We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but don't expect a country pub”
Review of The Mulberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mulberry Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Since The Ram's Nest reopened as The Mulberry, I've visited often. It used to be on both my and my wife's commute home so we would often stop for a G&T on the road home, always finding the staff welcoming.

Despite, The Mulberry being a bit "Chelsea wine bar", the girls made it feel like a local.

Our commute changed and we've missed this natural stop off. However, we have dined there perhaps 4-6 times a year, including New Years Eves and other "special" occasions. The service is always welcoming and professional; the food always well presented and generally very good.

My only gripe is that The Mulberry is that is doesn't have the "feel" of a country pub. Perhaps it doesn't want / need that feel. Perhaps it's just me that is tired of Chelsea and prefer pubs to bars- serving-olives (rather than pork scratchings). Expect Belgravia prices as well!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 194 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a lovely place!

My partner and I weren't very hungry but the staff accomodated us wonderfully, so for my main I ordered a starter and a side; Twice-cooked Goat's Cheese Souffle with a side of chips. My other half ordered the Quarter of Duck with Potato Rosti and Red cabbage. Both dishes were beautifully cooked and presented. My boyfriend said that his meal was probably the best duck he'd ever had.

The atmosphere was great; we ate relatively early at 6:30 on a Saturday night and it wasn't that busy when we got there, but when we left at 9:00 it had livened up considerably. It was also nice to see that there were people at the bar who had come in for a drink, not just to have a meal.

Overall, not the cheapest end of what we could have paid for a meal out, but the quality of the food made the meal worth the cost.

I would definately recommend, and will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRuntonDinersClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I occasionally like to go out for dinner within 30 mins drive and stay the night as an extended date. We had booked somewhere else, but having read the reviews on trip advisor that the large country house hotel we had booked was often noisy late at night due to weddings and conferences, we changed our mind and looked for a small country pub. Thank goodness we found The Mulberry.

Firstly, the dinner was simply lovely. The welcome was warm, the decor was bright and cheery, the food we ordered was presented beautifully and tasted wonderful.

After dinner we were shown our room, which thankfully was to the side of the pub and ground level rather than above the main drinking and dining area which can often be the case.

The room was tastefully decorated with a mixture of modern and classic furnishings. The bathroom had lovely L'Occitanne toiletries with great water pressure......and the room was very quiet.

After a refreshing night's sleep on a comfortable mattress we opened the blinds at the back of our room and were delighted to see how private the location was. There was no chance the room would be overlooked by anyone.

Because The Mulberry have a small number of rooms we ate most of our breakfast in peace and quiet in the restaurant. The service again in the morning was first class and the breakfast fit for a king.

Having stumbled across The Mulberry, we will be certain to make a return visit for an extended date again soon.

Room Tip: We had Room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelwingsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Sunday lunch was top draw. Catering for all tastes with a reasonably priced wine list and a couple of fine ales. We were able to take the dog in by prior arrangement and sat in a very nice corner table. Desserts excel so worth the effort to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Turned up and they had our booking wrong
Took two hours to serve our meal
Was cold when it arrived
Sent it back, returned cold again
Staff not did not appologise, instead made excuses about being busy
Food that did come out very average considering the price.
Not impressed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

So, when you wait two hours for your food and it comes cold not once but the second time and the reason for this on a Saturday night is - "We are busy !" You know you are in the wrong place. But do not make our mistake -go somewhere else

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited this pub just before Goodwood Revival and were really looking forward to a great meal, knowing the owner loves his grub. It was very quiet so little atmosphere and whilst the decor is appealing (red/green) with little reflected light it made seeing what you were eating somewhat challenging. (We were sat under a wooden ceiling). Not sure that mattered - the prawn starter was overcooked and both of us struggled to get the shells off as they seemed welded on to the flesh! Fish & chip main was quite acceptable, but the duck in honey glaze was pretty tasteless. In fact the whole meal lacked seasoning - even the red cabbage was pretty innocuous. Surprisingly, there was no honey flavour at all - I even wondered if the chef had forgotten it completely. Lots of fish on the menu plus a good choice of steaks, but no lamb and no pork which seemed surprising.The service was good with one very attentive young lady who actually gave us a free pudding - I wonder if it was coming to the end of its life - not great and again lacking in flavour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jag500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
2.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,084 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
#2 of 5 in Chiddingfold
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 5 in Chiddingfold
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mulberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mulberry Inn

Address: Petworth Road, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4SS, England (Formerly The Rams Nest)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range: $90 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving freshly prepared food, sourced locally, made with love. Our inspiration for the food and feel at the Mulberry comes from our strong belief that a pub is somewhere to relax, laugh & spend time with friends, family and four-legged friends*... All whilst enjoying some of the best produce the British country side offers. We welcome diners & drinkers alike with a great selection of old and new world wines & local ales. When the weather allows it you can dine & drink in our beer garden and let the kids play on the play area. When work is required you can log onto our free wifi. And if a party needs to be arranged we will help you from the first idea to getting you in that last taxi home on the night. Over the years we have been lucky to host an amazing array of world class cars, Children In Need charity events & even the odd pop star/diva, but what we really love is to serve all of you who walk through our doors every week and allow us to do what we do best. Which is all of the above! If you haven't been - come. If you've been - we can't wait to see you again! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mulberry Hotel Chiddingfold
The Mulberry Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing