We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, wonderful, but not the Ritz.”
Review of Haga Haga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haga Haga Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our extended family decided to congregate at Haga Haga Hotel for a few days around Christmas. It proved to be a very good decision. We found that there was a sufficient variety of facilities and activities to appeal to all ages, and nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and the wonderful Chemaly family who were superb hosts - it was as if we were guests in their home. Neil Chemaly memorised the names of everyone in the family from day one (and we were a large group) - it's so rare, and delightful, to stay in a hotel where one is treated as an individual and not merely as a wallet on legs!
The charm of this hotel is that the architecture is rambling and the decor is relaxed. It's not the Ritz, but then no one in our family wanted that sort of sophisticated hotel experience when relaxing at the beach. We loved the proximity to the beach, the casual dress code, the cordiality of everyone we came into contact with and the feeling of safety that we sensed at all times.
The one area that we felt could've been a little more imaginative was the food. It was very predictable by the time we got to day 3. On our second last day, one member of our party shared with the chef that he loved the curries in Durban and challenged the chef to produce something comparable. We thoroughly enjoyed the curry that night and wished we had put in a request for a bit more variety in the menu a little earlier. We'll know for next time!
It's always lovely having someone else cook and clean up after a meal, especially Christmas Dinner. When Christmas Eve dinner includes a stirring acapella performance by the staff of favourite songs, it is even more special. We'll treasure the memories of our holiday at Haga Haga.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenawarriorteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you, and thank you again for such a wonderful and detailed review. We do appreciate your feedback and we loved having you all here. It made the place so much more festive. We love having big family groups. I'm glad you have made some great memories and you had a fantastic holiday. Re the food, as you know our 2 chefs from Zimbabwe joined us early December and they have been making some great changes and mixing up what is offer so if you do come back we hope to exceed your expectations. Thanks for choosing our hotel as your family holiday destination. We loved having you all here and we look forward to having you back here again one day. Kind Regards,Candice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Haga Haga Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Well run establishment with stunning location and attentive staff. This family run small hotel has that special wild coast ambiance with a relaxed and informal "old world feel" good quality meals and great place to chill out. The rooms are a good size and shows high standards in hygiene and attention to detail. Staff are very friendly and attentive with smiles all round.
Will be back.
John

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank johnlV5724ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear John, Thank you so much for the lovely review. All our staff will be pleased that they are doing a great job. Glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to having you back here again. Thank you, Candice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a road trip on the Eastern Cape and the highlight was staying at Haga Haga. It was by far the most beautiful location, our view from the cabana was exceptional with sea views which ever way you looked. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us, which remained through the whole stay. The cabanas had everything we needed and were very clean and roomy. We spent our days walking along the coastline where we felt very safe and spent early evenings enjoying the sunsets and yummy food. When we sadly had to leave we felt completely relaxed and grateful that we had decided to stay in such a special unspoilt place. Thankyou to everyone at Haga and don't ever change.

Room Tip: Whichever Room/Cabana you choose has a spectacular sea view.
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bernie Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Bernie,
Thank you for your lovely review and giving us some feedback on the cabanas. We have recently done a few updates to them so we are glad you enjoyed them. We know coming from the UK you wanted to feel safe and could walk wherever you wanted and that was a big plus for you. See you again here one day. Thank you, Candice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've visited Haga Haga Hotel many times over the years and was fortunate enough to spend a few days there again this past January. I always leave with a heavy heart as it really is a most magnificent place to go and unwind. Spectacular sea views from your hotel room, pristine beaches right on your doorstep, friendly staff who go out of their way to assist wherever they can, good wholesome meals and plenty of walking trails and other outdoor activities on offer make it a must to experience. I was most impressed with the recent upgrade to their bar/deck area and found myself religiously spending the late afternoons with a drink in hand watching the sun go down. Can't wait to get back there soon!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mykus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hi, thanks for the great review. Glad you like the new bar/decked area. There are a few more things we will be doing this year so you must def come and have a look at all the changes happening. Its exciting times for us here at Haga. See you again soon. Thanks, Candice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently spent 5 glorious days at this little gem of a hotel, unpretentious, unspoilt and perfect for chilling, relaxing, eating and just making new friends with the wonderful staff and 3 wagging, welcoming hotel dogs. This is a family run hotel, so everything is taken into consideration, they would like to know that you are happy and bend over backwards to make sure of that. Neil, Sandy and Candice, all the staff, you are special!! DONT let a few grumpy people get under your skin - continue to make everyone else happy. Our Valentines Dinner was out of this world, well done to the 2 brilliant chef's, yummy and it didnt cost the earth.
We will be back again and again, you just try and stop us! XX

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellseeker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you so much for the fab review. It is certainly a haven for families and we try our utmost to ensure everyone has the best possible holiday and they are comfortable in every possible way. Thanks for your comments which our staff will all appreciate as they work so hard. Thanks Candice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have been going to Haga Hotel my whole life, first with my parents and now with my own family - and it certainly is a little piece of Heavan here on earth! The location is exquisite...where else can you wake up and watch dolphins swim by! Our kids have a blast there, with the beach and lagoon a short walk away.
The staff have always been super friendly and we have always been made to feel very welcome there. The rooms are comfy, with brilliant sea views - but quite honestly very little time is spent in your room as there is far too much to do!
The food isnt 5-star gourmet food, but it is wholesome home cooked food...what more could you ask for???
I see some people have made complaints about Haga, but if you are not prepared to chat to the staff about it and to give them the opportunity to make it right, then dont go and moan!!!
My family and I love love love Haga Hotel and we will most certainly continue to go there for many more years to come.
Thank you to the Chemaly family for always being brilliant hosts:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstiAdshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hi Kirsti,

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. We are happy that you will continue to come back to Haga again and again and its a special place for you. We do look at all reviews and act and improve where we can. See you back here again very soon. Thanks Candice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have just returned from spending an awesome, perfect in everyway, 5 days. Who can not love the stunning views from almost every room, the yummy food professionally served by the friendly chefs, the smiling and helpful staff, even the wagging welcome from the 3 hotel dogs. This is only a 3 star establishment, owned by a family who have been in business for many, many years - previous reviews seem a little harsh. This is the place to recharge, unwind, enjoy the beautiful walks along the beach, sip sundowners and enjoy good, wholesome, simple food! You have to love Haga*****

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haga Haga
13.6 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
410 reviews
6.5 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
441 reviews
8.8 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
64 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mitford Hotel
Mitford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Morgan's Bay
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haga Haga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haga Haga Hotel

Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Price Range: $99 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Haga Haga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing