We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Levuka Homestay Visit number 6 or 7 lost track”
Review of Levuka Homestay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levuka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Levuka Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We were told by friends about Levuka Homestay as you can see we have been many times twice last year. If you want real Fiji this is the place to come ,Marilyn & John are fabulous hosts and we have become great friends with them along with the locals.On our last trip we went to St James end of school year presentations It was so great to see the proud children receiving their awards, the school has managed to add a libary and would be most grateful for any books.
John also arranged for us to go out fishing Fiji style several times on our last visit .We caught over 200 fish with hand lines & Epli's help & patience on our return John kindly BBQ our fish it was fabulous as it was so fresh.
Our trip in May we climbed the peak with the help of Nox the views were sensational of Levuka, we always go on long walks along the main road of the Ovalau.We meet many people from the villages along the way they are always interested to hear about Australia.
We have meet many interesting guests at the breafast table at Marilyn & Johns .

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Loveholidaysseaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2007

Levuka Homestay is a beautiful, modern, select bed and breakfast run by two very friendly people, Marilyn and John. They have four very comfortable bedrooms, with en suite facilities. Nothing unusual about that - but - the beds are sooo comfortable, there are plenty of pillows, clean fluffy towels every day, an over head fan or air conditioning if you prefer, a fridge and a kettle so you can make your drinks and a wonderful walk in shower with hot water! My old bones were so appreciative of all the comforts and I havent even started on the breakfasts! We were welcomed with a nice glass of chilled wine and some useful instructions on where to go to eat. The next morning we were presented with real coffee, banana pancakes, cereal, fresh fruit, toast, cheese, homemade jams and a wonderful fruit smoothie. Just when we thought we would burst - along came eggs and bacon. You definitely need to pace yourself at this table! Levuka is not a large place but it is steeped in history and the local people are truly wonderful. John and Marilyn have made it their home and they have a huge amount of information on places to visit and things to do. They introduced us to local guides who took us on walks explaining about the local flora and fauna which was great. This is a major recommendation for a fabulous stay at a home from home.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Battleship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

what a wonderful places to stay. we found a perfect place, very clean very comfortable furnished, all aminities you can think of. perfect pricing /rates as well. but this is not all, the best about this places are the owners. john and marilyn are so great hosts, we experienced such a great warm welcome. enjoyed every days breakfast celebration. they really care for there guest, always wondering if there is anything they can make your stay even more wonderful. marilyn we loved your breakfast all your homemade fresh food, pancakes we never had before, smoothies so delicious we never tasted bevore, home made marmelades, fresh fruits from the lovely garden. and john, thank you so much for all the nice stories you shared with us about levuka history and fiji islands.

they also helped us greatly with diving arrangements (great diving), hiking tours (beautiful nature) and arranging day trips to leluvia island (must go if you are in levuka).

if we ever come back to fiji island, we will definately come back to the levuka homestay. there is no other place where you feel like home from the beginning till the end.
visit --- now!

we thank john and marilyn for accommodating us so greatly. susanne and dominik, germany

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank susa175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I must say this is a must stay place for Traveller's to Levuka Town on Ovalau island. Marilyn's breakfast's are legendary, home made museli, fresh fruit's from their garden, freshly squeazed fruit smoothy, freshly brewed coffee, eggs cooked how you want & homemade banana pancakes which are to die for. All served to you at a time you want. But be warned if you book an activity in town in the morning the operators will tell you the Marilyn & John will have to release you from breakfast early. The view overlooking the township, neighbourig islands

All rooms (of which there are only 4 to make it feel like home.)have tea & coffee making facilities, small fridge, A/c, fans and they are serviced daily by the friendliest staff you will ever meet. All of the staff are very friendly and up for a chat and some operate other small tours or trips that are worth looking into.

Levuka Homestay's host Marilyn and John can help with things like arranging taxi transfers from the airport which is approximately a 40 minute drive away. They also have contacts with other tourist operators on the island and they are happy to assist you.

We travelled with two children a 6 year old & 5 year old who got to experience the real Fiji by attending one of the local schools for the day. If you have school age children please ask John to arrange a visit to one of the schools it is an experience your children will not forget as our 2 are still talking about it to their friends a fortnight later.

We will be back to Levuka Homestay as soon as possible and you should consider it as an alternative for your family to see the real Fiji that you won't see in some resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank H_and_Anna_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HighFlyer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avions la seule chambre non-climatisée, ce qui nous convient très bien.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Levuka Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levuka Homestay

Address: Lot 3 Church Street, Levuka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Ovalau Island > Levuka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Price Range: $77 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Levuka Homestay - a new experience in bed and breakfast accommodation in Levuka. Stay in the comfort of our home which captures both the 'colonial' and the 'Fijian' themes that are so much part of the heritage of this town. We have become famous for our full breakfast, which is included in the tariff. This should start your day off well, ready to enjoy your day's exploration of Levuka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Levuka Homestay Ovalau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing