We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Inn Resteraunt was great.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crystal Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crystal Mountain Hotels Alpine Inn
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alpine Inn Resteraunt was great.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have a cabin nearby and celebrated our 24th anniversary at the Alpine Inn Restaurant. The staff was great and accommodated our need to make it to the gondola for a beautiful sunset. Food was great. Atmosphere was welcoming and relaxed, but still festive. We were able to walk right in and get seated. They even surprised us with an anniversary slice of cheesecake to go for our gondola ride. We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenbSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    19
    19
    16
See reviews for
32
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I don't know where the other places to get good views and pictures of Rainier are but I found this place and it looked great. The day we got there it was clear and we rode the gondola up Crystal Mountain and got an outstanding view of Rainier. Great pictures, great memories, perfect. This is what I came for. But after coming down and having a room for the night there wasn't much else to do. So we tried to relax and do a little trip housekeeping but it was a long afternoon and evening. I've read complaints about food prices (now not before I came and realized there was nothing here) but what else could they be when you're 40 miles from the nearest anything and have to pack everything in here. I should have stopped in Packwood and filled up with snacks and other foods and anything else I might think about needing. Let me say that the staff here really went out of their way to help us with any thing they could. I wound up being ahead of schedule and that was my fault. All this being said if you catch the mountain on a clear day, you'll never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank recorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Clearly, the local management has decided to take full advantage of the lack of local competition:
- Alpine Inn restaurant has good food but is expensive for what you get
- Servers are inexperienced (students earning some summer money?) - one of them told us there was an 18% + tax for charging on the room bill, which turned out to be untrue
- Breakfast (buffet) included in the room price mo-fr but served at table for a price sa-su (no information on website)
- Forget trail lunches at $12 per person: you get one sandwich, one bag of salted crisps (who needs salt on a trail?), an apple and condiments. You are supposed to get a bottle of water but we got none. Bring your own stuff.
- Rooms are very basic and small but clean and quiet. Freen wifi only in the lobby.
Crystal Mountain Village is much of the same:
- $20/pp for a gondola trip to have a view on Mount Rainier. Website makes you believe that the views are from the village, which is actually inside a dip. "Restaurant" available at top but we did not go as we felt it would be a trap since no details (open or not, menu with prices, pictures) were given. Save money and have views on Mount Rainier by driving into the park at Sunrise ($15 park entrance fee per car, valid one week)
- Grill was reserved for private parties on the two days we stayed: no alternative to Alpine Inn restaurant
- "Market" is hopeless: we could not even find toothpaste and only junk food was available for sale.
- Nearest gas is at Packwood, 40 miles from Crystal Mountain. Make sure you have enough gas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aipalovik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had read previous reviews so went in with my eyes open - hence my rating is average; poor would perhaps be more appropriate if I had expected more! However, I want to share 3 surprises in the hope that others will be forewarned and thus not be caught out. 1. I had expected, partly because of what I read, that breakfast was included in the room rate. I booked on the web and didn't see anything either way, so continued with the assumption. On checking in I was told that no, on the weekend they serve a special hot breakfast and that is $12.00 each. Why was there nothing on the website? (Never fear, the take out van at the gondola base makes a mean breakfast burrito.). 2. Having read comments about the restaurant, we planned to scrounge something up, but there are no local stores, the only other restaurant was closed for a function, the take-out van closes at 5pm, and the "gift shop" has little to eat and closes at 6pm, so we landed up in the restaurant. Next time, I would do what I saw another family do - come with a basket of Subway or other sandwiches from Enumclaw, or whatever town you pass through. 3. The Inn advertises wine tasting. At the restaurant, they asked if we wanted to try out the 4 wines they were advertising. We agreed. Neither the waiter nor the leaflet mentioned a price - I guess it was naive of me not to ask - so I was surprised to see the $15.00 tagged on to the bill!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

There was very little available accommodation wise near Mt Rainier National Park over the holiday weekend but there were plenty of rooms available at the Alpine Inn. The rates were decent, $95 for a room. The room was "cozy", it was a long time since we slept in a double bed and we found it too small. Wi- fi was available in the lobby area and restaurant/bar. It was very quiet when we stayed, I imagine its quite different in ski season.

Biggest letdown.....the restaurant. The food was terrible and way overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Because we love the Snorting Elk so much, we decided to stay at the Alpine Inn this year. The hotel is old but it was clean and warm. The staff are wonderful. It is basically on the mountain and the breakfast was 5 (five) star! We will make our stay at this hotel a yearly event! It is the perfect place for people who love to ski, eat, drink and have fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeiLani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I marked it average just because of it's age. We found it very clean and the staff attentive and friendly. We used Groupon and thought it was a great bargain. The included breakfast was just what we needed before hitting the slopes. They are a short walk to the Gondola. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrencelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Mountain
21.0 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
169 reviews
23.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
207 reviews
24.3 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Mountain Hotels
Crystal Mountain Hotels
#2 of 3 in Crystal Mountain
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Mountain Hotels Alpine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain Hotels Alpine Inn

Property: Crystal Mountain Hotels Alpine Inn
Address: 33818 Crystal Mountain Blvd, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022-7937
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Mountain
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked against the scenic slopes of Crystal Mountain Resort, Crystal Mountain Hotels is the premier destination in Washington State for ski vacations AND summer getaways. Six miles from Mount Rainier National Park and just steps away from the Mt. Rainier Gondola and ski to your door accommodations at the Alpine Inn, Crystal Hotels offers everything you need for an amazing trip without spending valuable vacation time in the car.Enjoy casual fine dining at the Alpine Inn Restaurant or a cold beer and stone fired pizza at the Snorting Elk Cellar! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Hotels Alpine Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Crystal Mountain Hotel Alpine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing