We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service second to none.”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wincle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Village pub in the peak district, close to Leek, macclesfield and buxton. Everyone welcome, all the family, including children and dogs. We are open all day, everyday.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service second to none.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Wincle for a walk today as its our wedding anniversary. Friends had told us it was a good place to walk so we thought we would give it a go. Starting out late from Sheffield we arrived at 12:30 and decided to eat first. We found the Ship Inn. A gem of a country pub. First thing is the warm but not over the top welcome. Then the food, you can normally find fault with pub food but not this one. I had the steak and ale pie and its the best I have ever had. No fat just nice meat. Pat had pork belly, not strips of pork but a large chunk with perfecly cooked meat with a crackle top to boot!! If you are in the area give this place a try and I hope you will be as satisfied as us. Great experiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    60
    21
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had lunch here today with a friend and it was a good experience. The pub is in a beautiful location and is very nicely decorated. We just went for the light lunch option and my oatcake with bacon and black pudding was something a bit different but also local - quite tasty. There were quite a few tempting options on the menu - maybe too many different things for quite a small place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyBee_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Landlord has a sense of humour”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our 2nd visit to the ship and like the 1st it didn,t dissapoint. We were greeted in a proffesional and polite manner. Wine was good, both main courses were excellent. One gripe though my mother wouldn,t share her cheesecake. The landlord had a laugh and a joke with everyone who came in while we were there. Deffinately going back and taking my better half next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Was concerned about latest reviews”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have only eaten in the Ship on 3 previous occasions and those were several years ago as we live in south wales, I was concerned about recent reviews but on arriving on a glorious summer night, we had a most friendly welcome and had a drink outside and then a table inside to eat. The service was very good and my liver was pink as suggested on the menu with a mustard sauce, my wife had duck, again cooked pink with a cherry saucewhich she really enjoyed.
We were glad that we went on our past experiences at the Ship and had a most enjoyable night

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch let-down”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The dining room was full. 3 Dogs were being fed and watered by diners of the next table throughout our meal . There was barking. Food seemed over-priced, under cooked, and carelessly presented. 3 people meal cost: £ 78 with 2 house wines and a lager. Complained politely twice. "Sorry" from first waitress . Shrug from waitress no 2. No offer of redress from either. Under cooked Lamb. Under cooked Trout. I will avoid this previously good place in future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Leek, Staffordshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Rushton Spencer, Staffordshire
 
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing