We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alta Crystal Resort at Mount Rainier
Nearby Hotels
Guest House Inn Enumclaw(Enumclaw)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Enumclaw)(Great Value!)
$79
RodewayInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
EconoLodge
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
QualityInn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
213
91
21
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
91
21
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe kitchenhoneymoon cabinmount rainierliving roomother guestsping pongevening activitiesnational parkminute drivegreat hikingowners and staffmovie nightski arealog cabingreat for familiesbon fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 356 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came here from New York for 2 days to see Mt Rainier on our way from Friday Harbor to Seattle and what a wonderful stopover. They have wonderful hikes right out from your suite door to the Mt Rainier entrance of Sunrise down the road a bit.

The food and beverage selection in their office is outstanding and we did not need to trek any further. They have a family friendly activity every night and we enjoyed them both nights, and we are not big into family activity nights at lodgings, these were the exceptions, so much fun and bonding with others.

The suite was excellent, a loft and then a full kitchen and bedroom, living room with fireplace downstairs. More than enough room for all of us. The pool was great as well, nice to be outside for a change. All in all I would recommend this place to anyone. The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the area. Rooms are super clean as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We struggled to find a place to stay in order to visit Rainier National Park. Alta Crystal seemed to be a good option. We booked a loft chalet suite - and loft it most certainly was! There was a fairly steep wooden ladder to get up to the upstairs beds and bathroom. I only ventured up once and left it to my teenage son! Downstairs there was a comfortable living area with fireplace, a dining area and small kitchen. Apart from the upstairs shower room there was also a downstairs bathroom. Warning - there is no air con if you are going at a hot time of year.

The whole place had a slightly old fashioned and tired look to it - but all in all it was comfortable and suited our needs which was someplace to sleep overnight so that we could spend as much time out seeing Rainier as possible.

Be warned that there is very very little nearby for eating. We picked up breakfast/sandwiches up at Sunrise and ate both nights at The Alpine inn, which was 15 minutes away in the car. Alta Crystal does have a little shop but we didn't use it. They also rent out dvds but sadly, unlikely everywhere else we stayed on our trip, they charged $6 for doing so. This seemed a little steep and a bit disappointing.

Don't expect any views as it is just off the main road and totally surrounded by trees -but it is quiet and we weren't disturbed by any noise.

We didn't use the pool, which looked lovely, because we were not back until late. Sadly the pool did not open until 11am in the morning! A pity for those who may have enjoyed sitting in the sunshine perhaps.

Friendly service at check in and out and a place to rest your head to see the beautiful Mount Rainier!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My two 'gal pals' and I had been looking forward to this trip for several months and we were not disappointed. Alta Crystal Resort is all you could ask for and then some. The setting is spectacular and our 1 BR loft was perfect. Although we didn't use the hot tub or swimming pool, since our room overlooked both we could see they were well enjoyed by other guests. Our unit was well equipped, VERY clean, warm and cozy. We thoroughly enjoyed the Thursday night barbeque and visiting with other guests who were from all parts of the country. I can't say enough about our hosts Vivian and Steven; they are two of the nicest, most hospitable people you could ever meet with one goal in mind - to provide a terrific experience for their guests. My daughter and son-in-law (who has never been to Mount Rainier) will be coming out here sometime next summer from the east coast and I will make sure that staying at Alta Crystal Resort is number one on their 'to do' list. They will love all the amenities of the resort and of course a myriad of hiking opportunities. Wonder if my son-in-law would mind if his mother-in-law tagged along! Young or old, I guarantee you will love this place and the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneHS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. The location can't be beat, the rooms were clean (though they could withstand some updating), and the staff was uber friendly & helpful.

We were in a ground-floor unit, and felt things were a bit noisy during the morning (starting circa 7am). The issue was that we could hear nearly everything said as people (who were being perfectly polite) passed by our room; our windows needed to be kept open for ventilation & cooling (no AC).

During our first night, we noticed that the flow of water out of the shower/tub was rather slow. We reported this the next morning and the problem was fixed right away.

It's an understatement to say that dining is an issue in the area. So if their BBQ is running during your stay, definitely sign up. Prepare breakfast in your room (your can purchase stuff in their little shop, but a stop at a grocery store in Enumclaw -if you're arriving from the west- isn't a bad idea); it is a bad idea to rely in the nearby Alpine Inn for breakfast (pitiful buffet & terrible staff).

The area is dense with wonderful hiking trails (many with stunning views). After a long & challenging hike, it was very refreshing to make use of the resort's pool.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I selected Alta Crystal after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. Our family of four, DH , son 13 and daughter 26 were doing a pre cruise trip to Mt Rainier, Yakima wine country and Seattle in 4 days. We arrived at Alta Crystal Resort and were pleasantly surprised to find a somewhat small resort( guess the name resort meant large to me) with exceptionally friendly hosts/staff from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out. When we entered our 1 BR with a loft room it was extremely hot...86 to be exact. Silly us looked for the air conditioner and found none(forgot we were in the mountains)...found and turned on 2 fans...spoke to the front desk who said they would check it out...we then headed out to explore Sunrise. On our return the room was cooling as was the outside temp and given apologies for the room being so warm(heat accidently left on). The room was lovely and clean! My son had wanted to stay in a cabin in the woods and this was better than the next best thing....room with: fully equipped kitchen, eating area, living room with fireplace(stocked with starter, wood, matches)separate BR with comfy queen bed, loft with 2 beds(need to climb ladder to get up there)2 full BRs, lovely deck with a view of pine trees, peace and quiet, in ground heated pool, hot tub, recreation room, different events each night(we were looking forward to the bon fire but fell asleep) and more...I only have 2 regrets...should have stopped at Enumclaw to get food/wine on the way because there is nothing close by(store in office did have a selection of food/beverages to buy) and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews