We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summit House Restaurant

Summit House Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come dine in Washington state's highest elevation restaurant, featuring Pacific Northwest cuisine with a high alpine flair.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We mad reservations as many reviews had suggested. We thought the food was excellent! Worth every penny. I'm not sure why some reviews were negative because we really enjoyed our lunch, the views and a nice break from the slopes! I would definitely recommend doing lunch here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy1marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    20
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
445 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss Quality - Don't count on quality every time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Took a relative from the east coast here for lunch yesterday. It was a big deal getting there from where we were. They two gentleman operating the gondola were awesome and slowed the gondola for my guest. The table was reserved and ready at the Summit House and the waiter was most excellent but the food was not as expected. The Caesar salad was made from iceberg lettuce and the salmon on top had brown fat on it face up and was cold. The whole salad was too cold. I didn't try my guests halibut but it looked ok. I tried the fries and they were not as good as usual. Lunch including 2 glasses of wine was 52.00 which I think is ok for quality food but not for what we got.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great view and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My cousins were here from Chicago and wanted to see Mt. Rainier. What better place than the top of Crystal? They loved the Gondola ride and were speechless when they saw the spectacular view of the mountain. They had never seen skiers/snowboarders before either. We hung out at the top in the relaxing chairs just staring at the scenery. I had made a reservation through OpenTable for us. The restaurant was packed. They seated us promptly. The food was awesome! It is pricey but understandable. Everything does have to be hauled up the mountain. I had chili which was excellent. The hot chocolate was good too. My family loved the mac & cheese and fish/chips. It was a great time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I went to ski at Crystal Mountain after several good feedbacks from my friends.
The Ski Resort is amazing. The infrastructure is perfect, the equipments are new, the team has excellent knowledge and are very nice, the trails are perfect for beginners or experts and the lifts are in good shape.
The difference is the Gondola.
It's a closed lift that goes directly to the top (like 10 minutes ride), offering fantastic views of the mountains.
You can go down skiing or using the lift (if you don't ski).
I was not expecting to have lunch over there, but we entered to see the restaurant (it was a windy day). When we were inside, we saw a nice and cousy place, so we decided to lunch.
The menu is simple and the prices are not that high, considering the place and the view.
It was a really good lunch, with an amazing view.
I recommend this place for every occasion. You can even go to the resort just for the lunch and you will not regreat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett NH
Level Contributor
228 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We celebrated our son in law's birthday with a ride up the gondola and lunch at the Summit House restaurant. The view from this location is spectacular ! 360 degree view of mts. In every direction. The weather was nice until later in the afternoon when were heading back to our daughter's home. Now for the restaurant: the food and service were excellent, well beyond what most ski areas serve anywhere in the U.S. It's a small restaurant so plan on making a reservation. Try the Mac and cheese--it's to die for!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit House Restaurant also viewed

Crystal Mountain, Mount Rainier National Park
Mount Rainier National Park, WA
 
Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park
 
Mount Rainier National Park, WA

Been to Summit House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing