast was beautiful with lots of homemade breads and jams and afterwards Julia helped us with maps etc of places to visit. The rooms at Larkbeare are spotlessly clean and have many little extra's that didn't go unnoticed. The peaceful surrounding gardens had so much wildlife to view including swallows and woodpeckers.
Thanks must go to Julia and Charlie for being wonderful hosts who could not do enough to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We returned to Larkbeare Grange stopping en route to holiday in Penzance. We were warmly welcomed back by Julia and Charlie with a homemade Devon tea followed by supper at the "Jack in the Green" and the next morning we had a delicious cooked breakfast.
We were taking advantage of their Gourmet Break in East Devon summer promotion, which is stunning value for money. We were delighted to find that this wonderful B&B had not changed at all with the same high standards and attention to detail as we found on our last visit.
It is hardly surprising that they have won numerous awards since our last visit and we are sure there are more to come!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millie_mollieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed here three times now on business and as a couple. Words cannot really express enough about the attention from Charlie and Julia. from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very special and then comes the tea and homemade scones , homemade jam and.......no not home made, but lovely devon clotted cream. At this point you know your stay is going to one to remember. All rooms are excellent. with beautifully comfortable beds and crisp white top quality Egyptian cotton linen. Then comes breakfast, local produce, organic where possible served with homemade marmalade or jams.
Charlie and Julia set out to make Larkbeare the best and they have achieved just that.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but one the front rooms can give you a dressing room as well. sheer delight!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talaton
4.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
3.0 mi away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
141 reviews
4.2 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodhayes Country House
2.7 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
205 reviews
8.2 mi away
Monkton Court Hotel
Monkton Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monkton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkbeare Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkbeare Grange

Address: Larkbeare Grange Larkbeare GRANGE, Talaton EX5 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Talaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Talaton
Price Range: $156 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Larkbeare Grange 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn into the tree lined driveway and the experience begins. With a lifetime's worth of hospitality experience between us, our vision was always to establish a retreat of our own that we could share with others and provide first class service at a fair price. Our ethos is simple - to do the simple things well and always to exceed expectations. Our beautiful Georgian fronted house, surrounded by rolling countryside, makes for the perfect backdrop - a place for all seasons where personal touches abound and nature is never far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Larkbeare Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing