We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stationmaster's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stationmaster's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Stromeferry B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are just back from a 4 day trip up North staying at The Stationmasters Hostel.
Our lack of a car meant we were looking for a place to stay near transport links...and this couldn't be nearer with Stromeferry station right on the doorstep.
Excellent location for exploring the local forests, and visiting Plockton and Achmore, the nearest villages.
The hostel itself is right on Loch Carron with beautiful vistas over the loch and hills beyond.
We had a double room which was simply but nicely furnished. The bathroom facilities were shared but very clean and modern - the shower was great!
The hostel provides breakfast: toast, cereal, porridge and tea and coffee.
The shared kitchen facilities have everything you could need to prepare your packed lunches or evening meals.
The shared lounge is very cosy with a wood burner-heater, sofas, games and even a CD collection and hifi!
The hosts, Kath and Ewan, were welcoming, laidback and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Their attitude and enthusiasm for the area really add to the experience of a stay here.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Well it might not be on everybody's highland itinerary, but this hostel is well worth a detour! Strome Ferry (No Ferry!) is a forgotten backwater on the southern shore of Loch Carron - surely one of the most stunning of the Western seaboard's many sea-lochs. Within easy reach of Kyle and the Skye Bridge, as well as Applecross, and the mountains of the Coulin Forest, it made a great base for our few days winter hillwalking - though two of the four were so stormy we couldn't get on the hill! But no problem, because from Strome you can find great coastal walks if it's not fit to climb.
Ewan and Kath are very low-key and welcoming, and our ground floor bunk room was fine. Excellent wet-room type shower and toilet just opposite the room. The main sitting room is really relaxing and great, with its wood burning boiler, and the massive dining table whose top comes off to reveal a snooker table underneath! The kitchen is excellently equipped, though I can imagine as often in hostels, if the place was full, the cooking facilities would get pretty crowded.

The location on the loch shore is just stunning. Morning light over the loch, with snow on the distant hills was fantastic. Highly recommend taking your camera up the road as far as the forest walks just before the main road junction, and if you walk far enough there are mouthwatering views out to the west, including the mountains of Applecross and Skye, as well as the rocky skerries of Loch Carron.

What's not to enjoy?!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

just returned from a weekend at Stromeferry. Couldn't have asked for more - lovely clean hostel, comfy rooms, well equipped kitchen, very welcoming hosts - Kath & Ewan, and breath taking views from every window. Woodland walks just on your doorstep. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This beautiful little hostel is a real find. It feels very peaceful and remote - it is about 10 mins drive from Plockton.There's a train station just down the road from the hostel; there are only 4 trains a day so it's not noisy at all. I stayed in a twin room which had views of the Loch. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and showers were cleaned every day. The kitchen had all the appliances you need and free tea and coffee on tap. The dining area and livingroom were open plan but very comfortable and the dining table actually converts into a billiards table! The lady who greeted us (sorry can't remember her name) was so friendly and helpful - she went out of her way to try and find us horse riding facilities nearby. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This hostel had potential but there were a few things that let it down. The private bedroom was really nice with a pretty view and comfy bed, however the shared facilities were a wee bit disappointing. Firstly it seemed a little dirty compared to the other hostels we stayed and there did seem to be a sewer type of smell at times too. The room was lovely but the kitchen area wasn't very inviting. We arrived a little early but only by half an hour or so. The main downside was that a tour group had the rest of the place and when we arrived back to cook dinner the entire kitchen and dining area was over taken. We could have waited to cook, but there wouldnt have been any table to sit at. So we decided to leave instead and find dinner nearby - not ideal, and perhaps could have been notified upon booking that a tour group had the rest of the house? The group left early in the morning which was good, so we had nearly full use of the kitchen dining facilities for breakfast. Breakfast supplies were provided which was good. However there were no towels for rent or supply - which should be stated in hostel info so didn't shower there.
Over all it was a lovely peacefully spot, just a tad tarnished by a tour group dominating the dining area in the evening. Nice bed though!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This really is a fantastic hostel. We unfortunately didn't realise the road was closed between 7.30-7 am from Stromeferry to Loch Carron (i believe it is now open agan!) and needed somewhere to stay the night. We fortunately managed to get a last minute room in the hostel. I would defiantly say it is upper market as hostels go! We paid 50 pounds for two and go a lovely private room, really comfortable and quiet and opposite was a shared bathroom, very clean with a nice hot shower. Theres a communal lounge with a cozy fire and it was really good fun meeting lots of other nationalities.
The hosts were great, not interfering and we just settled in.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane-ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this place. The first time was on a tour before it became a hostel (2006) the 2nd time was with my fiancé while on route to Plockton. Both times I have thoroughly enjoyed it and have found it is a great place to unwind and relax. While it is a little off the beaten path the view on a good day is unforgettable. Do make sure you've picked up your food an drink before you arrive as it is a wee trip to the nearest store.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromeferry
0.0 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soluis Mu Thuath
Soluis Mu Thuath
#2 of 2 in Stromeferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stationmaster's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stationmaster's Lodge

Property: Stationmaster's Lodge
Address: Stationmasters House | Stromferry, Stromeferry IV53 8UJ, Scotland (Formerly Stationmasters Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Stromeferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stromeferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand holiday let in the small village of Stromeferry. Historic house built for the Stationmaster of the Inverness-Kyle railway. Ideal location for day trips to Skye, Torridon, Applecrosss and Glenelg. Woodland walks from the village. Shops and restaurants can be found in Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, both about 15 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stationmaster's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing