We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, romantic, beautiful cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Otter's Retreat

Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Large patio with BBQ Red deer in the area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Otter's retreat
Visit England '5 star'!
Large patio with BBQ
Red deer in the area
Plough (not in use!)
inglenook
Log burner
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Excellent views from both bedrooms.
Classical wetroom furniture
Landing
Wetroom 2
Dramatic well equipped kitchen
More of the kitchen
Lounge area
Dining area
Spacious open plan relaxing room
the approach
More of the approach
Part of the extensive view
Wincle School
Wincle Church
More views
Beautiful countryside
Wow!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wincle, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christina...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, romantic, beautiful cottage! ”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and it was just perfect! The cottage is immaculate, and the owners Angela & Ian have gone the extra mile to put in thoughtful touches to the cottage! They were extremely friendly, and even let us take their cute little dog for a walk! This cottage will always have a special memory in our hearts, as my partner got down on one knee & proposed infront of the cosy romantic fireplace! The best little break, and we'll be sure to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Well Christina I wish that we had known what a special occasion it was for you both, I'm sure that we could have found a suitable bottle of fizz.

Ian and Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanT944
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is one of the nicest properties our family has rented and we have stayed in many over the years both in the U.K. and Europe.The property has been renovated to a very high standard and is really tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean.The surrounding countryside is very picturesque and the local pub just a five minute walk serves really very good homemade food and has a garden to sit in when the sun shines.
Angela and Ian are really friendly,interesting,people who work very hard at maintaining the farm and its surrounding area.The cake,marmalade and eggs left for us on arrival were very much appreciated by all of us.
We were attending a wedding at a venue close by and are really pleased we decided to incorporate it into a weeks holiday at Otters Retreat.Our 18 month old grandson just loved seeing the sheep outside in the field opposite.We all left with very happy memories of our stay at Otters Retreat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you very much for your review, hope to see you again soon.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianWil...
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second visit and it still has the wow factor!”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We returned to "Otters Retreat" to find it as stunning as when we here last year. The setting is beautiful and the facilities were by far the highest standard we have come across. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking to explore the Peak District.

The weather was better than our last visit and there was plenty to see and do in the area. Overall we had a fantastic week and were made to feel very welcome by Angela and Ian.

Many thanks and we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you Adrian, It was a delight to see you again and we hope that it isn't your last visit.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe...
Morecambe9
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best so far. Perfect, peaceful, comfortable and much more.”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just returned from a week’s holiday at Otters Retreat and already we know that we want to return.

The property is amazing, set in a beautiful, quiet, rural location, yet only 15-20 minutes away from Leek and Congleton (should you need to use the town’s services).

The house itself is perfect, a really large open plan downstairs space for cooking, dining and relaxing. Then upstairs are two very good sized bedrooms, both with extremely comfortable beds and both with en-suite facilities and wonderful walk in showers.

Each room is well equipped and very clean, the log burner was ready to go should we have needed it and the treats of chocolates, toffees, a lovely homemade malt loaf and more, were extremely appreciated.

There are plenty of walks from the doorstep, that you could make as easy or difficult as you prefer or this could be used as a base to explore further a field.

There is no Vodafone coverage, so if that is important to you, then you need to be aware but personally I think this may be a good chance to shake off the daily miss sold PPI calls. Regardless of the phone signal though, the internet speed was excellent, much better than we are used to.

The owners were very helpful in giving advice on walks in the local area and were lovely to have a chat to.

We don’t understand why there are so few reviews on Trip Advisor, as there were so many good words in the visitor’s book and really truly this place is perfect for a quiet holiday and gives the opportunity to explore this wonderful part of the country.

Maybe the previous visitors are keeping it quiet, so they can always be sure of a vacancy when they return :-)

Thank you Mr & Mrs Burns for making our stay so memorable in your beautiful property.

(I don’t have the option to add photographs but can confirm that the ones currently on Trip Advisor are very accurate)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you both very much for your review. I do hope that we will see you here in the future.
Angela and ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic cottage and location, owners couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed November 21, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed for a long weekend in November. The cottage was a very high standard in a lovely location with lots of local walks. The owners were very helpful and there was a fire lit for our arrival.
Hope to go back at some point.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words, we do hope to see you again.
Ian Burns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shutts81
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, cosy retreat from the world.”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

After an extended six hour drive we could not have wished for a more welcoming sight then what we received upon reaching Otters Retreat. Both Ian and Angela made us feel very welcome and homemade goodies left for us were very welcome! The cottage was, as stated before in other reviews, presented to a very high standard and great attention to detail. The kitchen in particular had just about everything you could need to cook with, new appliances and all the extras that you forget to bring like clingfilm and sandwich bags.
Our three year old thought it fantastic that she had a huge bed and bathroom all to herself and loved seeing and hearing the farm's sheep in the morning.
Beautiful views down the valley from the front door and not only a pub with 5 mins walk from the cottage but a micro brewery 5 mins walk further down!
The owners couldn't do enough to help and really made our stay. We will defiantly be returning to this idyllic part of the world and to our wonderful hosts.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Thank you very much for this review and we do hope to see you again.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane T
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Otters Retreat”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

An idyllic retreat in this beautiful part of England. The cottage renovation is of a very high standard and the hosts Angela and Ian provide exceptional hospitality, ensuring you get the most out of your break. Wonderful home made cake and marmalade, and fresh eggs, waiting for us on arrival, all much appreciated!!
Amazing views and walks right on the doorstep, with a great local pub within walking distance!!
The weather was not quite warm enough to enjoy the patio area this time around but I have no doubt that we will return to try it out in the near future!
I would highly recommend Otters Retreat to friends and family, which is a true endorsement of what it has to offer....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2016
Thank you very much June.
Very much looking forward to your return.
Angela and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing