We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laphroaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Excise House
Ranked #1 of 1 Laphroaig B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I did not think I could ever be stirred into doing a Review but the planning and effort Ron and Emma have clearly put into getting everything just right has got me going. Accommodation and food were faultless and their naturalness and hospitality skills very much enhanced out stay Add to that the marvellous, tranquil location, with all the joys of Islay but a short drive. Was there two days but could have done a week. Go on spoil yourself, you deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norfolkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
97
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Just outside Port Ellen on the beatiful island of Islay , Ron and Emma welcomed us into their home. Self contained B&B accommodation on the first floor of this lovely old house comprises a breakfast/sitting room. Bedroom and ensuite all freshly decorated with modern bathroom fittings and luxurious bedroom. Delicious breakfast with local produce, fresh fruits, home made granola especially tasty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerr_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We spent 5 nights on Islay and stayed at The Old Excise House. Islay is a beautiful island and this B&B is first class. Emma and Ron are the perfect hosts. The breakfasts are fantastic with homemade muffins, gronola and plum compote not to mention the locally produced sausage, kippers and free range eggs. The Old Excise House is immaculate and fresh with it's beautifully white fluffy towels and Egyptian cotton bed sheets.
Eating out is a bit of a challenge although the Lochside Hotel in Bowmore is good value for money. The curry house in Port Ellen was a bit disappointing - not exactly spicy, more tomato like!
My husband had a golf lesson with Ron who's also a PGA golf pro as well as a fantastic host.
Good luck to both of you for the future. We'll definitely be back to visit Islay and The Old Excise House.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_and_David_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband I spent 5 days on an unique small whisky island - Islay. On a small island with a small population of 3500, there are 8 world-class whiskey distilleries. Do the math - there are 1 whisky distillery per 437.5 persons. I don't think there are any other places on earth are as unique as Islay. Especially when the sun is shining, Islay is absloutely gorgeous. We have seen the most beautiful sun set and sandy beach we have ever been to!
Speaking of the place we stayed, we stayed in a modernly renovated old house owned by an English couple, Ron and Emma.
Centrally located in Port Ellen, the old excise house is immaculate, clean and fresh. If you like the mix of new and old renovation, you will love this place. The house was built in 19th Century and it maintains its excellent condition.
We have had a fabulous stay. We're very impressed with Emma's cooking and the breakfast menu is wonderful! The scrumptious breakfast is better than any 5-star hotels I have tried, and it surely the best thing you can have to start the day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacLeanVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thropton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

What a wonderful couple of nights on Islay, a very special island made even more special by our stay at the Old Excise House. A tastefully furnished home from home where the attention to detail could not be faulted. Emma and Ron were the perfect hosts - and Emma's breakfasts were simply superb, she made a plum compote for breakfast on our second morning which was gorgeous. While on the island a must is the premium tasting session at Laphroaig where you will sample £250 and a £500 per bottle single malts - I loved the £500 30 year old but my wife wouldn't let me have one!
Avoid the curry house in Port Ellen unless you've had a few drinks beforehand - it's not the best.
Eating out on Islay can be a bit of a challenge, however we found the Lochside Hotel in Bowmore to be very good value for money and more importantly good food.
Will definately be back to Islay and The Old Excise House will be our first choice B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

this is all round the best b & b we have ever stayed in clean white linen on bed and good sleep soft white towels in bathroom we stayed 4 nights Ron and Emma are 1st class hosts cant do enough for you fresh milk in room home made biscuits in room and breakfast was 5 star never had such a good breakfast emma makes her own granola which was very good and muffins to die for I cant praise them enough and wish them every success with their b & b gavin and isabel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTandIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed with Emma and Ron at the Old Excise House for three nights - and we enjoyed every second! Thank you both for this wonderful time, your friendliness and hospitality. We really appreciated the delicious breakfast, especially the home made granola and the kipper!!!
Ron, your hints are better than any travel guide could be ;-)

Andrea & Jochen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen_Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laphroaig
11.2 mi away
Islay House
Islay House
#2 of 2 in Bridgend
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
385 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Bowmore House
The Bowmore House
#1 of 13 in Bowmore
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No.1 Charlotte Street
No.1 Charlotte Street
#16 of 17 in Port Ellen
14 reviews
8.9 mi away
Dha Urlar Bed and Breakfast
22.1 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Excise House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Excise House

Property: The Old Excise House
Address: Laphroaig PA42 7DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Islay > Laphroaig
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laphroaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation in former Excise Officers house for Laphroaig distillery, on the beautiful Hebridean Isle of Islay. Warm welcome, quality en-suite accommodation with fantastic sea views and good local food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing