We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind the doors!”
Review of Le Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bellevue
Ranked #1 of 1 La Bouille B&B and Inns
Castex, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mind the doors!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Due to delays at the Tunnel we were late getting to the hotel. Having telephoned to warn them of our delay there was no problem apart from the restaurant ending service at 2100hrs. We didn't arrive until around 2130 and checked in. Our room was on the second floor away from the lift and to access our 'section' of the hotel we had to pass through a VERY heavy fire door to a small landing which meant dropping down a step on the stairs, letting the door close so we could then access our room. Overlooking the Seine with a view up stream of Rouen the room was comfortable, clean and well equipped. However, between the entrance door of the room and the bedroom itself was another self closing door and a step and the bathroom was off the small entrance hall. A somewhat strange layout but it worked. The shower was not the largest we have encountered on our travels but was adequate. Breakfast was very good, one of the best we've had in a French hotel and the staff were polite and efficient. We will return.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room, although there may be some traffic noise the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
42
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hungerford
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thanks to those of you who had rated this hotel. We went a few weeks ago on the way back from the Dordogne for an overnight. The village is a pretty delight overlooking the Seine and Id booked a room with a view.
Many French hotels can have dated furniture but La Bellevue has lovely rooms that are still very French but nicely modern.
The food for dinner was excellent and so was breakfast. Free wifi and delightful hosts make this the place to go if you're in the area

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatwhitewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

we were here 2 years before. and the thing we loved a lot of was the light and the colours reflected on the Seine's water. it looked like impressionism paintings!! the hotel is really nice in front of the river. super croissant at breakfast. and the village is very very nice.a good place to stay near Rouen if you want to stay far from cities and full immersed in nature.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited the Hotel for one night on route to Nantes. The room was what we needed ,a good bed,large enough bathroom and great views.
Meal was excellent,the duck and the fish were better than we were expecting. Service was OK, My poor freanch did not help.
Good breakfast with choice of meats,cheese and normal french bread etc.

Will go to this Hotel again,and the food you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a view of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnR42408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed one night at the Bellevue en route to the South of France. Our room, on the fourth floor, had a wonderful view over the river to Sahurs on the far bank. The room was comfortable, clean, with a good firm double bed and modern decor. The bathroom was clean and modern, with a good over bath shower, but no window. Both rooms were on the small side but very adequate for our needs. The whole room sloped away from the window - this is a very old building! Despite being on what passes as the Main Street of La Bouille the room was quiet. There is next to no traffic at night. Staff were very friendly, and welcomed our little dog. There is no parking at the hotel and when we arrived in the evening all the spaces outside on the street were full, so we had to park in the nearby square,which was fine. I have reviewed dinner in the restaurant separately. We did not take breakfast. We paid €80 for the room which was good value, and booked through the Logis de France site which was very easy.

Anyone coming to this hotel should try to arrive via the little car ferry (bac) that links the village to Sahurs on the far bank or take a trip across and back on it in the car or on foot (its free!). The view across the river to La Bouille and the hotel is beautiful and the countryside behind Sahurs is also most lovely.

Room Tip: A higher room will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleiomedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here one night on return from South of France. La Bouille is a lovely place and the hotel is well situated. Room was compact but with a very comfortable bed and the view looking over the Seine is delightful. Ate in the restaurant which was fairly quiet as it was Sunday evening but food was good and service too.

We had a slight issue with the water temperature in the shower in the morning, but after having mentioned this, we were compensated with a coplimentary breakfast and we were impressed by this.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for Seine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primrosejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in room 21 facing the river. Two floors up. Our room was small but intriguing. It seems that the floor was not level. The windows open all the way no stopping them. The paneling has an extra piece in the high corner. The desk and bed do not look level. A bottle of makeup and a can of hairspray both roll down when placed on the floor. We ate in the restaurant for dinner.We drank only pellegreno so we were not tipsy. The food was excellent and the service great. Very busy!
Has been open for about a year. Menu great restaurant full on Tuesday in September. Very helpful with menu ion English

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtime I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bouille
5.1 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
89 reviews
9.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
9.4 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rouen Sud
Novotel Rouen Sud
#1 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
600 reviews
6.3 mi away
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - Parc Expo
Campanile Rouen Sud - Zenith - P...
#2 of 10 in Saint-Etienne-du-Rouvray
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bellevue

Property: Le Bellevue
Address: 13 quai Hector Malot, 76530 La Bouille, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > La Bouille
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in La Bouille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing