We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous House”
other travelers have booked this property
View from this luxury large property in an area of outstanding beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from this luxury large property in an area of outstanding beauty
Lounge / diner having river views Lounge area with wood burner for additional heating if required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
View from this luxury large property in an area of outstanding beauty
Lounge / diner having river views
Lounge area with wood burner for additional heating if required.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Polruan, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous House”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a fabulous house and amazing views across the river to Fowey. Lovely, comfortable bedrooms and everything thoughtfully provided. It was so lovely to sit on the front terrace in the evenings with a glass of wine and watch the boats on the river. It is a perfect place from which to explore the locations associated with Daphne du Maurier - you can even see 'Ferryside' from the front terrace. We loved the little passenger ferry over to Fowey, and the car ferry to Bodinnick, and the many walks in the area.
There are two good pubs in Polruan - the Russell Inn serves good basic pub food, and the Lugger Inn is a bit posher - both with vegetarian options. It is a steep climb up to the house from the quay, but worth it for the views from the house.
We even hired a motor boat from the quay in Fowey - £25 for half an hour - to go up and down the river. This is the best way to see 'Ferryside' and the replica of the Jane Slade figurehead (the real one is inside), and also the Rashleigh Mansion on the cliffs, now the home of Dawn French.
Parking was easy - the St Saviour's Hill car park was £25 for the week, and the house is just a short walk down some steps from the car park.
Great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you may come to visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely warm comfortable family home with amazing views”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent a great week staying at Providence House. The house itself is perfect, everything has been thought about from the generous living area with huge comfy sofa and window seat with sea views and a very well equipped kitchen. As it was winter not relevant to us but there are good garden and terrace spaces for the summer months. The area is truly stunning, the little boat across to Fowey a delight, great walks including the coast path and Hall walk. Magical.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Providence House, we hope to welcome you again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessian10...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday!”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We very much enjoyed our stay in this luxurious house which was well equipped and very comfortable throughout. The views were stunning from the front patio. The village is very friendly and we loved the ferry trip to fowey.

We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggie517
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved the house and garden. Amazing views over the water”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was well-equipped and stylishly decorated. Lots of space for a group. We enjoyed the views from the front patio and the back garden. There was plenty of space for dining outside and for a barbeque too!
And it only took a few minutes to walk to the pub/restaurant when we fancied going out to eat.
We found some really nice walks And enjoyed exploring the area. The local shop had everything we needed. We also took the foot ferry across to Fowey to explore the town and sample Cornish teas and shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the stylish and spacious accommodation
Liked least: We only had time to spend a week there!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing