We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on the 23rd November 2012”
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Chiddingfold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were a party of fourteen and the atmosphere was very pleasing, and the service very good. I and several others chose the lamb kebabs which were very disappointing. They arrived at the table cold, and were far from tender, and much was inedible. That said others enjoyed their meals, but I was particularly disappointed as I had asked the waitress specifically about it.
If we had been a smaller party I would have returned it. No compliments to the chef or the house for tough and possibly precooked mutton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank welly54061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 236 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stopped for lunch on 3.11.12. She enjoyed her chicken escalope but I made a bad mistake by deciding to have a cheese ploughmans. It was very disappointing. No butter and very little bread. No apple or picked onion. A rip off! Some people on the enxt table also complained no butter and not enough bread

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight. The whole of the building is beautiful and old, full of charm but really couldn't say it was 5 star quality. The food was good but not exceptional, although it was freshly cooked. Very disappointed with the chips which were the ones that are served at MacDonald's. It was a cold autumnal evening and the fire was alight in the bar and the whole place was kept beatifully and warm. Enjoyed our stay but again couldn't understand the 5 stars awarded.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked this some months in advance for Goodwood...probably their busiest weekend of the year... and it is no surprise to them as this is a recurring annual event and they should be geared up for it (no pun intended !)....instead of overcharging for the rooms for that weekend and reducing their standards.

At the time of booking we were quoted £135 a night....when we checked out, we noticed that we were charged £175 a night. (This turned out to be our fault as they had sent us a confirmation email indicating £175 and we should have checked...fair enough)

The reason that they charge an extra £40 a night on the Goodwood weekend is because they can...it was certainly not because they have to employ more staff....the entire weekend was seriously understaffed and also clearly had very inexperienced staff working during the period....it also wasn't because they were doing early breakfasts from 7am (like every other hotel in the area appears to do) because they knew that all their guests would need to get to Goodwood by 8 or 9 in the morning ( its a good hour+ away on Goodwood days)......they still only served breakfast from 8 am on the Goodwood weekend days....so the extra £40 a night was just because they know they can get away with it.

We arrived at 5:30pm on the Friday and were told that bar snacks were available from 6:30pm onwards...we ordered some wine and some olives to tide us over....had to request the olives on three seperate occasions and eventually got them after almost a half hour wait....at 6:30pm we went to the bar to order some bar snacks to be told that they now weren't doing them...

On the Friday evening we had dinner.....they had run out if wine glasses by the time we sat down at 8am.

On the Saturday morning we had no hot water in the room...apparently we were too early to have a shower !!....they did turn on the boiler and we had to wait for the water to heat up to wash....(keep bearing in mind we are paying £175 a night for this.....although at this time we still thought we were paying £135).

At breakfast, the waiter only managed to remember 3 of the 4 food orders...also any refill teas and coffees had to be requested by the cup... not by a pot on a table.

On the Saturday evening by 8:30pm they had started running out choices on the menu.

The food that we did eat over the weekend overall was of a very high standard...the crab cakes were superb as was the bream as was the boullabaise....the lamb kebabs however were greasy and the sausages very dry....the breakfasts that we did have were top notch, especially the full veggie breakfast.....the two overworked girls that served us Friday and Saturday evenings were genuinely outstanding.

The manager ( who had clearly just put out a cigarette) was not outstanding....when we very politely pointed out these and other issues to him on the Sunday morning, he was not what you would call customer facing and his manner bordered on confrontational.

What a pity the two waitresses were not managing this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed in the Kings Suite for 3 nights over our wedding weekend. The Crown is a historical old building and for that reason certain noises - e.g. plumbing noises etc I guess are to be expected. However, I found the level of noise in this room which is right above the bar and at the front of the pub too loud to sleep - when you are paying for the most expensive room in the place and it is the night before your wedding you certainly want your beauty sleep and sadly I spent most of the night awake. The main complaint I have is that the hotel did nothing to make us feel special. As I said, we had the most expensive room booked for 3 nights for our wedding, we filled up all the other rooms with our guests, who all ate in the restaurant the night before the wedding, we also ate in the restaurant the night after our wedding. You would think the happy couple might at least have been treated to a complimentary celebratory drink - or even a simple 'congratulations' expressed from the staff.. something! But absoloutely nothing was done to make us feel special which was a real shame and on that basis added to the bad nights sleep in the Kings Suite we would not return to celebrate our anniversary here.

Room Tip: If you chose the Kings Room be prepared to pay a lot for a bad nigths sleep. The 2nd best room in T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 397Traveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have been to the Crown a few times and it gets better and better! The staff are attentive but not invasive, the food top notch, and there is a great selection of real ales. The quality is reflected in the price, but it's reasonable, and you get what you pay for. I really look forward to each visit to the Crown and am never disappointed. A1!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrygolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As the Crown is fairly close to where we live, we only use it for a meal ( generally lunch ). On two occasions recently, we have taken other couples, one of whom is fairly recently retired from a senior position in the hotel industry. Both couples agreed with our choice, considered the selection on the lunch menu to be excellent, and the food well prepared and presented ( and fairly priced ). The drinks included a well-known very local beer. We all enjoyed the ambience, but were sorry for the inn that there were not many eating, but it was a Wednesday lunchtime. We shall return.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
5.2 mi away
The Stag on the River
The Stag on the River
#1 of 4 in Godalming
319 reviews
5.9 mi away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#4 of 4 in Godalming
272 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kings Arms and Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
#2 of 6 in Chiddingfold
265 reviews
6 mi away
Bel & The Dragon
Bel & The Dragon
#1 of 2 in Churt
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chiddingfold
Price Range: $127 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing