We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Danes Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beachamwell
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet accommodation”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great Dane is in the middle of a small village. Mobile phone signal is non existance.

The room was a good size and the shower was great.

The food from the restaurant was first class.

Free wifi connection

Excellent continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Use the hotels wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGransden, Owner at The Great Danes Country Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello ... a very BIG thank you for your very kind review.
We are so pleased you took the time to write your review, so thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
25
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Carol & Roger made us very welcome, the room was very comfortable, clean and peaceful. We had a tasty meal in the evening and they were very helpful. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay then look no further.

Room Tip: If you want a cooked breakfast then order the night before and there is an extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend having found it on an internet accommodation search. Really welcoming place which functions primarily as a B&B rather than a pub. We thought it was wonderful but it suited us because it's in the middle of nowehre and peaceful - there are no other pubs (or even a shop!) in Beachhamwell so if you're looking for more then it's not for you.

The owners were extremely friendly and can accommodate all your needs. We would definitely stay here again - very relaxing. The food in the pub is also really good, as is the wine and beer; despite being the only place to eat/drink here they don't take advantage of that by exploiting the prices.

Worth noting the beds are exceptionally large and comfortable!

Room Tip: B&B comes with a free continental breakfast with cooked optional at an extra 7.50. Don't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShonaReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGransden, Owner at The Great Danes Country Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our 2nd visit to Great Danes, we had 4 rooms for a family birthday celebration and were all very impressed. The hosts, Roger & Carol are lovely people, the food is second to none, the rooms are very clean & confortable and the ale was superb! A lovely location as well off the beaten track, calm & peaceful, (except for the occasional RAF Typhoon taking off).

We are planning to go back in the Autumn and are already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice hotel/pub,nice location, but. There was only my wife & myself along with the owners son, in the bar at night, therefore there was no atmosphere. It would appear that there was a dispute between the owners & the village residents, therefore non of the villagers entered the pub. It is a crying shame, someone needs to get the party's together & sort the problem out. Otherwise an excellent venue in a picturesque village is going to disappear.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Picked on proximity to next day's business, but an impressive room and facilities, friendly owner, competent food, excellent ale and a great price. I was the only guest that night, but would happily return and perhaps use it as a base for a leisure trip to the Broads/Norfolk coast.

Very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petebarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Ate here on Saturday night. (12th Nov)
Excellent food and good service from the young man whom I think is the son of the landlady!!
Not many people in when we were there but still a very relaxed atmosphere.
I would recommend the Great Danes

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachamwell
4.9 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
461 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
116 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Downham Market
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Danes Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Danes Country Inn

Property: The Great Danes Country Inn
Address: Old Hall Lane | Near Swaffham, Beachamwell PE37 8BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Beachamwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beachamwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Great Danes Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable Country Inn offering En Suite Accommodation with Licenced Bar & Restaurant. A pictureque setting in a quiet village, close to Swaffham & Downham Market, with Mainline Railway Station. Cambridge, Norwich, RAF Marham, Royal Sandringham and the unspoilt North Norfolk Coast all under less than an hour away. Our rooms are serviced daily and have all amenities. Plenty of free Parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Great Danes Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Danes Country Hotel Beachamwell
Country Inn Swaffham
Swaffham Country Inn
Great Danes Country Swaffham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing