We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your initial impression; it is much better than it appears”
Review of The Jampot

The Jampot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leelanau County, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hold your initial impression; it is much better than it appears”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

One of the other guests staying at the same B&B summed it up best for this review. First and second impressions are deceptive. The Jampot building is small and unassuming. The interior is cramped, the goods simply stacked, and the grey bearded monk/cashier seems out of place in a retail space. But once you taste the muffins (made with "monk love" per my best friend's wife), butter caramels, variety of fruitcakes, or usual/unusual jams and jellies (thimbleberry anyone?), and other baked goods, you realize that you have stumbled upon some place special. Add to that the grey-bearded monk's smile and sense of humor, or walk down the road to view Jacob's Falls, and you will understand why you traveled to such an unassuming building.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank birchpointmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    22
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have been to the Jampot. We discovered this place by accident in 2010 when we were doing the Lake Superior circle tour. We loved their baking then and we still love this baking now. The lemon pound cake, the cookies are to die. They are definitely worth their price. I wish we lived closer so I could pick up their baking more often. I know they have an online site that you can order baking from but the experience of visiting their shop and Jacob's Falls which is right beside it is worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LPMCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When I cone to visit my son and family here in the upper peninsula we always have to make a trip to the JamPot. Have to stock up on their wonderful jams and jellys.,. they also have wonderful bake goods. All are made buy the monks right there in this quaint little building.The monistary is also worth seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't stop hungry.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

If you have a sweet tooth this place is for you. Large variety of jams and bakery items. The brothers just add to the charm. Ask about the hiking trail they have. A little hard to find but worth the trouble.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Yummy Foods!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are in Copper Harbor, the visit isn't complete without a stop at The Jampot for some yummy treats. Everything is made on site by the monks that live in the nearby monastery. The jams are the best - we also picked up a dozen muffins that were so delicious. Worth the detour off the main road.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jampot also viewed

Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Eagle Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Jampot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing