We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Levuka Homestay is a Home away from Home!”
Review of Levuka Homestay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levuka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Levuka Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Levuka Homestay is a Home away from Home!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After visiting an island in Lomaiviti for a week we loved our rooms here so much! Interior was a perfect blend of Colonial days and Fijian culture - spacious and airy, comfortable beds, fresh flowers everywhere, overhead fans, big bathroom with all the luxuries you would expect from a five star hotel without the price, and all spotlessly clean!Shutters onto the large verandah outside our room for relaxing in a comfy chair with a book. Loved the tropical gardens, the parrot called Bula! and the Sundowners with John and Marilyn each evening at five o'clock where we got the history and beauty of Levuka town!Marilyns home-cooked breakfasts of fresh fruit, banana pancakes, bacon and eggs, Mango Smoothie and plenty of fresh coffee are legendary! The Fijian staff have been with John and Marilyn for years and keep everything in perfect condition.If you are going to visit Levuka, look no further than Levuka Home Stay for accomodation, its a whole experience in itself! We will be back! Many thanks John and Marilyn!

Room Tip: All the rooms are greatll
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
54
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had been travelling around Fiji and were taken to Levuka to see the first Fijian capital. It has a wild west appearance and we were not hopeful about our accommodation. But we couldn't have been more surprised. Levuka homestay was comfortable, clean,spacious with two amazing hosts, John and Marilyn. They made us welcome, organised a trip to Levoni, made sure our taxis arrived on time and prepared memorable breakfasts each day. Their insights into Fijian life each night over drinks added to the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited Levuka for the first time and definitely left a piece of our hearts there. John and Marilyn - you are not just excellent hosts, you became real and trustworthy friends in these few days. Levuka itself is something you can't simply describe, it's a blend of emotions, feelings, sounds, momentary pictures in your memory. And Levuka Homestay is a place where you are always welcome. All the great people working there are not just doing their job, they really take care. Time goes and this warm nostalgic feeling is only getting stronger. John & Marilyn, I'm sure we will meet again. Yury & Elena.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Websurfer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Levuka is a lovely frontier, Wild West town with well preserved architecture and the hills and villages surrounding it are full of friendly, beautiful people. But it has few spaces to retreat into for respite from its heat and dust.

After a hard day's slog along the steaming back alleys and hiking trails of Levuka, this lovely guesthouse beckons with the promise of peace, quiet, cleanliness and coolness. After a cooling shower and a relaxing cup of tea on your own patio, walk up to the main terrace with its views over the Levuka Passage and enjoy the company of John and Marilyn over evening drinks.

Then head out a short stroll away for dinner. Come back to your spotless, tasteful room with its firm mattress and crisp bedlinen for a good night's sleep. Next morning, walk upstairs again and let John and Marilyn serve you one delicacy after another for breakfast while they somehow manage to never interrupt the flow of conversation. Then start the day all over again. The only hard part is leaving.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ssjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Magical place, John and Marilyn are perfect hosts, the room was excellent, and the whole island is a jewel, I've never been to a more friendly and relaxed place anywhere. The breakfasts are sumptuous, staff friendly, as an example of the extra care the hosts take; after we told him about some of the travel stuff-ups we had suffered on the mainland John went down to town himself to pick up our plane tickets for us while we were out on a tour just to make sure no further problems arose. It's little things like that that make all the difference.
I could go on and say what everyone else does but be assured you will not be disappointed with either this place or the island..we bumped into the solitary backpacker on the entire island one morning, and she said 'there's nothing happening here!" Exactly, no hustle, no hassle, and if that is something you dream of, then pack your bags and go at once: it will change your perspective!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMdoc529003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

An amazing place in paradise to stay. Cleanest and best staffed Fijian accommodation ever. I heard its for sale. Too bad I'm not ten years closer to retirement. This is one step towards heaven. Breakfast to die for, hosts so friendly, what a Fijian vacation should be like

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

61 excellent reviews, 1 terrible and they didnt even stay there. I had a brilliant time and didnt want to leave - i can see why John and Marilyn moved here. They were the best hosts ever, always accomodating if you wanted a few beers on the balcony and the breakfasts were mega. Come and stay here and you will understand why everyone loves it (apart from the 1 person who didnt stay here).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levuka
23.6 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
12.1 mi away
Naigani Island Resort
Naigani Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Naigani Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levuka Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levuka Homestay

Property: Levuka Homestay
Address: Lot 3 Church Street, Levuka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Ovalau Island > Levuka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Levuka Homestay - a new experience in bed and breakfast accommodation in Levuka. Stay in the comfort of our home which captures both the 'colonial' and the 'Fijian' themes that are so much part of the heritage of this town. We have become famous for our full breakfast, which is included in the tariff. This should start your day off well, ready to enjoy your day's exploration of Levuka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Levuka Homestay Ovalau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing