We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food after a walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wincle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Village pub in the peak district, close to Leek, macclesfield and buxton. Everyone welcome, all the family, including children and dogs. We are open all day, everyday.
1 review
“Food after a walk”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere and most importantly really excellent food. Try the Camembert sharing platter to start and the guest plumb beer while it is still on.

Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    58
    20
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trying hard and succeeding”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I made a repeat visit to The Ship after an absence of just over two years. The quality of the food served up by the last owners was amazing and I was looking forward to a really good meal. We were not disappointed, despite the change of personnel, sharing a superb seafood platter.

I'll be back again. Good luck to the new owner- it must be difficult to step in at a place like The Ship and they seem to be working hard to please.

As to the beer- the old owner told me a couple of years ago that they had a very restrictive tie-in with the brewery- which is a shame. The excellent Wincle Brewery is down the hill (just yards away) and one of the previous publicans was the brewer there- but the brewery tie in was such that he couldn't sell his own beer in a pub he owned.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Meal OK but where's the beer?”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is obvious that the ownership has changed and it shows. This pub has an entry in the Camra Walking guide for Derbyshire. Two beers on tap on the night visited. Lee's standard bitter which is pretty average and Manchester Pale Ale which again was pretty average. Not bad but also not why I would expect in a Camra nominated pub. Same given Wincle brewery is no more than 100 yards away. Anyway the food was OK and if I lived closer would probably mean I would visit more often but it is not worth the 15 mile trip over trying something in Buxton and I would want to be challenged a bit more on the beer front. People were friendly and service efficient

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank plaistowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fundamentals are good”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There are some very negative reviews here. Whilst i do not think the landlord is a charmer the place is basically well run. The fundamentals are ; very good food at a fair price, decent beers in a genuinely unspoilt building in a lovely setting. I think my standards are high and this place is good enough for me.
I have often turned up looking scruffy from a walk and never felt unwelcome.
I would go either for a walk stopover or a smart meal out. It is a genuine classy country pub that can cope with either.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome shelter from the rain and fine dining to follow”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited twice recently. First on a rainy weekend whilst cycling and found a warm welcome and excellent beer in the walkers' bar. Returned for dinner a few days later. Fresh and tasty antipasto shared to start, delicious locally sourced grouse to follow. Food, beer and service highly recommended. Lovely village with excellent walks and mtb close by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Night R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing