We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“simply a wonderful place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llandysul, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
albert l
1 review
“simply a wonderful place”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have recently spent a great week in this luxuriously converted cottage. The standard both in and outside of the cottage is superb. It offers comfort and warmth either by central heating or log burner, both if it's really cold. Rosemary and Stephen, the owners, make you welcome and are there if you need help. Easy to get to by car and so many places to visit. Good parking in location.
The wet room or shower is ideal and total accommodation great. We will be back again.
Thanks for a first class holiday and rest

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: overall condition and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah W
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate cottage, wonderful countryside, peaceful setting”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This was a return visit to "Yr Hen Beudy" and we will keep going back!
The owner is very helpful and friendly.
The cottage itself is comfortable and well equipped (from tupperware to tea-towels - as yet I have not found anything lacking, they even provide a starter set of things like loo roll and washing-up liquid).
The wood-burner is a wonderful treat and really makes the place cosy and warm (the beautiful stone tiled floor is a little cold at first, but once the fire is going you can quite happily walk around in your socks!).
I noticed they have changed the TV - it's a nice big (42" I reckon) one, which makes watching films so much nicer.
We went for quite a few walks, both from the cottage itself and from places we drove to - Llangranog is probably our favourite (the little Cafe does lovely ice-creams).
The only thing we didn't take advantage of this time was the BBQ area - it was a touch on the chilly side over the new year break! :-)
All in all a wonderful little cottage which I thoroughly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner
Liked least: No bath (but it's a small price to pay for such a lovely place)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rae M
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing getaway, picturesque and well equipped!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We rented this cottage for two weeks having had it personally recommended to us by family. The cottage itself is beautiful, light and airy, with high ceilings in the open plan living/ dining/kitchen area which gives a spacious relaxed feel.
The floors throughout are slate tiles, except in the bathroom which has ceramic, non slip tiles, and there are no steps once inside the property. The floor has a gentle slope up the corridor from the living area towards the bedrooms.
The living area, as already mentioned, is open plan to the dining room and kitchen area, although there is a low wall, about 1.4 meters high, around the kitchen section which screens the area off. There is a comfortable 3 seated sofa and armchair, and a large, 42" flat screen tv which the owners told me was a new addition, plus a well stocked bookcase with books and local information. Plenty of room to relax in the evenings with a glass of wine!
There is a beautiful wood burner, which we found easy to use even though we are novices, and there was an ample supply of logs. We were able to get more logs from the owners for a very reasonable charge - as my husband discovered a bit of a flair as a pyromaniac! The dining area has a table with chairs for 4, and this leads into the kitchen area.
The kitchen is large and has plenty of storage, and had everything we could possibly have needed. Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy, and there were lovely touches including a tray with tea and coffee, and a jar of homemade jam from the owners! There is a washing machine, large fridge, dishwasher, freezer and microwave, all immaculate and in full working order.
We slept In the double bedroom, which is spacious and has a large wardrobe and chest of drawers, in addition to the bedside tables - plenty of storage!! The other bedroom has twin single beds and similar storage, giving flexibility of the use of the two rooms. The bathroom is a wet room, well set out for ease of use for those with impaired mobility.
The local area is beautiful, with beaches, countryside walks, sailing and plenty of nice pubs! New Quay is only 25 minutes drive away, and has two beaches, a boat tour, restaurants, ice creams and fish and chips aplenty!
We had our shopping delivered by a well know supermarket (every little helps...) which made life even easier; although there is a little spar shop at pontsian which has all the basics to get you set up!
The owners, Rosemary and Steve, were friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and were able to answer our questions about local pubs, sightseeing spots and facilities with ease. They lent us maps and books about the local area and ensured we had all we needed. We were able to park our car only a few metres away from the house, and were able to use a private patio area with seating and table.
All in all, a great holiday, a true escape to the country, with all the comforts of home! Thank you both, Rosemary and Steve!,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymond t
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful tranquil setting”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage had everything required for a restful holiday in beautiful Wales. The cottage was centrally located for sightseeing and day tripping. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating. You do need your own transport. We would certainly return to Yr Hen Beudy when next we are in Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wifi was very unstable but we got by
Liked least: the wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southampton
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Benfleet Essex
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing