We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Leon d'Oro”
Review of Leon D'Oro

Leon D'Oro
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Casteggio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed December 22, 2018

Yesterday I was once more in this restaurant, together with some friends of mine. We had a nice lunch, tasting traditional regional food - a large variety of appetizers, risotto with mushrooms, meat ravioli, pork and beef dishes - and drinking local sparkling red wine (Bonarda). Nevertheless, our lunch took almost three ours before drinking coffee and paying the bill.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucianoP2253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Not easy to find, very few signage outside to confirm it was a restaurant or it was open. But once inside, the owner was so friendly. It was the weekend, there was no menu, the waiter just kept bringing more local tasty food. It was a set price meal we discovered. I would love to visit again.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank AndyGS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

In Casteggio just 60 kms south of Milan, equidistant from the Milan-Genova and Milan-Bologna motorways, is where Leon D'oro is situated. It is only open at lunchtimes. Marco looks after the salon with help from Dad and Mom and helpers look after the excellent kitchen.
It is always a set meal of 4 courses. Mixed cured meats, salame, prosciutto crudo, coppa and pancetta all rigorously made by the house with pickles and Russian salad to start, two pastas (the other day risotto with artichokes, ravioli with braised beef filling) followed by Roast Beef and Roast Veal. 3/4 desserts like Chocolate salami, millefeuille, chestnut cake. Great selections of wine from the region.
Very reasonable at €29 not including drinks and coffee.
Everything is cooked at the last moment so it is deliciously fresh without the trace of a microwave!
Really enjoyed it and would recommend it strongly.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were up in the hills above Casteggio buying wine before heading home to Fayence. I was too busy tasting to glance at my watch but my stomach began growling. As we loaded our car I asked the vineyard owner if she could suggest a place where we could have lunch. She made a quick call to reserve a table and led us down hill and through Casteggio to a small unassuming looking restaurant on the outskirts. She waved and drove off. I eased open the door and was almost blown off my feet. The room was packed, perhaps 40-50 happy souls eating and drinking. We were the only non-Italians. The owner spoke a bit of French and we told him we wanted to eat lightly. A long drive on a full stomach is not what I needed as we roared down the autostrada at 120 KPH. He returned with plates of fresh antipasti: smoked ham, salami, mortadella and other meats and then followed with platters of crisp fried aubergine, courgette, red peppers. The food kept on coming and we reluctantly asked him to stop. Pasta? We ordered tagliatelli. One portion with fresh mountain mushrooms and another with a simple basil pesto sauce. Both were superb. Because I was driving I had to limit myself to one glass of wine and the owner suggested a HUGE Barbera. It was so good I was tempted to cancel the return trip and spend the afternoon wrapped around my glass. Unfortunately I did not get the name but we are going back in October to buy more wine and have at least another lunch or two in Leon D'Oro.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon D'Oro also viewed

Casteggio, Province of Pavia
Casteggio, Province of Pavia
 
Casteggio, Province of Pavia
Casteggio, Province of Pavia
 
Casteggio, Province of Pavia
Montebello della Battaglia, Province of Pavia
 

Been to Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing