We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely stunning place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
A glimpse through the trees of hen cloud on the Roaches
View along the farm drive
Meander along the many footpaths cross crossing the farm to enjoy the local area and Peak District
Views across to the Staffordshire Moorlands from the farm.
Farming heritage
The oldest oak tree in Cheshire on the approach to the Shepherd Huts
Some describe this as the Wincle rainforest: a view towards the farm from Staffordshire..
Our wonderful bluebells have a later season here in the north west. Visit in May to catch them.
Inquisitive and playful the baby lambs are a delight to watch.
Views across to the Staffordshire Moorlands of the Peak District
Gladys is still quite new to the farm, but she great at making friends
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wincle, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christian...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning place to stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

we just need to say thank you to emma the owner for our stay ,from the booking to the unfortunate time we had to leave was just fantastic , me and my wife stayed here for our anniversary and we cant think of anywhere we would of rather been ,we stayed in the fabulous dane valley hut ,at the bottom of the field over looking the woodlands and fields, which was stunning inside and outside the hut, hen cloud hut is at the top of the field with equally beautiful views and privacy with unspoilt views to die for ,this is so not to be missed for that different special stay in life and the short beautiful walk along the river from the huts into wincle is fantastic ,especially when your first stop is a brewery where you can sample the beers and then another pub a short stroll away was just great !!!
we cant recommend emma at whitelee farm and her huts enough ,and thank you to you again emma and your lovely children it was all amazing ! chris and dawn x

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation in the countryside”
Reviewed September 4, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed here for a long weekend. The location of the hut is fabulous and you are surrounded by countryside views and wildlife. The hut is very cosy and has everything you need and there is an excellent pub about a mile away from the hut! We would highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilbeths
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hen Cloud is fabulous, give it a go!”
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had an amazing time staying at Hen Cloud. It's a beautiful shepherd's hut in a fabulous location, it's everything you could want from a peaceful couple of days in the countryside. I didn't want to leave and we'll be back again soon!
There's a lovely walk through the fields from the hut into Wincle for a pint and some great walks on the doorstep too. Absolutely recommended!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul10620...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect weekend retreat that I can't stop talking about”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My partner and I arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Emma and we instantly fell in love with the location and the hut. It had everything we were looking for; tranquillity, a homely feel and pure luxury.

The hut is surrounded by open fields and has a lovely riverside walk within 2 minutes which is perfect for anyone that wants to get away from it all. I was so pleased to not get any phone reception so I could enjoy the experience.

We had an amazing nights sleep and staying in the hut was like staying in any luxury self catering apartment, just with better views.

Everything about our expereince has made us return home ready to book the next time. We intend to tell everyone all about it and will be reccomending the huts to all our friends and family.

We can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Dear Paul, we are so thrilled that you had such a fabulous time getting away from it all and that the hut was as you hoped. Lovely compliments - thank you! Lovely to meet you both and really hope that you do get to come back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalingard
Poynton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Hen Cloud in Wincle. It was spectacular:-). Quiet, peaceful, country location and the walk along the river to the local pub was superb. Definitely going to return.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thrilled that you had such a lovely time - we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Exceptional accommodation in a beautiful tranquil location”
Reviewed May 10, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We booked both Shepherds huts over the early May Bank Holiday and were delighted with the design and the quality of the craftsmanship in creating these small but beautiful spaces. Everything had been thought of, even to the provision of flowers on the outside table ... a little thing maybe, but instant proof that the owners really care that their guests feel valued. The views from the huts were breathtaking I couldn’t wait to get up each morning and open the blinds to see the hills and the surrounding countryside. Being on a farm in springtime also meant that the adjacent field was full of ewes and lambs, the air was filled with birdsong and the scent of bluebells and wild garlic, and we especially loved the early morning visits from the hares!
The owner Emma was friendly and helpful providing us with information on great places to eat and local walks. We also ordered breakfast for two mornings and as the sun was shining we were able to sit outside with our coffee and artisan baked croissants (so tasty!) feeling very relaxed! We will definitely be going back!

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thank you so much for the review Janet - so pleased that you had a fab time and we hope that we do get to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_chapmac3...
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Quality”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely, relaxing few days in the Hen Cloud shepherds hut. The location is very secluded with beautiful natural scenery on all sides and the Hut itself is really very good quality. Even though the space is small it is very well laid out with all you'll need and the materials used are of a high standard. Emma was a great host and everything went very smoothly. We particularly enjoyed the log burner and all the wildlife!

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Its great to hear that you found the hut provided everything that you needed and that you had such an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing