We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B and B”
Review of Hormond House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polruan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hormond House
Ranked #1 of 2 Polruan B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very stylish, warm and welcoming. Have been back many times as we are having a house renovated nearby, and each time Is as good as the last!
Comfortable beds, clean and modern bathrooms, an excellent breakfast and above all friendly people. Polruan itself is a very special place with beautiful scenery and tranquil surroundings. Many thanks to Bella and the team!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barkingside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived in Polruan by ferry from Fowey. Hormond House although not very well signposted was easy to find, it's on the left about half way up the steep main road which leads from the ferry drop off point, there is a slate B&B plaque on the high white wall.

We stayed as a one night stop over with friends whilst walking the South West Coast Path.. Our double room was mostly taken up with the sumptuous 6' bed. It was a very comfortable room, well maintained with a good selection of tea and coffee, fresh milk in the little fridge in the room. We had an ensuite shower room which was a good size with a plentiful supply of hot water and toiletries.

We paid £75 per night but our friends had the double room at the front of the house and for an extra £5 p/night I would recommend this room, as well as the 6' bed it also had a spacious sitting area with easy chairs and a bath which, for us as walkers is a huge plus.


Bella served a wonderful breakfast in her cosy kitchen, she was happy to serve any variety of the full English which was cooked to perfection. We were made to feel very welcome and would love to visit again but for longer next time.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bit of extra space and a bath then go for the front double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Hormond House. We had the large room at the front of the house and it is so comfortable and relaxing. You can come and go as you like through guests own entrance. Bella is so laid back and makes you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for her. Breakfast is in the family kitchen with lots of choice. We will definately be back. We were also able to take our dog which is a must for us. The only drawback are Polruan's hills!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked 3 nights for the start of my honeymoon. The room was just beautiful and the bed so comfortable I could have slept for days. Thank you Bella for making us part of the family for 3 days, Rob and I will most certainly be back. What a fabulous place and wonderful service. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed for two nights in the single room, which was very well furnished and comfortable, and with a good sized and efficient shower. Bella and her children were very welcoming. Breakfast was really good, with plenty of choice, (and the added bonus of marmite!) and taken in the large family kitchen. The house itself had lots of interesting pieces of furniture, and had a lovely relaxed feel about it. The guest accommodation is accessed separately, meaning you can come and go as you please. Polruan is thankfully traffic free, and I had no trouble parking the car in the public car park which was a few minutes up the hill. The two harbour side pubs a few minutes walk down the hill do a good range of pub meals. Would highly recommend Hormond House

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinervaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I cannot rate this beautiful vintage-feel house, and the lovely Bella highly enough. Single bedroom was spacious, well-equipped, with a lovely garden view. Breakfast was wonderful too, and Bella, dog and children are all delightful. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I cannot recommend this "boutique" B n B enough. Even before arriving Bella was helpful and friendly. As the larger room was taken, she suggested we take the double room together with single (with the interior door closed to rest of house) so that myself and my partner could open our bedroom doors to our 6 year old daughter's for complete privacy and safety, and all at a very reasonable rate. This arrangement was absolutely perfect and we even had our own independent exit to the back garden (complete with super spaniel to play with) and cobble-stoned underground tunnel to the front of house and main road. You say main road, read sleepy village hill to totally unspoilt quayside, with access by foot ferry to busier Fowey. I have stayed in Fowey before and fell in love with the place, however Polruan is even more special, I didn't realise ancient fishing villages like this still existed: consisting of only 2 small shops and 2 real local ales houses and tiny beach. Back to Hormond House, you will find 3 fabulous children who welcomed Sophie like one of their best friends (badminton in garden, playing with pet rabbit Toffee as soon as we arrived). Decor is French shabby chic meets Cath Kidston with a twist of Bella's unique decorating skills, if it's still - she paints it! Kooky kitch dining area where fresh fruit salad awaits you for breakfast, as well as hot coffee to go with every choice of Dorset cereal followed by cooked breakfast, including vege sausage. Bella's chunky buttered mushrooms and light scrambled egg was divine. Large beds comfortable and nothing is too much to ask for at this very family oriented house. Bags of character both furniture and people wise! We will most definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hormond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hormond House

Address: 55 Fore Street | Polruan-by-Fowey, Polruan PL23 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Polruan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Polruan
Hotel Class:4 star — Hormond House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hormond House Cornwall/Polruan, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing