We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very relaxing holiday!”
Review of Haga Haga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haga Haga Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Haga Haga hotel provided a wonderful setting for a very relaxing holiday. Hard to beat view on well maintained grounds, great facilities and friendly helpful staff meant that the sea, beach and lagoon could ve enjoyed to their extent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and we are happy you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the facilities. Our hope is that everyone leaves us feeling totally relaxed. Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
56
51
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had the Christmas 2012 week in the new 3 bedroom self-catering cabana- what a magnificent setting. It consists of 3 large bedrooms all sea-facing with balconies, each with their own bathroom and a kitchen, lounge and dining room with uninterrupted seaviews. We decided to treat ourselves to the Christmas eve buffet at the hotel- the food was excellent, atmosphere alive and the staff are always friendly (Rosie & Ivy & all the kitchen/waiting staff)- they all sang to us after the meal. Haga-Haga is a special place, and the hotel & cabanas are the perfect location for an unforgettable holiday. Thank you Neil & Sandy for looking after us so well...

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing but if you can, book the new self-catering cabana- think it is no 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grainstores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. It means so much that you took the time to add your comments. We do appreciate it and any new potential guests will get great comfort in reading your review regarding your recent stay. Thank you from all the staff and management at the hotel. Hopefully we'll see you back again in the not too distant future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I thoroughly enjoy staying at Haga Haga Hotel. It is ± 45 minute drive from East London - far enough out of town and yet not too far to travel if you have children. The rooms all have beautiful seaviews and are neat, tidy and clean. The staff are always helpful! It is a place to rejuvenate not just the body, but the mind and soul too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Nicola, Thank you for posting a review. Our new guests appreciate the comments previous guests have made and its good to know that you had a good rest and enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Hoek, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a family get together at this very well appointed holiday hotel. We were in a six sleeper self catering cabana which has everything that one requires! Lounge and all three bedrooms each with a balcony are almost at the water's edge! I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get away from the maddening crowds. Family orientated so ideal for families with children!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elrica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Elrica, thanks for taking the time to post a review on the hotel. We are happy to hear you had a lovely break and we hope to see you and your family back again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The food was the worst we experienced over our whole three week trip in South Africa which infortunately clouded our view of this hotel as the rates were the top end and we expected better value. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great stay. We aim to please all our guests and we are surprised by your comment re the food as we have never had a complaint about the food we serve as we only use the best quality. We have a wide selection of food to cater for everyone's needs from our al carte menu and you will see from all the other reviews the food standards are always excellent. We are very sorry re the road. Unfortunately the "money" they ear marked to repair the road "disappeared". A typical Government failure year in South Africa!!! We have now been advised the funds have now been sorted out to make the necessary repairs needed. You will find our rates are competitively priced, and you can check this online against other hotels along the coast. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days in Janaury and thouroughly enjoyed it. Food was excellent, quick and a great selection. Rooms were neat and clean with friendly staff catering to all our needs. The beach is superb for long walks and don't be surprised if you are the only person enjoying the solitude. We will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your review which we value. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very happy with the customer service from Management and staff at Haga Haga. The self catering Cabanas are clean and rooms neat and tidy. Kids were very happy with their surroundings and lots of space to ride their scooters.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candice C, Public Relations Manager at Haga Haga Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Shamilah, thank you for the positive review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thank you, Haga Haga Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haga Haga
13.6 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.5 mi away
Morgan Bay Hotel
Morgan Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morgan's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.8 mi away
Prana Lodge
Prana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Chintsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Crawford's Beach Lodge
Crawford's Beach Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chintsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
9.6 mi away
Buccaneers Lodge & Backpackers
1.7 mi away
Miarestate
Miarestate
#1 of 1 in Haga Haga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haga Haga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haga Haga Hotel

Property: Haga Haga Hotel
Address: 155 Mariners Way, Haga Haga 5272, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Haga Haga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haga Haga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haga Haga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haga Haga is a small village on the Eastern Cape wild coast of South Africa; safe, secure and crime free. Miles of endless beaches, great views and good food are all hallmarks of this enchanting resort. We offer hotel, bed & breakfast and self-catering accommodation all at very affordable rates. We offer excellent amenities for adults and children alike, including a pool & tennis court on the beach to compliment the sea-facing rooms. We offer a full English breakfast, a la carte or carvery in the evenings and don't miss out on our famous seafood extravaganza on Saturday evenings. If you want to escape, then Haga Haga is the perfect place for you and your family. Come and enjoy one of the best views along the Wild Coast...and you don't even need to get out of your bed to see the dolphins swimming past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haga Haga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing