We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travelers have booked this property
long shoreline provides   absolute privacy and peacefulness
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
long shoreline provides   absolute privacy and peacefulness
front view (left wing is the guest suite) fire pit area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
long shoreline provides   absolute privacy and peacefulness
front view (left wing is the guest suite)
fire pit area
3rd bedroom with view of the lake
New pullout sofa providing comfort sitting and extra bedding needs.
2nd bedroom with bunker beds
caught fish right off the dock
cozy dockside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kearney, Northeastern Ontario, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sweetrevi...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Susan was fantastic. She communicated with me a number of times before, during and after the actual stay. The communication was timely and informative. They were very accommodating with everything. The rental is VERY reasonably priced.

I went with my sister. This vacation rental is a part of the house, however it has a private entrance. You would never know you were staying at someone's house. I never saw Susan or Eric until I had questions and then Eric was over right away when needed. The deck and yard is very private (and gorgeous). There is a canoe to use if you want. There is a private deck off the living room area. There is a covered and another uncovered deck area near the lake so if you want sun you can get that and if you want shade you can also have that. Fire pit with wood if you are interested. Eric was great about explaining everything to us.

Everything in the apartment is provided for you. Kitchen is well stocked with microwave, coffee pot, dishes, cooking utensils. Bathroom has blow dryer, towels etc. There were even little shampoo and lotion as if we were at a hotel. We were provided linens but I think that was bc we were from the US. Table and chairs for 4 along with some extra chairs to sit on in the living room.

There are two bedrooms. One bedroom has a queen bed. The other bedroom has a bunk with full size bed and twin on top. Plenty of closet and drawer space to unpack and store your clothing. Living has a futon that folds down. Satellite TV with very limited channels. Bring a HDMI or USB cord if you want to watch TV from your devices. It was rainy and cold a couple of the days so we ended up inside and watched some TV. The wifi was always on and sufficient for our needs.

The only downside to the place was that the furniture (futon, kitchen and living room chairs) was not comfortable. Eric and Susan are very down to earth. You will certainly enjoy their hospitality.

If you want to enjoy Algonquin Park it is a day trip away- along with a number of other "touristy areas". You will not find a more reasonably priced (and beautiful) place to stay in this area. You will want to grab groceries before you get to Kearney as there isn't much there. The restaurant in town is closed Mon/Tues as are most of the businesses. There is a great restaurant located nearby at a resort (see my review) Edgewater Park Lodge. I will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude and Beauty
Liked least: Uncomfortable Furniture
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Shelia, Thank you so much for the nice comments and detailed description of our rental property. You and your sister are great guests and so polite and accommodating as well. We appreciate your taking time to write the review and thank you for letting other travellers to know about your experience and what to do/not to do (i.e. groceries and restaurants), and you're right the chairs in the living room are not quite comfortable for sitting long time. they were wicked outdoor chairs. However, we did add new cushioned chairs lately, it certainly addressed your comments.

I, myself, use Trip Advisor Reviews looking for accommodations and travel tips and it truly helps others to make better choice and make their travel more pleasant. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April D
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

There was 3 couples that stayed in this rental for the week. To sum it all up it was absolutely beautiful!! We were looking for a nice place with a good yard, a dock to swim off and in close proximity to Algonqiun park! We love adventuring outdoors and having fun! This property was perfect in all aspects! The rental it self was the perfect size for what we needed, filled with all appliances needed for a week stay. The hosts Eric and Susan were excellent to say the least, they were kind and very helpful. They respected your privacy and were available to answer any questions when needed. One thing we really enjoyed was how close this place was to Algonquin, one night during our trip we decided to drive into Algonquin and then go Portaging for 2 days. Eric had no problem at all with us leaving for that span of time and we felt comfortable leaving our stuff behind. The view from the rental were one of our favourite parts! A breath taking scene you dont want to miss! and yes you can swim to the island you see in the middle of the water, we did anyways! I would recommend staying here to anyone who wanted to visit the area and I would definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dock and breathtaking views!
Liked least: all the stairs to the dock! haha
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was a great place to spend a few days”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Was a great view of the lake and the hills across the lake. The trees were just over their full fall colors at this time due to a rain storm a few days before. That was to bad!! It was Nice and quiet at the time we were
there. Our son enjoyed his fishing experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veiga2014
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a view!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just want to say my new hosband and I couldnt have picked a more beautiful place for our honeymoon! Everything went so well! We will be back to this location! The owners were exceptiinally nice and we had a blast! There is a new picture on every deck, and the sunsets are fantastic! Thank you so much it truely was a pleasure to stay in this loft!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A vacation spot you don't want to miss out on!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked last minute and have not regretted our decision! This spot gave our family a quiet get-away to enjoy spending time together. Eric was a great host - always made sure we were taken care of and gave us the privacy to enjoy his property and all it has to offer. We were especially impressed with how good he was to our boys. Always listened to their stories and spoiled them with fishing from his boat! We don't have enough good things to say about this place and hope to enjoy it again next year!!
Thanks Eric and Susan!!
Greg and Amanda

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was breath taking!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing