We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Morning coffee time at dockside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning coffee time at dockside
fire pit area 2nd bedroom with bunker beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Morning coffee time at dockside
fire pit area
2nd bedroom with bunker beds
3rd bedroom with view of lake
New pullout sofa providing comfort sitting and extra bedding needs.
caught fish right off the dock
gorgeous sunset
front view (left wing is the guest suite)
Beautiful sand lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kearney, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Courtney...
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Gorgeous Location”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The owners were so great to us! Always there to help and assist us! I cannot wait to go in the summer to swim and take a ride on the boat!

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you and your guests enjoyed your stay in the spring. Of course the summer is best time and there are so much to do. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptJackP
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great all around experience”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This lakefront rental was absolutely amazing! The owners Susan and Eric where great hosts and really made our stay extra special. Eric really went above and beyond to help us with fishing,renting an extra canoe,and anything else we needed. We had all the comforts and privacy of having our own place but also the option of having someone available if we needed anything. This was a great vacation and the price was also very reasonable. We will definitely stay here again!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
800valeri...
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
“Great location but getting run down..would not return.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Not everything was as advertised....Dock had broken and was not repaired so swimming was difficult...broken window which would not close and broken sliding door which continued to come off tracks. Hot tub not working and unavailable....many things in property were starting to show wear. New owners not keeping up the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for taking time to write the review. We have explained to you the things were in the process of repair such as part of the dock was damaged by the winter, and it was removed. yes, the water level may be shallow at the time of your stay. but the previous guests were able to swim off the existing dock.

The hot tub temperature is not as high as we wish,etc. Prior to your arrival (on your tour around the property), we pointed out those issues to you.However you were happy to see the rest of the property is up to and beyond your expectation and you told us during and after your stay that you had a great week. I wish you would review the property in a more balanced approach, such as you have used the fire pit to conduct a late night concert, it seems that your guests(registered or unregistered ) were having a good time. and we had bought a new fridge and beverage fridge to suite your large group. However, we appreciate your input and we're in the process of bringing this property to the better shape. the hot tub is running and current guests are using it now.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrkyfuyt
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Owners Were Terrific. They Gave Us Tonnes Of Privacy Yet Were Accessible If Needed. We Like To Cook And While The Kitchen Didn't Have Everything We Needed But Was Good Enough For What We Were Looking For. The Place Was Really Clean And The Lake Was Terrific.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Susan was fantastic. She communicated with me a number of times before, during and after the actual stay. The communication was timely and informative. They were very accommodating with everything. The rental is VERY reasonably priced.

I went with my sister. This vacation rental is a part of the house, however it has a private entrance. You would never know you were staying at someone's house. I never saw Susan or Eric until I had questions and then Eric was over right away when needed. The deck and yard is very private (and gorgeous). There is a canoe to use if you want. There is a private deck off the living room area. There is a covered and another uncovered deck area near the lake so if you want sun you can get that and if you want shade you can also have that. Fire pit with wood if you are interested. Eric was great about explaining everything to us.

Everything in the apartment is provided for you. Kitchen is well stocked with microwave, coffee pot, dishes, cooking utensils. Bathroom has blow dryer, towels etc. There were even little shampoo and lotion as if we were at a hotel. We were provided linens but I think that was bc we were from the US. Table and chairs for 4 along with some extra chairs to sit on in the living room.

There are two bedrooms. One bedroom has a queen bed. The other bedroom has a bunk with full size bed and twin on top. Plenty of closet and drawer space to unpack and store your clothing. Living has a futon that folds down. Satellite TV with very limited channels. Bring a HDMI or USB cord if you want to watch TV from your devices. It was rainy and cold a couple of the days so we ended up inside and watched some TV. The wifi was always on and sufficient for our needs.

The only downside to the place was that the furniture (futon, kitchen and living room chairs) was not comfortable. Eric and Susan are very down to earth. You will certainly enjoy their hospitality.

If you want to enjoy Algonquin Park it is a day trip away- along with a number of other "touristy areas". You will not find a more reasonably priced (and beautiful) place to stay in this area. You will want to grab groceries before you get to Kearney as there isn't much there. The restaurant in town is closed Mon/Tues as are most of the businesses. There is a great restaurant located nearby at a resort (see my review) Edgewater Park Lodge. I will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude and Beauty
Liked least: Uncomfortable Furniture
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Shelia, Thank you so much for the nice comments and detailed description of our rental property. You and your sister are great guests and so polite and accommodating as well. We appreciate your taking time to write the review and thank you for letting other travellers to know about your experience and what to do/not to do (i.e. groceries and restaurants), and you're right the chairs in the living room are not quite comfortable for sitting long time. they were wicked outdoor chairs. However, we did add new cushioned chairs lately, it certainly addressed your comments.

I, myself, use Trip Advisor Reviews looking for accommodations and travel tips and it truly helps others to make better choice and make their travel more pleasant. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

There was 3 couples that stayed in this rental for the week. To sum it all up it was absolutely beautiful!! We were looking for a nice place with a good yard, a dock to swim off and in close proximity to Algonqiun park! We love adventuring outdoors and having fun! This property was perfect in all aspects! The rental it self was the perfect size for what we needed, filled with all appliances needed for a week stay. The hosts Eric and Susan were excellent to say the least, they were kind and very helpful. They respected your privacy and were available to answer any questions when needed. One thing we really enjoyed was how close this place was to Algonquin, one night during our trip we decided to drive into Algonquin and then go Portaging for 2 days. Eric had no problem at all with us leaving for that span of time and we felt comfortable leaving our stuff behind. The view from the rental were one of our favourite parts! A breath taking scene you dont want to miss! and yes you can swim to the island you see in the middle of the water, we did anyways! I would recommend staying here to anyone who wanted to visit the area and I would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dock and breathtaking views!
Liked least: all the stairs to the dock! haha
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was a great place to spend a few days”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was a great view of the lake and the hills across the lake. The trees were just over their full fall colors at this time due to a rain storm a few days before. That was to bad!! It was Nice and quiet at the time we were
there. Our son enjoyed his fishing experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing