We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed at the beginning of Winter”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tallebudgera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tallebudgera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The structure of Gwinganna is very special. Energetic activity and information in the morning, then therapeutic and relaxing treatments in the afternoon before dinner.
Beautiful sunrises and very professional and knowledgable staff.
Heaven on the mountain!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

I attended a 5 day optimum wellbeing program at Gwinganna. Part of the package meant you got 2 classic massages and a facial as well as $100 towards another treatment. I found this was just enough-but I was staggered how many treatments other residents were having- all at a huge cost. I can only think that people had more money than sense!! The inclusive facilities were fantastic- gym, pools, tennis courts, absolutely beautiful 360 degree scenery- but this was played down by the workers at Gwinganna- the emphasis was very much trying to get yet more money out of you and sugar coat it by calling it "Dreamtime". The food was tasty, and a good choice of morning activities- including the terrible sounding but fantastic Tribal dancing. The talks were interesting with great speakers but the manager Sharon came over a bit showy, false and insincere. They seemed to want to turn the audience into patients-telling them what was wrong with them and what tests they should ask their "evil" GP for. Ecologist John was a great asset-showing us around the amazing veg and fruit-laden gardens. I have taken alot from the time away including chewing my food better and I haven't had any caffeine yet. I would recommend going but don't get sucked into too many treatments-make the most of the facilities-and relax rather than dashing from one thing to another.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank drclaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Relaxing and energising, amazing food and great staff, accommodation very comfortable. Overall great for the mind body and soul.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We went on the 7 day Detox Retreat and followed their instructions by giving up coffee & wine a week before hand. This really enhanced our experience & when we saw how some of our fellow guests battled were glad that we followed the advice.
The organic food is devone and the cooking class gave me confidence to try out the recipes in their amazing cook book once I got home.

Take layers of clothes because the early mornings can be chilly.

The staff are wonderful, healing people who have a genuine passion for their work. The morning lectures were very informative and not olny told you how to live a healthier life but also the logic and research behind these recommendations.

A small suggestion for improvement - the cleaning is done by a revolving group of "work experience' people who exchange 5 weeks of work for a complimentary guest programme. Some of these people are very professional & vigilent... others no so.

There are lots of activities to choose from and you can do as much or as little as you want. Highly recommend Gwinganna to anybody wanting to reduce stress, get away from it all and learn about well being - we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Early days, but I'm hoping that my 5 days at Gwinganna will be the start of a "new" me. Staff are all amazing and so passionate that you cannot help but get caught up in the whole thing. I went as a big sceptic and have come home doing Qi Gong on my deck every morning, eating a better diet, and feeling much healthier (although I didn't lose any weight and don't expect to...the food is fab!)
We stayed in one of the villas which are just beautiful. A view to die for and more than enough space..although you might be surprised at how little time you actually spend in your room.
My only crticism was that housekeeping could be better (floors were some times less than clean and they seemed to have a deep aversion to replacing used toiletries).
I only had one treatment at the Spa, but everyone else (my wife included) raved about it. I spent a lot of my time doing various sessions in the gym and even ended up starting yoga.
Go.....and do Tribal Dance!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gwinganna offers beautiful accommodation, sensational food, the best spa in Australia (if not the world) all within a healthy lifestyle program that sends you home rejuvinated, feeling great and ready to take on the world. I have stayed at Gwinganna five times and on this last trip, there were several other guests who had stayed there four or five times. Why go anywhere else?

Room Tip: Ask for the Orchard Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lucy68perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Gwinganna Health Retreat is just the balm needed to soothe away the stresses and strains of modern city life, or any life really. Located in a beautiful bushland setting in the hinterland behind the Gold Coast it combines very comfortable accommodation in a range of cottages and villas with delicious organic food, a great timetable of activities in the morning and an amazing spa treatment menu for the afternoon dreamtime. Guests are offered a range of options for the active mornings which start with a cheery 5.30am wake up call, or can just sleep in and sit by the pool if they choose. The staff were all very professional and expert in their fields and very caring, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended, this place can change your life!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallebudgera
14.9 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,048 reviews
12.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,508 reviews
10.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,804 reviews
14.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat

Address: 192 Syndicate Rd, Tallebudgera, Gold Coast, Queensland 4228, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Tallebudgera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tallebudgera
Price Range: $980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a world of busy, Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat stands apart as the destination to help you rest and revive and inspires you to live a healthier life. Whether you stay for a spa weekend over two nights or the popular detox program over seven days, you will connect with supportive professionals who will teach you resilience in the modern world.Australia's award winning lifestyle retreat is surrounded by ocean and valley views in the Gold Coast hinterland, with exceptional facilities including the stunning Spa Sanctuary, one of the largest spas in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy delicious organic cuisine, an extensive range of activities and stylish accommodation including luxury villas. Gwinganna.....for the rest of your life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat Hotel Tallebudgera
Gwinganna Lifestyle Retreat Australia/Gold Coast, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing