We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, well laid out rooms. Friendly, if pricey service.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Crystal Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We enjoyed our first visit to the Mt. Rainier National Park area, and our stay at Alta Crystal Resort was pleasant. We chose Alta Vista Resort because, traveling as a family with choosy eaters, we wanted a kitchen. Plus perks like a heated pool and hot tub sounded great. We were there for 5 nights, and the small size of the rooms and the less than great mattress in the 'master' bedroom became progressively more noticeable. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we were prepared for the kitchen's limitations. We were glad we had shopped for groceries in Enumclaw on the way to the resort, because the nearest "general store," 15 minutes away, has little and is expensive. The resort itself sells food, and it's also expensive. We were disappointed with the hot tub, which wasn't hot and which wasn't clean the first day we were there. The pool also was cold and not clean the first day, but staff had both cleaned by the 2nd day and the pool was warmer, though the hot tub remained tepid, not hot. There were several BBQ dinners at the resort while we were there, and we enjoyed them greatly. There was a variety of tasty food, and host staff were genial. The big draw for the resort really is the surrounding open space and, of course, Mt. Rainier National Park. Mainly we hiked and enjoyed the scenery, which ranged from pleasant to stunning. If we were to return we'd probably visit Alta Crystal again, but for a shorter stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 337 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

There are not many places to stay near the Sunrise area of Mt Rainier; lodging options are limited. But I knew from my first interaction with Alta Crystal that it would be a good fit for us. The staff are exceptionally friendly and down to earth, and they answered my questions readily. The location is wonderful - in the forest with a rushing stream nearby, close to the Sunrise entrance to Rainier. Quiet, peaceful, and surrounded by trees. The staff will give you lots of information about local hiking trails, and the evening activities were great - movie night in a historic old building, a bonfire with s'mores.... We were sorry to miss the BBQ night, and it was truly hard to leave such a retreat in the woods. The only thing remotely negative I could say is that the rates are a bit high.

I hope we get to return to Alta Crystal and Mt Rainier again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Openskies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We recently returned from our 2nd. trip to the Alta Crystal Resort and it will not be our last. We spent 6 days at the resort in July 2008 and 10 days this past July. From July 16th thru July 26th, we had the best vacation we have had in a long time. The owners of the resort, Vivianne and Steve are warm and wonderful. Lisa and April who run the office are equally as warm and friendly, along with the rest of the gang, make you feel right at home. The feeling is truly a "Home Away From Home".
We stayed in a Loft Chalet with a great view of the meadow and the towering trees. It was spacious, cleaned daily, cozy and comfortable and it included a small kitchen. Every evening there was something to do but the Sunday and Thursday barbques were special. Steve was in charge of the grill and did an awesome job of cooking the hamburgers, salmon burgers and hot dogs. Vivianne kept all the food coming, along with wine, soda and beer. What a spread that was prepared for the guests. You could not beat the atmosphere with the bonfire blazing into the night and the sight and smell of roasted marshmellows as smores were part of the evening event.
Whether relaxing around the pool or hiking the trails out of the resort, you could always find something to do. We enjoyed the hiking and exploring different trails. From Sunrise to Paradise we hiked everyday. Some of the trails that we did included Tipsoo Lake, Grove of the Patriarchs, Silver Falls at the Ohanapecoch Campground, the Owyhigh Lakes trail on the way to Sunrise, Sourdough Trail to Dege Peak and then on to Sunrise Point and back to Sunrise Visitor Center, Sourdough trail to Frozen Lake and the Second Borough. Snow Lake at Paradise visitor along with many other trails that led up from the visitior center. The vistas were breathtaking and the wildflowers were at peak. Perhaps one of our favorite trails can be found at the Chinook Pass Bridge up Highway 410. The Nachez Loop Trail offers some of the most spectacular views and the wildflowers put on a fantastic show.
After spending most of our days exploring, by mid afternoon we returned to our "Home Away From Home". The hot tub and pool were just the remedy for the joints.
Back in the summer heat of Arizona, we can only reflect on our other world and look forward to our visit here next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

My wife and I traveled with my mother-in-law and really enjoyed our 2 days staying at the resort. Many of the B&Bs in the area required 3-5 days but the Alta was happy to accomodate us for just 2 days.

The rooms were comfortable but it was a bit warm the first say since there is no A/C (only needed 3-5 days out of the year) and they had all the lights turned on for us when we got there. It would have been nicer to have had some of the lights on but the others off and cut down on the heat and electric usage. We killed the lights when we left to the mountain in the morning and we left the sliding door open during the day and it was much cooler.

It was a bit pricey for the stay but was only about 15% more for this room in comparison to what we spent at a comparable Residence Inn in Bellvue. It was also a bit larger and right up on "The Mountain" which is technically also "The Volcano". This was in a great location. ...and the BBQ saved us a bunch of money.

A few days before we arrived we recieved an e-mail regarding a barbequeue that night. When we arrived everyone was eating and there was a HUGE spread that the owners put out for all of the guests. The salmon was delicious and the burgers were good. The salad was great but the Mac and Cheese really took the prize. YUM! The owners also had smores for the kids, both young and old. It was a really awesome experience.

My wife and I are planning on staying with them next year and look forward to our visit. They have a really beautiful place! My only regret was that I didn't hop in the pool or hot tub, which was nice and comfy according to some of the other guests.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank flyguybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The resort was literally a home away from home. The people who run it made it so cozy we didn't want to leave. We had the one bedroom chalet suite which came with a full kitchen. The kids slept on the pull out in the living room. Not only were the suite's nice, the atmosphere too! For the three nights we spent there, there was always a family activity at night. Friday night was the movie Enchanted, Saturday was a bonfire and Sunday was a barbeque. All was provided for - food, drinks...the works! We have never enjoyed a short vacation like this before. Keep up the good work Alta Crystal Resort!! Totally recommended for families with kids. The pools great too with very warm waters!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issqmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We had some friends with children over from the UK and wanted some-where family friendly to stay. We certainly found that here. Whilst the place may not be cheap, the quality is good and the hospitality brilliant. The pool was lovely and there was good advice on where to walk for children of all ages and groups of adults. Plus the evening activities are casual, affordable and a great way to meet other guests. All in all a great place to stay and me and my husband are likely to return either on our own or with other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highbank-Condo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Stayed here on our last night before travelling onto Seattle and home. The Resort is just outside the Mount Rainier NP. Very comfortable room, nice to have separate lounge - small double room, but overall, very good quality. We were meeting up with some friends, so decided to try the Alpine Inn for dinner - another resort, about 15 mins drive away. Would NOT recommend this - we were the only people eating there, until another couple came in - the waitress was new and very 'syrupy' - far too much over the top for us. They had run out of potatoes (!), so no baked potatoes or fries. 2 of us had fish and it was way overcooked. The other 2 meals were all right though. Wine was expensive.

It was a shame, as the Alta Crystal Resort was really good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier

Address: 68317 Wash. 410 E, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Mountain
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway for Mt. Rainier National Park and Crystal Mountain. Charming chalet suites & a romantic honeymoon log cabin are tucked in the national forest, just 1 mile outside the northeast entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park & 7 miles from Crystal Mountain and its new Mt. Rainier Gondola. Soak in our hot tub and swim in our year-round heated pool (heated to 90° in the winter) -- we're Crystal and Mt. Rainier's only accommodations with both. Fireplaces, small fully equipped kitchens and renovated mountain lodge style accommodations are perfect for couples and families. Guests love our evening activities (weekends, holidays and summers) such as bonfires, movie nights, karaoke, crafts parties, and summer barbecues. Hike, sightsee, bike, ride horses, play disc golf in the summer. Ski, snowshoe and play in the snow in the winter. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Crystal Resort At Mount Rainier Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Alta Crystal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing