We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idyllic location - great highland welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stationmaster's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Stromeferry B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

just returned from a weekend at Stromeferry. Couldn't have asked for more - lovely clean hostel, comfy rooms, well equipped kitchen, very welcoming hosts - Kath & Ewan, and breath taking views from every window. Woodland walks just on your doorstep. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Stationmaster's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

This beautiful little hostel is a real find. It feels very peaceful and remote - it is about 10 mins drive from Plockton.There's a train station just down the road from the hostel; there are only 4 trains a day so it's not noisy at all. I stayed in a twin room which had views of the Loch. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and showers were cleaned every day. The kitchen had all the appliances you need and free tea and coffee on tap. The dining area and livingroom were open plan but very comfortable and the dining table actually converts into a billiards table! The lady who greeted us (sorry can't remember her name) was so friendly and helpful - she went out of her way to try and find us horse riding facilities nearby. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This hostel had potential but there were a few things that let it down. The private bedroom was really nice with a pretty view and comfy bed, however the shared facilities were a wee bit disappointing. Firstly it seemed a little dirty compared to the other hostels we stayed and there did seem to be a sewer type of smell at times too. The room was lovely but the kitchen area wasn't very inviting. We arrived a little early but only by half an hour or so. The main downside was that a tour group had the rest of the place and when we arrived back to cook dinner the entire kitchen and dining area was over taken. We could have waited to cook, but there wouldnt have been any table to sit at. So we decided to leave instead and find dinner nearby - not ideal, and perhaps could have been notified upon booking that a tour group had the rest of the house? The group left early in the morning which was good, so we had nearly full use of the kitchen dining facilities for breakfast. Breakfast supplies were provided which was good. However there were no towels for rent or supply - which should be stated in hostel info so didn't shower there.
Over all it was a lovely peacefully spot, just a tad tarnished by a tour group dominating the dining area in the evening. Nice bed though!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This really is a fantastic hostel. We unfortunately didn't realise the road was closed between 7.30-7 am from Stromeferry to Loch Carron (i believe it is now open agan!) and needed somewhere to stay the night. We fortunately managed to get a last minute room in the hostel. I would defiantly say it is upper market as hostels go! We paid 50 pounds for two and go a lovely private room, really comfortable and quiet and opposite was a shared bathroom, very clean with a nice hot shower. Theres a communal lounge with a cozy fire and it was really good fun meeting lots of other nationalities.
The hosts were great, not interfering and we just settled in.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane-ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this place. The first time was on a tour before it became a hostel (2006) the 2nd time was with my fiancé while on route to Plockton. Both times I have thoroughly enjoyed it and have found it is a great place to unwind and relax. While it is a little off the beaten path the view on a good day is unforgettable. Do make sure you've picked up your food an drink before you arrive as it is a wee trip to the nearest store.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Loved our visit here in October 2009! We called ahead from Skye and even though it was their off season they welcomed us warmly! Huge storm that day and night, we arrived soaked, and they kindly offered to put our wet clothing in the dryer, and let us do all our laundry for free! We were the only visitors that night, and they made us feel very comfortable, and welcome in their home. Gorgeous view over the Loch, the storm made for some crazy awesome views! Wonderful visit, and beautiful building! Definetly going there again on our next visit!

Room Tip: request a room with a view of the loch - amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

A friend of mine had stayed here before and loved it, so it made sense to go back. We were with a Wild in Scotland tour and had Stationmasters Hostel as a kind of home base. As a college student who was expecting a typical big-city hostel, I was very pleasantly surprised by comfortable beds, warm blankets and a kind of community environment that I've never had anywhere else. I stayed in a room that slept six - it had three bunk beds, which worked perfectly for our group. We were also given the option to pay a little extra on the tour and have a two-person room if we didn't want to be in a more public space.

Our host (Ewan) and hostess (Kath) were very welcoming and cooked lovely dinners for us. Something to be aware of because this is a community environment: the meals were cooked specifically for us, so it was our responsibility to clean up afterward. Considering the work that went into the meals, we were all happy with this arrangement.
Another thing to note is that breakfast was cereal, toast with butter and jam or nutella, along with an assortment of refrigerated items that this college student was too groggy to notice. Our tour allowed for a stop at a grocery store to get some sort of protein if you need cheese or ham to start off your day, like I do.

Regarding the first review on this site, I was a bit surprised at the notion of barricading oneself into the room. I felt in no way vulnerable to theft, and my friends and I had just come from a tour to three or four major cities in Europe - we are well aware of how to keep our belongings safe.

I had a fantastic time on this trip, and agree completely with the opinions expressed by HeatherMO, froebelfran and MBK094.

Thank you to Kath and Ewan for such a comfortable stay, and thanks to Danny for a brilliantly conducted tour.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stationmaster's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stationmaster's Lodge

Address: Stationmasters House | Stromferry, Stromeferry IV53 8UJ, Scotland (Formerly Stationmasters Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Stromeferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stromeferry
Price Range: $24 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand holiday let in the small village of Stromeferry. Historic house built for the Stationmaster of the Inverness-Kyle railway. Ideal location for day trips to Skye, Torridon, Applecrosss and Glenelg. Woodland walks from the village. Shops and restaurants can be found in Kyle of Lochalsh and Plockton, both about 15 minutes drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing