We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
Ranked #2 of 6 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Miles better than the last time we went about 12 months ago. Menu is still a little standard British /Pub /Gastro fare, but better than most of the others in the area. Service was excellent and broad wine list with reasonable prices. Particularly recommend the devilled kidneys. Worth asking for a table in the back restaurant part.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 266 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Met up with old friends and what a place to do so. Superb, friendly service and excellent food and wine. We enjoyed a very relaxed and lazy saturday afternoon which stretched from 1pm to about 6.30pm. Never hassled, left to enjoy the table and surroundings as long as we wanted and we never felt that we needed to move

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benandsally2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently stayed at The Swan for a wedding and I was a little dubious about not staying in a proper fancy hotel; however, it was absolutely fantastic!

We stayed in the Family Room, although there were just the two of us. It was MASSIVE with two king sized beds pushed together, a huge leather sofa and literally the biggest TV I have ever seen. I was in heaven! The beds were comfortable, the rooms were well decorated so they were modern but still had character and the shower was hot with great water pressure.

We also had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was of an incredibly high standard (and as a professional restaurant reviewer by trade, I should know!). It was also very well priced, both in terms of the rooms and the food.

The service was also very good. My partner was the best man at the wedding and had forgotten his speech. I called down to ask if they could print it off for me and within 10 minutes they had printed it off, put it into a nice envelope and hand-delivered it to my room.

This hotel is of a standard of some of the 5 star hotels we have visited. We have very high standards and couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: The family room for a couple may sound extravagant but it's really worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyAngelHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had lunch for five adults on Saturday 9th March 2013. Nice ambience and friendly staff. We had a variety of starters, main courses, and desserts. The service was good, and the food was delicious; the desserts were exceptional! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rick-1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were driving home from visiting our family in Ash and were later than we had anticipated so decided to stop for a meal. We passed several places and just by chance stopped here. It was a really foul night, cold and wet. When we entered the pub there was a very welcoming open fire burning. We were quickly seated and brought menus. we ordered a bottle of wine and were bought water as a matter of course. The menu was varied and we ordered starters and main courses. I had goats cheese mouse with beetroot and it was delicious. My husband had terrine with soda bread. We both ordered pork chops for our mains. Both of our meals were delicious, the pork being very tender and moist which can be a challenge with pork. I had treacle tart with clotted cream for dessert and my husband chocolate bread and butter pudding, they were also excellent. The atmosphere in the pub was very good and the staff very attentive. We had a very good meal and will certainly be stopping again as we travel this route several times a month.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The interiors are really wonderful both in the public areas and our room. Fresh flowers artfully arranged in the entrance, beautiful mirrors, restful colours, fire places with blazing fires - it couldn't be more welcoming visually Our room was also tastefully decorated, immaculately clean and luxuriously comfortable. The only negative comment I can make is that there is some traffic noise as the inn is close to the main road but during most of the night the traffic was light but it did begin again rather early.

I was most impressed with the food. The menu was interesting and every thing we ate was absolutely delicious. Somehow I didn't expect to find such great food in a country inn. The wine list is good and well chosen plus they add little extras that are so nice such as an Italian biscuit on the saucer with your coffee.

I would recommend this as a delightful weekend get-away or a stop over on your journey to the south coast.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venetia020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having had a enjoyable dinner on our way home before we thought it would be nice to take up the special offer of an Bed Breakfast and a evening meal for £125.00, we were made most welcome from the minute we arrived and shown to our room which was at the back of the Inn which meant we were not disturbed by any traffic noise, the room itself is decorated to a high standard and we found it very relaxing.
The Dinner choice was a little limited as it was a Sunday there was two roasts on the menu, but everything was cooked and prepared to a high standard and was delicious, we were the only guests staying overnight for breakfast even so the choice made ready for us in the morning was excellent, I would have no hesitation in giving the Swan Inn 5 *****

Room Tip: Request Room at the back of the property if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
2.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,096 reviews
7.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 6 in Chiddingfold
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Winning Post
The Winning Post
#1 of 1 in Winkfield
189 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#2 of 7 in Haslemere
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn Chiddingfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn Chiddingfold

Address: Petworth Road, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range: $100 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Inn Chiddingfold 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Swan Inn Chiddingfold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold Hotel Chiddingfold
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing