We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haga Haga - an excellent all round stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Friendly hosts and staff - good food - stunning position - glorious sea facing rooms. Booked originally for 1 night in a sea facing room to find that our friends / relatives had booked us for the next night in self catering.
Hotel rooms excellent and the food was good , the self catering apartments provided all essentials and ours had sea views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Ian, Thank you for your review. We appreciate and value your comments. Thank you for staying and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Haga Haga hotel provided a wonderful setting for a very relaxing holiday. Hard to beat view on well maintained grounds, great facilities and friendly helpful staff meant that the sea, beach and lagoon could ve enjoyed to their extent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and we are happy you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the facilities. Our hope is that everyone leaves us feeling totally relaxed. Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had the Christmas 2012 week in the new 3 bedroom self-catering cabana- what a magnificent setting. It consists of 3 large bedrooms all sea-facing with balconies, each with their own bathroom and a kitchen, lounge and dining room with uninterrupted seaviews. We decided to treat ourselves to the Christmas eve buffet at the hotel- the food was excellent, atmosphere alive and the staff are always friendly (Rosie & Ivy & all the kitchen/waiting staff)- they all sang to us after the meal. Haga-Haga is a special place, and the hotel & cabanas are the perfect location for an unforgettable holiday. Thank you Neil & Sandy for looking after us so well...

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing but if you can, book the new self-catering cabana- think it is no 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grainstores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. It means so much that you took the time to add your comments. We do appreciate it and any new potential guests will get great comfort in reading your review regarding your recent stay. Thank you from all the staff and management at the hotel. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the not too distant future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy staying at Haga Haga Hotel. It is ± 45 minute drive from East London - far enough out of town and yet not too far to travel if you have children. The rooms all have beautiful seaviews and are neat, tidy and clean. The staff are always helpful! It is a place to rejuvenate not just the body, but the mind and soul too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Nicola, Thank you for posting a review. Our new guests appreciate the comments previous guests have made and its good to know that you had a good rest and enjoyed your stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a family get together at this very well appointed holiday hotel. We were in a six sleeper self catering cabana which has everything that one requires! Lounge and all three bedrooms each with a balcony are almost at the water's edge! I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the maddening crowds. Family orientated so ideal for families with children!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elrica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Elrica, thanks for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. We are happy to hear you had a lovely break and we hope to see you and your family back again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was the worst we experienced over our whole three week trip in South Africa which infortunately clouded our view of this hotel as the rates were the top end and we expected better value. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEMP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great stay. We aim to please all our guests and we are surprised by your comment re the food as we have never had a complaint about the food we serve as we only use the best quality. We have a wide selection of food to cater for everyone's needs from our al carte menu and you will see from all the other reviews the food standards are always excellent. We are very sorry re the road. Unfortunately the "money" they ear marked to repair the road "disappeared". A typical Government failure year in South Africa!!! We have now been advised the funds have now been sorted out to make the necessary repairs needed. You will find our rates are competitively priced, and you can check this online against other hotels along the coast. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 7 days in Janaury and thouroughly enjoyed it. Food was excellent, quick and a great selection. Rooms were neat and clean with friendly staff catering to all our needs. The beach is superb for long walks and don't be surprised if you are the only person enjoying the solitude. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your review which we value. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haga Haga
13.7 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
430 reviews
8.7 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
320 reviews
6.6 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
8.7 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
386 reviews
1.6 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering

Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Price Range: $94 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Haga Haga Beach Hotel & Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing