We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was PERFECT!!! You will not be disappointed!”
Review of Brittoner B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brigus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brittoner B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Brigus B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brittoner for two nights. Lori is the perfect hostess and makes you feel like you are dropping by visiting a life long friend who you haven't seen in ages. Dave and Luanne, the owners, live right next door and make you feel right at home however are not right in your face and "hovering" as I have experienced in other B&Bs. Dave even allowed me to borrow one of his books from his personal collection for the night. Luanne is quite knowledgeable on the local history and this was quite helpful for me as I was there on a genealogy project. The Brittoner is absolutely ideally located for exploring your way around Brigus. It is an absolutely glorious town and I can not imagine anyone not falling in love with the place and its many rock walls. The local townspeople are very friendly and if you are on a geneology project, like me, they are an absolute fountain of knowledge. Just walk around for a bit and you are sure to find someone who can tell you some interesting facts that you won't find anywhere else. What can I say other than I will 100% go back to the Brittoner again and again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room and the laundry room that is just off it makes a perfect spot inside if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenBA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We so enjoyed our visit in Brigus, and the Brittoner was the perfect spot to stay! The room felt just like home, and the hospitality was like no other. After a beautiful morning run, Lori provided a hearty breakfast as we enjoyed the view of Brigus harbour. Would definitely like to go back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaCMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you want to visit Brigus as a tourist, this is a great-value b&b. It's a charming old house, and the owner lives in the house next door (attached). There was no one to greet us when we arrived, just a phone number to call, but Lori walked us by phone to our room. We stayed in the room with the queen-size bed and the twin bed, and both were comfortable. However, ask for an extra blanket or two, because the twin bed comforter is very thin, and the temperature really drops at night. The breakfast was blueberry pancakes with bacon and fruit -- very tasty. The owner was very friendly and chatted with the guests. The only challenge with staying in Brigus is the lack of restaurants after 6 pm. If you don't have a car to drive to Cupids or elsewhere, then bring a picnic to eat in the backyard overlooking the pond.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy9537785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Brittoner for 4 nights with our 2 labs. It was very homey and we felt very welcome there. Lori who manages the B&B does a wonderful breakfast. She spoiled my husband with her wonderful raisin biscuits. She is a great example of Newfoundland hospitality.
She also will inform you of some great restaurants in the area, like Spunky's at Grace Harbour.
The weather was great, sunny and mid 20's all the days we were there. Just a great place. The only thing against it is there is no TV in the room. Although the rooms are a little small we had use of the adjoining laundry room which made it perfect with the dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We could not have found a more perfect location or hosts for our stay in Brigus. Our only regret was that we did not plan on two or three nights here. The house is lovely, the owners are warm and engaging and Lori, our hostess, was outstanding. We booked in as a family of five - our parents and three adults - and had the entire second floor of the house. Fortunately for us nobody had booked the loft room so we basically had the entire house as the owners live next door. We enjoyed a lovely stroll around the quaint village and then relaxed in the gorgeous yard overlooking the water. The house was quiet, comfortable and welcoming. Lori had left out home made tea biscuits for our arrival, which were most delicious, and arrived to cook us an outstanding breakfast. She also shared her most fascinating life story with us. This was only my second time ever staying at a B&B and I think it set the bar for others - one that is going to be difficult to surpass!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaNewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in Brigus on our way through the East coast of Newfounland en route to St. Pierre et Miquelon. The Brittoner was a truly wonderful surprise, nestled in the landscape of steep hills rising out of the crystal clear bay and surrounded by other beautiful and colorful saltbox houses similarly situated. The small roads and occasional gardens, dotted by beautifully preserved historic houses reminded us of Nantucket, before everyone moved in! Our hosts were lovely - calling ahead to a restaurant in Cupid to ask them to stay open because of our late arrival. We only wish we could have spent more time there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney22_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We very much enjoyed our 2 days in this pretty village with pleasant walking paths, a stone lined brook, two good cafes, and several historical sites. Betty was a good host and very knowledgeable. The room was fine and the bed comfortable. We would have liked to have had a TV in the room. Having an internet connection was good.

Good breakfasts. Tea offered in the afternoon - unexpectedly but very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPJ-Lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brittoner B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittoner B&B

Address: 12 Water St | PO Box163 Brigus, Brigus, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Brigus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brigus
Price Range: $90 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service B&B located in the heart of historic Brigus. We occupy a large waterfront property literally steps away from historic attractions and award-winning restaurants. We serve a hot breakfast and with previous notice may be able to welcome pets. Across the street from the beautiful Wilcox Gardens our restored Victorian home features 3 ensuite rooms at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brittoner B&B Brigus, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing