We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful little gem!”
Review of Haga Haga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haga Haga Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful little gem!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

During the last week of the June/July holidays we did a tour from the eastern Cape to Leisure Bay. Our second night stop was at Haga Haga. The hotel is located right on the edge of the sea with breath-taking views of the ocean from the hotel rooms.The rugged stretch of coastline adjacent to the hotel is simply beautiful and great for walking. The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished and we were most impressed by the friendly, willing, efficient and yet unobtrusive service of all the staff. The kids loved the beach and play area.We enjoyed the lovely atmosphere in the bar the night before, and the breakfast was just what we need for the long road ahead. The only dissapointment was that we only stayed for one night. Next time we will definitely stay for at least 3 nights.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the upper level. We slept below and our neighbours above us was very noisy all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 561Heleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Heleen,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and for the positive feedback. We hope the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to seeing you back here again one day.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
57
51
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent an amazing weekend at Hotel. The beach and rock pools are fantasic and kept my children busy. The restaurant and bar are fantastic as you sit overlooking the ocean eating the delicious food they serve (really enjoyed the prawns). The accommodation was fantastic with a balcony overlooking the sea (a good place to relax with a book while the kids play on the beach directly in front of you. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Michelle, thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you were able to relax and still keep an eye on the kids. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouriesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I recently did a tour of the Eastern Cape. The highlight of our trip was the week we spent at the Haga-Haga hotel. The hotel is located right on the edge of the sea with unimpeded views of the ocean from the hotel rooms.The rugged stretch of coastline adjacent to the hotel is simply beautiful and great for walking. The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished and we were most impressed by the friendly, willing, efficient and yet unobtrusive service of all the staff. The hotel and it's gardens are neat and well cared for. The owners are very much "hands on" and one has the sence that their love for and pride in their hotel is reflected in everything one experiences there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your lovely review. It does mean so much to us that we were the highlight of your Eastern Cape Tour. We do believe its such a special place and we are happy that you had a wonderful time and were able to experience our hospitality. Please come and visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Haga Haga hotel is an old world "on the rock" hotel on the southern Wild Coast. Its location is superb with a stunning view of the waves rolling in as you enjoy a sundowner in the afternoon or coffee in the morning.

The hotel offers sea facing rooms or self-catering cabanas with 2 rooms per cabana.

The buildings are generally in good condition and rooms clean, neat and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there is a pleasant atmosphere in the hotel.
The food is rather dull, and decent coffee only available at specific times which I found rather strange.

The hotel also has a small shop which caters for items which might have been left behind.

The conference facility has been allowed to run down, and was rather disappointing. Check that the aircons are working and make sure you order in decent coffee for the breaks.

The hotel is about 1 hour from East London, mostly on surfaced road, with the last section on gravel road. The gravel was in a reasonable condition and suitable for a sedan driving carefully.

Our group had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear CJD_D,

Thank you for your comments re your recent visit to the hotel and conference centre. We do value our guests Feedback so we can make improvements. I understand that there was a problem with one of the aircon units and a part was in the post but unfortunately due to the postal strikes it had been delayed in Johannesburg. Filter coffee is available at all times if requested for in the quotation. We had lovely feedback from all of your party re the food and accommodation and thank you for all the lovely comments. Our food is freshly prepared using the highest of quality ingredients and we aim to offer a wide choice so everyone’s tastes are catered for. We are constantly working on maintaining the facilities and ensuring they are kept up to standard. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel from 22/02/2013 to the 25/02/2013, rooms excellent, food and service very good also friendly staff nothing too much trouble.
Friday night buffet and the seafood buffet on Saturday was excellent, spoilt for choice on the food selection.
Had friends with us from the UK and they were very impressed and left with fond memories of the short stay but determined to return.

Room Tip: Rooms no. 11 & 12 sea facing cool all day and late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Barry and Di. Thank you so much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the rooms and the food and also glad your friends from the UK managed to stop over and see our part of the coastline. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Friendly hosts and staff - good food - stunning position - glorious sea facing rooms. Booked originally for 1 night in a sea facing room to find that our friends / relatives had booked us for the next night in self catering.
Hotel rooms excellent and the food was good , the self catering apartments provided all essentials and ours had sea views.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ian, Thank you for your review. We appreciate and value your comments. Thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Haga Haga hotel provided a wonderful setting for a very relaxing holiday. Hard to beat view on well maintained grounds, great facilities and friendly helpful staff meant that the sea, beach and lagoon could ve enjoyed to their extent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and we are happy you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the facilities. Our hope is that everyone leaves us feeling totally relaxed. Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haga Haga
13.6 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
404 reviews
8.8 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
300 reviews
23.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
63 reviews
9.6 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haga Haga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haga Haga Hotel

Property: Haga Haga Hotel
Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Haga Haga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing