We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Back to Nature”
other travelers have booked this property
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Morning coffee time at dockside fire pit area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Newly extended dock providing best view over the lake.
Morning coffee time at dockside
fire pit area
3rd bedroom with view of lake
New pullout sofa providing comfort sitting and extra bedding needs.
2nd bedroom with bunker beds
caught fish right off the dock
front view (left wing is the guest suite)
kayaking under the sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kearney, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lori T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Back to Nature”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely week. The grounds, lake views and even the scent of the trees the call of the loons were very relaxing. I was very impressed with the apartment it was clean and fresh. We are a family of 4 (2 teens) with a dog and had enough room to stretch and find our own space. The kitchen was fully equipped and very clean, ceiling fans and portable fans were more than enough to cool us. We spent a lot of time on the dock and water. It was warm and clean however the depths of the lake vary so life jackets were on hand as it dropped suddenly. My only issue was there were many steps going down to the dock that if mobility was an issue it would be difficult to use. We brought our own boat and enjoyed the lake daily. Better do your groceries at home or in Huntsville the town of Kearney very small. We did do day trips into Burke Falls, Huntsville and explored Brook Falls and Screaming Heads of Midlothian.
Must be beautiful in the fall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall nice place peaceful and quiet
Liked least: The futon unfortunately was very uncomfortable may be time to replace the cusion.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen T
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, looking over lake. Mornings and evenings were a delight.”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our first evening was idyllic: sitting on the dock watching the sun set over the lake - beautiful. It was the outside space that set this place apart. We had the run of the lakeside garden and, in particular, there were three decked seating areas overlooking the lake. Access to a barbecue was welcome, as was use of the canoe - you don't get this at most places and this is why we chose this accommodation. We used the BBQ several times and had a great time paddling out on the lake.
Susan was a delight when we arrived straight from the airport. We had no food, as there had been no opportunity for shopping, so she went out to see what she could get for us - this was customer care above & beyond the call of duty. Her provisions (no charge!) saw us through to the next day.
The apartment itself was spacious and secluded - you could have walked around undressed because the only view of it was from the lake. If you want a relaxing, bucolic, secluded place then look no further.
The accommodation was fairly basic and wasn't stylish (fridge and water cooler in the lounge were odd) or modern but was clean and functional. However, for most people, I guess that the accommodation is of little importance other than a place to sleep - it's all about the outdoors here. Unfortunately heavy rain meant we were trapped indoors for a day and a half, resulting in us discovering that the settee was less than comfortable.
A lot of thought had been put into what was provided. This would be excellent for families because the was a range of games available, along with guides and info on the area.
Frankly there is little in the surrounding area other than more lakes. Kearney seems to be the town that time forgot and we struggled to find somewhere open, even in July. We had planned to have our breakfast there the first morning and, having just landed, do some shopping. No way - we had to drive back to Huntsville to find somewhere open. We tried one of the local bars but found ourselves the only people in there. Kearney is not so much sleepy as catatonic!
After busy months at work and a long flight, this was exactly the peace and relaxation we needed. It was perfect for our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on lakeside
Liked least: Uncomfortable settee; cramped bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samiraabb...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The view is breathtaking. Of all our options, we couldnt have picked a better home away from home.”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had never experienced scenery quite like this. The formula of Sand Lake being one of the largest in Ontario combined with the sensational apartment style cottage literally elevated our cottage experience. Often we would interrupt each other mid sentence just to point outside to the lake, the island in the distance (accessible by boat) or stars. Susan is very sweet and made herself available to any questions or queries we had mid stay. Discovering little gems like a 4 seater paddle boat with sun canopy really separated this place from others. We relished the cozy areas like the bbq patio spot and the what we call the breakfast nook just one level above the dock. A slice of Heaven that stays with us long afterwards. Thank you Susan, from a very happy couple!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our honeymoon ”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Muskoka wolf this past weekend for our honeymoon and could not have been happier, the view from the two bedroom suite were spectacular, and the views from the dock were even better. The owner was amazing and even had a little surprise ready for us when we got there. I will be staying again and again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E
1 review
“Very Beautiful Spot.”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a good week at this rental. It was a good location to go on day trips to Huntsville, Bala to the Cranberry bog, and to find hidden water falls and rapids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney...
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Gorgeous Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The owners were so great to us! Always there to help and assist us! I cannot wait to go in the summer to swim and take a ride on the boat!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you and your guests enjoyed your stay in the spring. Of course the summer is best time and there are so much to do. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptJackP
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great all around experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This lakefront rental was absolutely amazing! The owners Susan and Eric where great hosts and really made our stay extra special. Eric really went above and beyond to help us with fishing,renting an extra canoe,and anything else we needed. We had all the comforts and privacy of having our own place but also the option of having someone available if we needed anything. This was a great vacation and the price was also very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing