We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay”

La Corne d'Abondance
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Corne d'Abondance
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Top place to stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here on the way back from the south of France in August, mainly for its proxitity to Rouen and the road to Calais, and close to the autoroute. Bourgtheroulde is a thriving little town, busy in fact, but as we left on the Sunday morning, traffic was minimal after Saturday evening, although we were woken by the church bells on Sunday morning...all 30 minutes of them.
Having said that, this was a delightful stopover, the hotel being run by the owner, his wife and family (3 young daughters), all friendly, helpful and most charming.
We ate dinner on the decked terrace at the back of the hotel which was quirky and delightful, the food, both locally sourced and delicious.
Before we left on the Sunday morning, we had a chat with the owners wife who was telling us she had several Enlish pen pals, and her hobby is speaking English...so whilst its nice to try out your French, its nice to know that problems will be minimul and you will be made most welcome.
She also made an advanced booking directly (sorry logis) for our trip next year.
A real home from home and a great place to stay on the last night of our holiday...Thanks!

Room Tip: Away from the main road. Though we stayed at a weekend so not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
18
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

An excellent stopover en route across Northern France with minimal detour from the autoroute. Alexandrine is a delightful host and our family were overexcited by the wheelchair accessible family suite in particular the funky modern furnishing in the upstairs children's room including grass effect hard flooring. Very decent food with local ingredients emphasis and no bill issues. Bourgtheroulde is a thriving town offering a choice of good local shops to buy provisions for the onward journey very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truffle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford/chinon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have stayed several times here, but this last time was very disappointing.

We were given a tiny room on the front, which was very noisy, being on the main road next to the traffic lights.The fumes as well as the noise meant that you cannot open the window, so it is very hot. Our room had just about enough space for a double bed, so I was surprised that they charged us an extra 10 euros for an extra bed ( I slept in the double bed with my husband, there was no other bed)

We ate in the restaurant as we have nine times before. This time we had a starter from the cheaper menu, and a main course from the more expensive one, as we have often done, and been told that this went on the 24euro menu. We were charged a la carte! which meant that we paid 22 euros each for a piece of fish which was included on the 24euro menu. When I queried this, la patronne just shrugged...

Last time we stayed here, they asked us to translate their menu for them, which we did cheerfully , not expecting anything but thanks. ( Just as well, because we didn't get so much as a glass of wine) So being ripped off like this was very hurtful.

I had noticed that they always try to charge us for breakfast, which we don't have, but I thought this was a mistake. Well, I know better now.

I have not been ripped off like this in France before, and I would warn people that if you are English, you will be expected to pay extra, presumably to fund their renovations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bourgtheroulde-Infreville hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in this very French logis both at the start and at the end of our holiday trip to the Charente Maritime. It's an old building with well thought out modern additions eg wheelchair accessible rooms. The decor in the restaurant and breakfast room is attractive and quirky - swathes of delicate coloured fabric overhead. The food is great, a real highlight; we had an evening meal both times and thoroughly enjoyed the delicious duck and lamb among other courses. You can also eat on the decked terrace at the back of the building. There is interesting artwork on display in the hotel and loads of magazines to leaf through as well. This is a traditional style hotel in many ways - don't expect a state of the art hotel room - but nonetheless most comfortable with very good service. The proprietors are really welcoming. There is private car parking behind the building.

The front of the hotel overlooks the market square, where traders set up each Saturday morning. On our return visit (first weekend in July), the village was en fete and the evening entertainment was amazing: massed motor-bike drive past (roads closed!) and then a brilliant fireworks display in the park just behind the hotel.

The hotel is very well positioned, being handy for the autoroute network and just to the south and west of Rouen while allowing you to avoid going through this big town if you wish. For us it was the ideal position given that we had a three day drive to and from Glasgow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emmandeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourgtheroulde-Infreville
4.9 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
89 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Rouen Sud Cleon
9.7 mi away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Campanile Rouen Sud - Cleon Elbeuf
10.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant le Logis de Brionne
12.3 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Corne d'Abondance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Corne d'Abondance

Property: La Corne d'Abondance
Address: 6 route de Rouen | Place de la Mairie, 27520 Bourgtheroulde-Infreville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Bourgtheroulde-Infreville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourgtheroulde-Infreville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Corne d'Abondance 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Corne d'Abondance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing