We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good memories of Islay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laphroaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Excise House
Ranked #1 of 1 Laphroaig B&B and Inns
Samsoe, Denmark
1 review
“Good memories of Islay”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I am a fan and a friend of Laprhoaig and had a great wiish about visiting the distillery. My wife found a B&B on the internet. Without knowing in beforehand, she found the world's best B6B in The Old Excise House on Islay. We stayed there for two wondeerful days and nights and left the island so full of experience and memories of good and friendly people, especially Emma and Ron in the Old Excise House. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
96
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2010

One of the very best experiences we have ever had at a B&B. Ron and Emma were completely committed to making our visit to Islay a memorable experience, and we will remember it most favorably for years to come.

Beautiful accommodations; clean and tastefully done. Breakfasts were tasty and hospitality very warm.

Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psycuestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I hope not to sound like a parrot--all the other reviewers have taken all our comments!
Lovely hosts
Beautiful rooms with gorgeous views--we stayed in the Texa room--best sleep of the trip
Fabulous breakfast--Emma's soda bread was wonderful, all the food was great
I second all the prior comments..........and we hope to come back again.

You cannot go wrong staying here

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We spent three nights at this delightful B and B, a beautifully restored historic building with two rooms ensuite. The Old Excise House is a wonderful base for visiting distilleries, early Christian ruins, and protected bird habitats. Hosts Emma and Ron offer superior hospitality, delicious breakfasts and limitless knowledge of Islay. Our room and luxury bath were well supplied with quality linens, locally-made whisky soap, and a selection of coffee, tea and sweets. From our window, we were transfixed by views of the rocky coast, fields of sheep, and constantly changing weather. Each morning, we were offered fresh berries, homemade granola, scones and muffins with a full Scottish breakfast. We will not forget this wonderful hospitality on the serene Isle of Islay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donegal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Old Excise House for 2 nights and it was delightful. Ron and Emma are gracious hosts, and very knowledgeable about the Island. Breakfast was sumptuous! The location is close to Port Ellen ferry terminal and not far from the airport. We reccommend this B and B to anyone visiting Islay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professors50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed in the Old Excise House for 3 nights (11th -13th Sept) and what a lovely place to spend our few days on Islay.

From the moment we pulled into Ron and Emma's drive, we were made to feel extremely welcome.

Their home is beautifully, and very tastefully decorated. There are two guest bedrooms and a shared guest living room where breakfast is served. The views from the bedrooms and the living room are stunning - it is very relaxing looking out to sea in the morning while having breakfast.

We changed rooms part way through our stay (our choice due to availability when we booked) so we can comment on both of the available rooms.

The first room we stayed in was the room with the shower. I loved this bathroom so much i wished we could have taken it home with us. The bed was VERY comfortable and the views from this room are awesome.

The second bedroom is the one with the extremely inviting freestanding bath. This bedroom was a little bigger than the room with the shower and the bathroom was massive. This bed was also extremely comfortable. Both rooms were immaculate.

Emma and Ron have not cut any corners when renovating the side of the house they have been using as a B&B since April. All of the fixtures, fittings, furniture and well, everything, is of extremely good quality. In the rooms it was so nice to have a couple of home made biscuits (made by Emma) and a little chocolate by our bedside each day as well as having locally made whisky soaps, handwash and shower gel in the rooms.

We could not fault this B&B - it exceeded our expectations by a long way, as not only were the rooms beautiful and relaxing, but the service offered by Emma and Ron was second to none. So much of the food is either home made and locally sourced. Emma and Ron had made bread, compote, muffins and granola and offered locally made/sourced sausages, bacon, eggs, smoked salmon and black pudding which made our stay even more special.

We felt £45 per person per night was money well spent and is without doubt the best B&B we have stayed in. It has the added bonus of being within walking distance of the Laphroaig distillery :)

I can recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Islay - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

Thank you Ron and Emma!!!

from Lisa and Hamish

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worcester2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I did not think I could ever be stirred into doing a Review but the planning and effort Ron and Emma have clearly put into getting everything just right has got me going. Accommodation and food were faultless and their naturalness and hospitality skills very much enhanced out stay Add to that the marvellous, tranquil location, with all the joys of Islay but a short drive. Was there two days but could have done a week. Go on spoil yourself, you deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laphroaig
11.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
27 reviews
11.3 mi away
Port Charlotte Hotel
Port Charlotte Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Charlotte
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Glenegedale Guest House
Glenegedale Guest House
#1 of 1 in Glenegedale
518 reviews
11.1 mi away
Skerrols House
Skerrols House
#1 of 7 in Bridgend
128 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lochside Hotel
Lochside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowmore
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Excise House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Excise House

Property: The Old Excise House
Address: Laphroaig PA42 7DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Laphroaig
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laphroaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation in former Excise Officers house for Laphroaig distillery, on the beautiful Hebridean Isle of Islay. Warm welcome, quality en-suite accommodation with fantastic sea views and good local food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing