We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Retreat”
Review of Hotel E Ordono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel E Ordono
Ranked #1 of 8 Gibara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Ordono in December and fell in love with the Gibara and it's finest accommodation the Ordono. We booked as part of an overnight excursion from our resort and arrived by catamaran. We were greeted with moist towels, a drink and a live band. Promptly we were assigned rooms then each was escorted to our rooms by different porters. Magnificent 5m high ceilings painted decoratively by hand, were illuminated from our 3m high windows which overlooked the city. Our king size bed was comfortable and the furniture brand new. Our particular room was graced with very grand decorated columns.

The most stunning part of the hotel's construction is it's rooftop terrace with lookout. Where one can see breathtaking vistas in every direction, or cast your eyes to the street and watch as the local people go about their day. The roof top bar included four local musicians who did their best to encourage us to dance. While on the roof one can just imagine the extent of the love original owner Don Felipe had for his wife Isabel. Ask anyone in the hotel and they will gladly share the story of the couple, and ask Maylet (who does the public relations for the hotel) to see the couples'suite which I includes a fresco painted in 1927.

The food In the restaurant was delicious and was served by attentive staff. Being in the hotel reminded me of being on a luxury cruise ship because there were so many staff working and waiting attentively to serve us. My shrimp stuffed Dorado was made especially tastier as I had an opportunity to catch one of these colourful fish that afternoon on the catamaran.

Gibara is the only city, other than Havana which was fortified by the Spanish. It is where Christopher Columbus landed and it is full of beautiful hard-working and intelligent people. A visit to Gibara is a must for anyone visiting Holguin and there is no finer place to stay in Gibara than the hotel Ordono. It is just a few steps from the church, museum, film festival and port.

Room Tip: Ask for a third story room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel E Ordono
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an opportunity to see newly renovated Spanish Colonial home, converted into a wonderful hotel, where almost all rooms have a balcony overlooking the town and very high ceilings that are all decorated differently. The service is wonderful and the food very good. While twice the price of private home stays (casas particulars), it is well worth the money for the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APhilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We travelled independently to Ordono and were greeted with a warm welcome from the wonderful staff team at Ordono. This lovingly restored majestic hotel oozes charm and elegance and is undoubtedly the jewel of Gibara.

Ordono has 24 spacious rooms & three suites- all ceilings differently but beautifully decorated:- On the ground floor, Felipe & Isabel junior suite with king size bed, also 1 x mini suite (twin bedded room)

On the mezzanine level there are 10 standard rooms (3 rooms with king size beds and 7 with twin beds)

On the 2nd level there are 14 standard rooms and one suite - 7 rooms have king size beds (including the suite room) and 8 are twin bedded rooms.

Each room has quiet & effective remote-controlled air-conditioning; minibar, flat screen TV, a large modern bathroom, some with walk-in power shower (fabulously powerful and spacious), some have power shower over bath. Bath robes and toiletries are also supplied. All rooms are tastefully decorated & boast beautiful views overlooking city streets & rooftops and the beautiful tranquil Bay of Gibara.

The downstairs lobby area, restaurant and Bar Don Felipe are complimented by sunlight from the many doors & windows which open directly onto the street giving the areas a nice natural "airy" and "open" feel to them whilst also contributing to the many eco conscious attributes of this hotel.

From the Hotel’s roof top Terrace & Bar, Guests can enjoy the panoramic views of the city of Gibara and its surrounding areas which Christopher Columbus called Rio de Mares; as well as its gorgeous coastline and hills that line the unique Silla de Gibara (Gibara saddle).
In addition; sun loungers adorn the roof terrace & Ordono clients will benefit from the addition of two roof top Jacuzzi's during 2014 making Ordono the perfect place to relax and unwind on hot, sunny, lazy days in beautiful Gibara.
Early evening time on the rooftop terrace can be a great place to relax, drink in hand; and watch everyday Gibara life pass you by whilst enjoying the last of the days sun and being delicately fanned by the cool ocean breezes. Post dinner, the evening can come alive with the local musicians peeling out their tunes.

During our stay we ate dinner, breakfast and lunch at Ordono and found the food, presentation and service to be of a very high standard. Staff are most accommodating and are happy to go the extra mile for you, nothing is too much trouble and we enjoyed the fun and banter we shared with many of the staff... Ordono has an excellent team who exude pride in their work & their beautiful colonial hotel. We enjoyed a most comfortable & welcoming stay and will definitely return to Ordono and Gibara at some point in the future.

Although we travelled independently to Gibara; the main Holguin/Guardalavaca tourist hotels offer an overnight excursion to Gibara & Hotel Ordono which represents extremely good value for money; whichever way you decide to go to Ordono and Gibara I know you will have a wonderful time.

Sadly; much of Gibara is clearly still trying to recover from the effects of the severe devastation it suffered when hurricane Ike practically erased this quaint little town from Cuba's map in 2008; Tourism is needed to help bring this beautiful little fishing town back to its former glory and to improve life for its people; Ordono is the first step in that direction, many plans are in place for improvements to "entice" tourists back to Gibara; work on the re-opening of the old railway that serviced this main port until 1958 is hoped to start soon along with other "tourism" projects; but despite this; Gibara remains a small & intimate place with quaint little plazas & crumbling Spanish colonial ruins mixed with some great colonial architecture, open porches and stained glass windows, all dating from early 19th century; not forgetting the malecon & the beautiful postcard views of the bay & the saddle shaped Silla de Gibara; the mountain that captivated Christopher Columbus in 1492.

more info & pictures can be found here:- www.Ordono.beep.com

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoonyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ordono, which opened its doors earlier this year, as part of the relatively new overnight excursion offered to Gibara. The first impression upon entering the lobby is how lovingly this old colonial manse has been restored. The main floor used to be the trading area and the Ordono family lived on the second and third floors. To the right of the reception area is a cozy lobby bar. To the left of the open concept main floor with its lofty ceilings is a comfortable and airy seating area with refinished colonial doors in the rear that open to the street, letting in the sunshine and a gentle breeze. Beyond that is the restaurant – with a small fountain which is a nice added water feature. Public bathrooms are also located on the main level.

After the formality of check–in (passports are required), we were shown to our room on the second floor. The ceilings were of a standard height with twin beds and a curtained glass door overlooking the dining room. We asked to be moved, if this was possible, as we preferred more light and a higher ceiling. No problem – we were immediately relocated to a room with a 12 foot ceiling on the third floor. The décor is very soothing with comfortable twin beds, a large armoire for storage (with a digital safe), a mini fridge and a spacious tiled bathroom with all the amenities. It should be noted that there wasn’t any bottled water provided in our room and that the little step up to the bathroom is a real tripper. Both my partner and I tripped and stubbed our toes since the step is not of a standard height. Just something to be aware of.

Our mini fridge was empty, but we understand there is a mini-bar option available at an extra charge and the lack thereof may have been because we were relocated. The hotel also has beautiful and spacious suites with king size beds on the third floor with expansive operational windows which we had the opportunity to see.

When we returned downstairs – we could still hear the music from the fourth floor terrace. It was quite loud but intended to be welcoming. Since we wanted to enjoy the tranquility of Gibara we went around the corner to our favourite Casa (Los Hermanos) for a quiet drink in the courtyard.

We returned to the hotel in time for dinner – which is included (salad, soup and a choice of pork, chicken or fish along with one beer or a soft drink as well as desert). The food was good – the presentation excellent and the service impeccable. The hotel also offers a Spanish white or red wine (at an extra charge) for lunch or dinner. I had the white and it was good.

Breakfast is also included – excellent coffee – fresh fruit, eggs, etc. Again, wonderful service and food presentation. Lunch (the same scenario as dinner) is also included as part of the package.

The roof top terrace affords a beautiful view over the fishing village although there is very little shade. The boutique hotel with only 27 rooms does not have any elevators so that might be a problem for the physically challenged. People who suffer from vertigo could find the third & fourth- floor terrace challenging – since it is an open concept from the corridors to the lobby. For those who are not afflicted with this phobia it is a fabulous view.

Every member of the staff, but especially Maylet, the woman who handles public relations for the hotel, goes the extra mile for their guests.

Although this is so different from staying at a casa or eating at a paladar in Gibara – it was an overnight in a very relaxing and intimate hotel which is only a block away from the sea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conchesdojump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here via a Thomas Cook overnight excursion.We arrived at the harbour by way of a catamarran and were met by a member of staff from the hotel. This was very much appreciated as with the people selling trinkets and with the narrow, dusty streets of Gibara the place did seem to have an air of " Pirates of the Caribbean" about it.
As he escorted us we discovered that there was a local Carnival taking place with lots of noise and colour. After a 5-10 mins walk we arrived at the most beautifully restored building. The staff were all in reception to greet us with a cooling drink and after showing our passports we were taken to our rooms. The air con was wonderful and very powerful which was great, the room was large and bathroom very good with a great shower. Although it is situated right in the middle of town and the corridors are open to the reception area, once the heavy wooden door was closed it was very peaceful and we enjoyed a great night's sleep.

However before all this the guide who accompanied us asked if we would like to visit the Carnival and mingle with the locals.A group of about 9 of us thought this sounded interesting and after a delicious dinner with impeccable service we set off. We saw lots of different foods being cooked, people dancing and enjoying themselves before we entered a "theatre" (2 cuc entrance fee) this was an eye opener, it was more of a type of western saloon, but everyone welcomed us. There were a couple of excellent local singers, dancers and stilt walkers. We were encouraged to get up and salsa and at the end of the night one of the staff accompanied us back to the hotel as it was very busy in the streets and he didn't want anyone to get lost. There was never any thought of danger or any worries re our safety.We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening.A
taste of the real Cuba.
We also enjoyed a cool drink up on the roof terrace which now has a bar, and a duo playing music. The views from here were amazing.

Next day we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast with freshly cooked omelettes and after discovering the town on foot we returned to the hotel for lunch, again very well cooked and again friendly and prompt service.

This was an unexpected visit but we are just so happy we stayed. The hotel staff were brilliant, the building is so lovingly restored and to a very high standard. I really would love to stay there again.

Very well done to everyone concerned with this hotel and if you have the chance to visit don't miss it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franklynalouishus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Cuba. This beautiful building lovingly restored to capture a love story in history. Stunning views from the roof tops, a traditional warm cuban welcome greeted us and luxurious rooms (there are only 27) with great personal services provided by everyone who works there with obvious pride. This was booked through our tour representative Thomas Cook, excellent overnight trip.

Room Tip: Ask your reply for the authentic Cuba overnight excursion you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We took an overnight trip to Gibara from a resort in Playa Esmeralda. We were pleasantly surprised by this wondeful hotel. We were told that this hotel had recently been restored and had a romantic history. The staff we talked to were very proud of their hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed and pampered. The staff were friendly, warm and helpful. A Mojito on the roof terrace with 2 excellent musicians started our evening. The views of the the town of Gibara were incredible, from the ocean to the hills and back to the harbour. The lobby had windows opening on the street which added an element of inclusiveness with the town surrounding us.
Our room was easily a 5 star. Quiet airconditioning, large modern bathroom, bathrobes and comfy beds..what more do you need?
We had 3 meals at the hotel and the service improved each time. As it is a fishing town, we ordered fish and were not disappointed. There was also a musical show during dinner.
Hotel Ordono is beautiful throughout and the lobby is open to the upper floors which added to the airy feeling.
There is no elevator so would not be appropriate for the mobility challenged.
We really enjoyed our overnight stay and would recommend this hotel and the town of Gibara to other travellers in Cuba.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coe202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibara
12.8 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
8.7 mi away
Islazul Villa Don Lino
Islazul Villa Don Lino
#4 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
576 reviews
66.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,695 reviews
19.4 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,138 reviews
17.1 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel E Ordono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Ordono

Address: J. Peralta y calle Donato Marmol, Gibara 82100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Gibara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gibara
Price Range: $85 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel E Ordono 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel E Ordono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing