We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hikers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Certificate of Excellence
Sumner
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hikers”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staff are pleasant and helpful. Enjoyed the BBQ and our room. Location is near Crystal Mtn. ski area with the gondola ride and restaurant. Short drive to scenic Sunrise and hiking trails. Would have rated four stars except for a herd of elephants in the room above us who decided to break camp at 3:30 am without any consideration to those still sleeping. If you are not a hiker it may behoove you to find other accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    81
    19
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
100
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

What an absolute gem in the middle of beautiful Mt. Rainier. Owners Vivian and Steven are as charming as their loft rooms and cozy setting. We enjoyed their evening BBQ and campfire, as well as their recommendations for great hikes with our 8 and 10 year old girls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Possibly our last family vacation with our three adult "children", I had hoped this would be a truly memorable one. I was not disappointed. Our four night stay at Alta Crystal WAS heaven on earth. The resort is nestled between the town of Greenwater (where a general store, friendly Nachas restaurant, and laundry facilities were visited) and easy access to many tourists' attractions. We were definitely impressed by the incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, the clean and comfy loft chalet, and truly the story behind the owners. The first night the three guys went to Sunrise Top to capture the sunset (some of our most beautiful pictures), while my daughter and I went to a Mount Rainier "orientation" in the recreation room. Listening to Steven and Vivian tell us how they ended up in Washington state from New York was captivating, especially because we hail from the Chicago area. THEY had a dream, and now they have been living it for several years - my hat off to you!
How many times can you say, "breathtaking"? That describes the places so easily accessible within 30 minutes - Suntop Outlook, Crystal Mountain, Tipsoo Lake, Sunrise, Emmons Glacier just to name a few, not to mention the hikes that can be taken right outside your door!
More on the accommodations though. We stopped at the Safeway in Enumclaw and stocked up on food, which with all the kitchen amenities, was perfect. Don't buy coffee. They stock coffee and tea daily just like a hotel room. Daily cleaning is a service also, although they were accommodating when I asked that they come in only once during our stay. The pool area was inviting, I read a book on the deck of our chalet, and the office/store was fun to browse and have the staff more than happy to answer any questions. We rented Argo one night - great movie selections.
They have activities for their guests in which my husband and daughter participated in a game of horseshoe - first time for my daughter!
Thank you Steven, Vivian, and all Alta Crystal staff for making our vacation.... breathtaking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came here from New York for 2 days to see Mt Rainier on our way from Friday Harbor to Seattle and what a wonderful stopover. They have wonderful hikes right out from your suite door to the Mt Rainier entrance of Sunrise down the road a bit.

The food and beverage selection in their office is outstanding and we did not need to trek any further. They have a family friendly activity every night and we enjoyed them both nights, and we are not big into family activity nights at lodgings, these were the exceptions, so much fun and bonding with others.

The suite was excellent, a loft and then a full kitchen and bedroom, living room with fireplace downstairs. More than enough room for all of us. The pool was great as well, nice to be outside for a change. All in all I would recommend this place to anyone. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the area. Rooms are super clean as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We struggled to find a place to stay in order to visit Rainier National Park. Alta Crystal seemed to be a good option. We booked a loft chalet suite - and loft it most certainly was! There was a fairly steep wooden ladder to get up to the upstairs beds and bathroom. I only ventured up once and left it to my teenage son! Downstairs there was a comfortable living area with fireplace, a dining area and small kitchen. Apart from the upstairs shower room there was also a downstairs bathroom. Warning - there is no air con if you are going at a hot time of year.

The whole place had a slightly old fashioned and tired look to it - but all in all it was comfortable and suited our needs which was someplace to sleep overnight so that we could spend as much time out seeing Rainier as possible.

Be warned that there is very very little nearby for eating. We picked up breakfast/sandwiches up at Sunrise and ate both nights at The Alpine inn, which was 15 minutes away in the car. Alta Crystal does have a little shop but we didn't use it. They also rent out dvds but sadly, unlikely everywhere else we stayed on our trip, they charged $6 for doing so. This seemed a little steep and a bit disappointing.

Don't expect any views as it is just off the main road and totally surrounded by trees -but it is quiet and we weren't disturbed by any noise.

We didn't use the pool, which looked lovely, because we were not back until late. Sadly the pool did not open until 11am in the morning! A pity for those who may have enjoyed sitting in the sunshine perhaps.

Friendly service at check in and out and a place to rest your head to see the beautiful Mount Rainier!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My two 'gal pals' and I had been looking forward to this trip for several months and we were not disappointed. Alta Crystal Resort is all you could ask for and then some. The setting is spectacular and our 1 BR loft was perfect. Although we didn't use the hot tub or swimming pool, since our room overlooked both we could see they were well enjoyed by other guests. Our unit was well equipped, VERY clean, warm and cozy. We thoroughly enjoyed the Thursday night barbeque and visiting with other guests who were from all parts of the country. I can't say enough about our hosts Vivian and Steven; they are two of the nicest, most hospitable people you could ever meet with one goal in mind - to provide a terrific experience for their guests. My daughter and son-in-law (who has never been to Mount Rainier) will be coming out here sometime next summer from the east coast and I will make sure that staying at Alta Crystal Resort is number one on their 'to do' list. They will love all the amenities of the resort and of course a myriad of hiking opportunities. Wonder if my son-in-law would mind if his mother-in-law tagged along! Young or old, I guarantee you will love this place and the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneHS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. The location can't be beat, the rooms were clean (though they could withstand some updating), and the staff was uber friendly & helpful.

We were in a ground-floor unit, and felt things were a bit noisy during the morning (starting circa 7am). The issue was that we could hear nearly everything said as people (who were being perfectly polite) passed by our room; our windows needed to be kept open for ventilation & cooling (no AC).

During our first night, we noticed that the flow of water out of the shower/tub was rather slow. We reported this the next morning and the problem was fixed right away.

It's an understatement to say that dining is an issue in the area. So if their BBQ is running during your stay, definitely sign up. Prepare breakfast in your room (your can purchase stuff in their little shop, but a stop at a grocery store in Enumclaw -if you're arriving from the west- isn't a bad idea); it is a bad idea to rely in the nearby Alpine Inn for breakfast (pitiful buffet & terrible staff).

The area is dense with wonderful hiking trails (many with stunning views). After a long & challenging hike, it was very refreshing to make use of the resort's pool.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier

Property: Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Address: 68317 Wash. 410 E, Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Crystal Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crystal Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway for Mt. Rainier National Park and Crystal Mountain. Charming chalet suites & a romantic honeymoon log cabin are tucked in the national forest, just 1 mile outside the northeast entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park & 7 miles from Crystal Mountain and its new Mt. Rainier Gondola. Soak in our hot tub and swim in our year-round heated pool (heated to 90° in the winter) -- we're Crystal and Mt. Rainier's only accommodations with both. Fireplaces, small fully equipped kitchens and renovated mountain lodge style accommodations are perfect for couples and families. Guests love our evening activities (weekends, holidays and summers) such as bonfires, movie nights, karaoke, crafts parties, and summer barbecues. Hike, sightsee, bike, ride horses, play disc golf in the summer. Ski, snowshoe and play in the snow in the winter. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Crystal Resort At Mount Rainier Hotel Mount Rainier National Park
Alta Crystal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing