We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place - What a Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Levuka Homestay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levuka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Levuka Homestay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Harrogate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a place - What a Breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at Levuka Homestay for 2 nights over Easter 2011. John and Marilyn are vey friendly and very wecoming. We were shown to our rooms and invited to a welcoming drink, where they informed us of good places to eat and some interesting stories of Fiji and the passion that they share of Fiji and how they came to settle in Levuka. The accomodation was amazing, every little detail has been considered and there is nothing that could be faulted. unfortunately for us we had a very early start each day (7am), John and Marilyn laid out an amazing breakfast one of the best I've ever had.

Cheers John & Marilyn
Hermann, Maxie, Will & Alex

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrowinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
54
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

A hidden gem - if you make it over to Ovalau, you must stay here! Great rooms, awesome hosts, and the BEST breakfast ever (we kept joking that our breakfast ruined our lunch).

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My 4 night stay at Levuka Homestay was part of a 7 month trip around the world and a true home away from home. John and Marilyn made me feel so welcome. The colonial bungalows have shutters, are very nicely decorated and have all the luxuries a world traveller needs, and then some. And the breakfasts and welcome drinks on their verandah-with-a-view are to die for!
Marilyn invited me to the weekly meeting of expats in the Ovalau Country Club and that was a really fun and great night out. A bunch of people, thrown together by fate, with interesting stories and town gossip, it was a barrel of laughs (and drinks)!
Nox the gardener took me on a couple of walks (of which the one up the mountain peak was a bit too steep for me though) with amazing views and I learned a bit about the various plants on the way.
Levuka itself looks like the movie set of an old wild west town with a very relaxed atmosphere. All in all a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarionvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Everything positive you read on this site about Levuka Homestay is absolutely true. It is positioned in a lovely spot and the accommodation is excellent. Marilyn and John are great hosts, offering their knowledge and advice on the local area, plus of course inviting you to join them for pre-dinner drinks! We took a walk with Nox and would certainly recommend going up to the nearby waterfall with him. If you plan to visit Ovalau, then this place definitely merits a stop.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda_worley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed here for five days and enjoyed every minute.
I must admit that before my visit I had wondered if some of the other reviewers had been exaggerating. I can assure you that they are not, so there's no need for me to rave about the fabulous breakfasts and the wonderful hospitality offered by John and Marilyn.
The rooms are brilliant. They are so well thought out, so perfectly formed that we drew up the floor plan (just in case we ever need to build on some extra accommodation), and when we mentioned this at breakfast, a couple of the other guests said that they'd done the same thing.
The staff are really lovely and Nox was great - but a wee word of warning here. On the list of activities is a "walk" to The Peak with Nox. It's not really a walk, more like a hike of medium difficulty. It's pretty amazing at the top though:-)
The other guests were really, really nice and even though the property was full on a couple of the nights we were there we still had plenty of privacy.
Thanks for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

This place totally exceeded any expecations! When I saw the word homestay, I had a completely different idea in my mind. The accommodation was very private, pretty much like separate cabins with your own balcony. The rooms were very spacious and clean and had lots of personality, none of the boringness of standard hotels, but plenty of useful space such as cupboards, tables and chairs. The hosts John and Marilyn were fantastic, providing us with lots of information, and the breakfast was something to really look forward to! It's a short walk to the waterfront, and plenty to do around there.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavers Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We always wanted to visit Levuka on Ovalau, Fiji and it more than lived up to our expectations. Booking the accommodation on line was direct and easy. Help with advice on travel to island. Taxi booked at airport. Room very pleasant. Welcome drinks fabulous, and breakfast amazing. Advice with what to do, restaurants etc, tours booked for us, return taxi to airport booked for us. The gardener, Nox, took very good walking tours. Levuka Homestay, and the town, are not resorts, but they are a chance to see some of Fiji's history, in a friendly setting with everything you need and a chance to meet the locals without thousands of other tourists. You can be as energetic as you like, or not.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistairwatt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levuka
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
66 reviews
23.6 mi away
Toberua Island Resort
Toberua Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Toberua Island
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levuka Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levuka Homestay

Property: Levuka Homestay
Address: Lot 3 Church Street, Levuka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Lomaiviti Islands > Ovalau Island > Levuka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levuka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Levuka Homestay - a new experience in bed and breakfast accommodation in Levuka. Stay in the comfort of our home which captures both the 'colonial' and the 'Fijian' themes that are so much part of the heritage of this town. We have become famous for our full breakfast, which is included in the tariff. This should start your day off well, ready to enjoy your day's exploration of Levuka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Levuka Homestay Ovalau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing