We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely, wish I could have stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed at The Dairy for 10 nights with our dogs, three in total. My partner also visited for a couple of days.
The cottage was very well laid out, clean and welcoming. It very quickly became home from home for all of us.
Centrally located to most areas, we were able to visit a variety of locations throughout our visit. Kate and Andy were absolutely great, nothing was too much trouble, and Kate was very welcoming when we arrived.
Everything was really good with the location and we really didn't want to leave.
I am definitely wanting to go back and sit in that lovely hot tub after a long coastal walk.
I can't recommend this place enough, particularly if you have dogs, they are very dog friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murphymuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, its always good to see the dogs have a good time too, I like how they always 'guard' their own cottages even after a couple of days :)
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Have just spent a week at Happy Donkey Hill with my wife in Millers Cottage.
Absolutely fabulous location, and the standard of accommodation is the very best you can find. The hosts Katie and Andy were very helpful, and the facilities, hot tub, sauna and games room are just superb. Perfect location for visiting all parts of Wales, stunning views and only a mile from the local village. Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for the best.

Room Tip: If there are six to eight of you stay in the Dairy cottage, it is absolutely fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your super review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A clean and comfy room with a tasty breakfast. Andy and Kate we're great fun and very welcoming.

The views are wonderful and we wished we'd had time for a longer stay.

If you're looking for a family-farmhouse feel, then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Awesome, we love to hear from or guests and it is good to know we made you feel at home, looking forward to seeing you again :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a week in The Stables cottage, and what a wonderful week it was. Kate and Andy made us feel very welcome and showed us around all of the extensive facilities at Happy Donkey Hill on arrival. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard and is perfectly equipped to be a home-from-home. We found the kitchen in particular to be kitted out with everything you could possibly need and we cooked full meals on several evenings with ease.

The bedroom is large and airy, and we slept like logs in the huge, comfortable bed. As city-dwellers we found the peace and quiet completely wonderful! I took the opportunity to use the Japanese maple bath whilst listening to music in the bedroom and it was the most relaxing start to our holiday.

The setting is gorgeous with stunning views and we used the hot tub twice...lots of fun and although we were lucky with the weather we think it would be amazing to be in the hot tub when it is pouring with rain! We went for a walk around Llandysul and my husband went for a run in the local area too. We really enjoyed saying hello to all the donkeys and especially as a foal had been born the day before our arrival.

I would also recommend getting some fresh farm eggs - we had a box of six for breakfast on our last day...delicious! Other tips would be to check out The Daffodil in Penrhiwllan. We went for dinner on my birthday and the food was amazing, a true gastro-pub! We loved it so much we went back (on Kate's recommendation) for their mid-week deal of 2 courses for £14 each.

Also, the WIFI was brilliant. As a young couple we've been frustrated in the past with lack of wifi in places we've stayed. The connection in the cottage was better than we have at home!! Although we didn't end up having the time to go in the gym or sauna it was well equipped and we did enjoy a game or two of table tennis!

Thank you for a lovely stay. :)

Room Tip: The Stables is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Wow thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a fab review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear everything was perfect for you, we hope you can come and stay with us again during the lower season when indeed you are right the hot tubs get much more use :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our dogs and
it was wonderful. We didnt want to come home the place was
great with friendly hosts.
Fresh eggs for breakfast every morning were
scrumdiddlelumptious
hot tub was great , sipping wine under the stars
Highly recommend this place
no faults

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nms1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

How nice to have such cheery feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be staying with us again SOON, you dont need good weather to enjoy the area or the hot tubs :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not usually one for writing reviews, good or bad! However I'm willing to make an exception this time.
We have just returned from a long weekend at Happy Donkey Hill and now suffering from the holiday blues, having stayed in the stables cottage. I don't have enough time in the day to list the cottage facilities, just that everything you could possibly need for a holiday cottage is there, including a gorgeous wooden bath at the bottom of the bed.
We had booked as self catering but had a breakfast on the first morning which was great! Fresh eggs straight from the chickens on site and delicious bread were the highlights, a real treat.
We had organised to go kayaking later in the day in the village which was great fun and stocked up at the local supermarket before coming back.
When we got back we took our dog for a lovely walk around the country side spoilt for choice with footpaths and places to explore, we looked up a few nearby walks using the wifi in the cottage.
After a rather active day we took full advantage of the hot tubs and sauna and I slept like a log that night!
I did not want to come home. Lovely place and I will most definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pageypoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a splendid review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned home after have a brilliant holiday at Happy Donkey Hill. My husband and I stayed in the stables it was 5* Luxury we couldn't have asked for anything more. Katie and Andy are the perfect hosts they made us feel so welcome. We loved all the animals and we wish we could have stayed longer. Will most definately be back for another relaxing holiday. If anyone wants 5* luxury this is the place to come and I would recommend Katie's breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suenjames_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k8oops_10, Owner at Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

A fabulous review, we actually sometimes feel guilty to be charging money to meet such lovely people!!

look forward to seeing you again and it is true that guests arrive as customers and leave as friends <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llandysul hotels
2.7 mi away
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
Nantgwynfaen Organic Farm
#1 of 10 in Llandysul
98 reviews
3 mi away
River Mansion Spa
River Mansion Spa
#1 of 8 in Llandysul
20 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Swallows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
Calon Eco Bed &Breakfast
#4 of 10 in Llandysul
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Donkey Hill Bed and Breakfast & Holiday Cottages

Address: Prengwyn Road | Faerdre Fach, Llandysul SA44 4EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llandysul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Llandysul
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four top end holiday cottages sleeping 2-8 people with private use of 8 seater hot tubs attached to each cottage- and a gym, sauna, table tennis, each cottage is fully equipped and has a log burner, WIFI and is very dog friendly (up to 6 dogs in bigger cottages) We no longer offer B&B at this location, it is purely self catering cottages since Nov 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Donkey Hill b&b / Holiday Cottages
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast / Holiday Cottages Hotel Llandysul
Happy Donkey Hill Bed And Breakfast & Holiday Cottages Llandysul, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing