We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandbar Grill

Sandbar Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sandbar Grill is a casual modern Australian restaurant. Enjoy a glass of wine with the à la carte menu. Located across from the Broadwater. "SANDBAR GRILL: This Paradise Point restaurant has breathtaking views and specialises in seafood. The seafood chowder is highly recommended and afterwards you can always enjoy a stroll in the lovely Paradise Point Parklands." Gold Coast Bulletin Lifestyle BEST OF THE GOLD COAST: Where is the city's best fine dining restaurant? by: From: Gold Coast Bulletin January 07, 2015 11:31AM SANDBAR GRILL: This Paradise Point restaurant has breathtaking views and specialises in seafood. The seafood chowder is highly recommended and afterwards you can always enjoy a stroll in the lovely Paradise Point Parklands.
Gold Coast , Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dined at this establishment last night, very good food servings a little small but dont be put off by that, the wine list is OK but could do with some selections from local wineries and a few Margaret River wineries should also get a look in.It is BYO so if you have a favorite I would take it with you, corkage is $6-00 a bottle, which is very reasonable. We had Pork Belly with scallops, Oysters as entrees, and Angus Beef and slow cooked beef with lamb cutlet as mains. The food was easily some of the best we have had on the Gold Coast, Service was very good and we will be back. If the weather is good ask to dine outside as its a bit noisy inside

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malibu94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    61
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandbar is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to Sandbar last Friday with my parents and husband and had a wonderful meal. Service was attentive and the food is without doubt the best I have had on the Gold Coast.

The snapper entree dish was divine and I wished I had ordered it for a main as well. The risotto with Chorizo & Prawn was so rich I couldn't finish it but it was delicious. The rest of the table enjoyed the oysters, prawns, steak and fish dishes.

The only complaint is there is an abundance of Fetta and Beetroot on the menu which are not items we are big fans of. The addition of Fetta to the oysters kilpatrick was unfortunate but we will simply request no fetta on anything just to be safe.

Didn't partake of desserts as they all seemed a little heavy for warm weather but they did sound lovely.

Another massive bonus was there were no kids, not one! Too many meals these days are ruined by parents bringing children to inappropriate restaurants. This is an adult restaurant with adult dishes - hopefully it stays that way or that only well behaved, appropriate aged children are brought by their parents. There doesn't appear to be a kids menu and nor should there be!

Heading there again tonight (Saturday) for a dinner with Hubby. Can't wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmawork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning food CREATED by an incredible chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow. This chef is a rare bird indeed! Old school no doubt but with incredible modern food.

Lovely location with a clean and stylish design gives a relaxed atmosphere to dine.

This restaurant is a place to DINE, not to eat. If you want a large portion of carbohydrates with oil, go to the fish and chippery... If you want a beautifully balanced and well designed meal then Sandbar is the place for you!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igetoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Service was excellent, as was the food. Portion sizes were smallish but enough. Probably the best risotto I've ever had. Would have to be the best restaurant at Paradise Point.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blue083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“jewel at paradise point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The new owners of this restaurant have found a welcome winning combination, great atmosphere, friendly staff and a head chef that really knows his stuff. The food is a taste sensation that takes your taste buds on a magical journey and I found the wine list to be quite comprehensive and reasonably priced. This is a great place for an impromptu lunch or dinner, to a special occasion celebration. Without a doubt my new Favorite restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Grill also viewed

Paradise Point, Gold Coast
Paradise Point, Gold Coast
 
Paradise Point, Gold Coast
Paradise Point, Gold Coast
 

Been to Sandbar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing